We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfortable and welcoming”
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“clean, comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My sister and I had two nights here february of 2014. Our room was lovely and the water hot enough. Best part however was the amazing view and common space terrace with plants and terrace. There is a grocery store directly next store and a small fridge in the room (maybe not all rooms), so we had our dinner of cheese, wine, etc on the terrace. The staff is super helpful and friendly (and speaks English). The guy who works evenings (Abierto? Sorry, I forgot your name- again!) is hilarious. He said we had the best room in the place and I believe it (#27). Also, the towel folding is the best I have encountered- elephants and turtles. The breakfast is ok and the service great. Swim in the La Fortuna Waterfall while in town. As recommended by the lovely day clerk, we took cab out ($8) and walked the 4km back (after a swim of course). We found no need for colones anywhere (US dollars accepted), though you will get them as change. The street noise kicks in early, but it didn't bother us. I love this hotel.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about everything you want to do as they know their area and all the tours. Save t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    188
    67
    20
    5
See reviews for
78
215
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our room was very basic, and a little cramped, but the hotel has a stunning view of the volcano and wonderfully helpful and kind staff. The common areas are inviting and spacious. Breakfast was tasty but nothing spectacular. Overall a good value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjkahansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

It's a nice hotel with great location in la fortuna.
The rooms are basic and very clean !!!
Included ac, hot water and very good bed.
But the most important is the amazing crow , it's a family business and the mother and her daughter are charming and friendly !!!
It's a good value for the price!
We're definitely recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Doronjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I was skeptical when we arrived but loved this place with it's downtown location and the ability to walk anywhere around town. Our room was clean and comfortable on the 2nd floor where all rooms open out on to a terraza where one can sit and view the volcano (which most often doesn't want to be fully viewed) or eat or relax. We bought supper across the street and carried it up to eat with our family in the cool night breeze. Breakfast was very nice and very adequate. I would return in a heartbeat if I could!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

my friend and i stayed for 5 nights. it was a short trip to CR so we only stayed in La Fortuna the whole time. we didn't rent a car and there was no need for it being in the center of town.

The pros:
-location location location: it is in the heart of town. close to the "central park" of La Fortuna.
-complimentary breakfast is a plus and the dining area is cute, tastefully decorated
-the terrace is the big winner...you buy take-out and have dinner on the terrace. it was nice lounge around or people watch from the 2nd floor. enjoy the evening when it's cooler.
-great sodas and restaurant options near by
-you can walk to just about most places.
-a supermarket next door and another near the bus terminal
-tour agencies are everywhere and it's easy to set them up thru the hotel or on your own

The cons:
-the rooms are small. it was a bit tight for even 2 people. (we were in 25?) so you are thinking to cram 4 people in a room, you may want to reconsider just getting 2 rooms. maybe it was just our room
-no closets or drawers to put away things...which actually got a bit annoying
-we had a few ants in the bathroom but that's normal for the weather
- the flat screen tv for some reason so set up so close to the ceiling.
-no fridge even tho all rooms were supposed to have one
-the smoke detector would make some noise
-during the day usually, you would hear construction sounds.
-only 1 towel per person per day

I still highly recommend this place for the quaint terrace/view and location! this definitely works if you are on a short stay and prefer access to all the tours

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Water F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We've just finished a 3-night stay at Las Colinas and wish to report this is an excellent spot to use as a base to explore Arenal. The hotel itself is not ritzy, but clean and comfortable, with a good breakfast. It's located just off Parque Central on a side street. Where this place really stands out is in the friendliness and helpfulness of its staff, especially the young man and young woman on the front desk, who arranged tours for us (the Caño Negro tour is highly recommended) and provided restaurant and driving recommendations. For example, If you want to do a hot spring, they recommended the Paradise and we found it to be excellent - $35 with a meal; $25 without. It's a new resort and is far less busy than most of the others. Our room (16) had a volcano view, but only a double bed. Other rooms have queen beds and some we saw had 4 separate beds in them. There's a very good restaurant right across the street called Soda Viquez where you can get typical Costa Rican food for little money, but it fills up quickly in the evenings.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shiftless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Front desk manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. Room however was a disappointment. Very small, just room for a double bed. No reading lights, dresser or desk.They were full so was unable to upgrade. Breakfast was included and adequate for our needs. Good coffee!
Common patio area was very nice and we spent our down time out there rather than in the room.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnotherOntarioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
818 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Property: Hotel Las Colinas
Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing