We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of La Fortuna”
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of La Fortuna”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Las Colinas for 3 nights, and we loved it there! Staff is very friendly and helpful. They helped us book tours, our shuttle, and recommended great restaurants. Room was very clean and comfortable (we were actually upgraded to a suite when we arrived, so that was a nice surprise!) Breakfast was great, and the view was even better! It was nice having the terrace to relax on and enjoy the view of the volcano! As the other reviews mention, your right in the middle of the town which is great for wandering around and exploring what the small city has to offer. Traffic can be a bit loud but it seemed to die down at night so we didn’t have an issues sleeping even though our room was right on the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Thank you very much for your review!
As you mention our location is right in La Fortuna downtown, very close from restaurants, coffee shops adn touristic atractions!!
La Fortuna is a small town, very nice and safe , easy to walk and enjoy.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    186
    66
    19
    5
See reviews for
74
213
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We used Hotel Las Colinas as a base whilst we explored the area and it proved to be absolutely perfect! We didn’t have a car, so the central location really useful, with restaurants, a coffee shop and a well-stocked supermarket just a stone’s throw away from the entrance. The hotel was far enough from the two main roads to ensure that you had a decent night’s sleep but close enough to walk to the bank, bars and further restaurants in the evening. The hotel was a great place to unwind after a full day’s activity/tour. On our last night, a huge thunderstorm lit up the sky, and although it meant that we weren’t able to make use of the local hot pools, we were able to watch storm on the hotels terrace, which replaced the usual view of the Arenal volcano. The terrace was also one of several areas around the hotel, home to maps and information of the area.

We stayed in the Economic standard double on the first floor, which suited us fine. We weren’t looking for anything too expensive or fancy as we hoped to save money for activities and evening meals. The room was comfortable, with cable TV, air-conditioning and Wi-Fi, which I felt was fantastic value. Breakfast was also included, with different choices each day. We arrived in La Fortuna on our second day in Costa Rica, a little on edge after reading about the town and spending the prior night in San Jose. We found the hotel to be very secure, protected by a beefy looking guard, so our fears were laid to rest soon after arriving (we have arrived back in the UK since and had no trouble anywhere in CR).

We found everyone at the hotel, from the chef, cleaners and the owners, just fantastic. The owners were just some of the nicest people I think I’ve ever met. They were eager to listen to any questions and were more than helpful with their responses. They gave the impression that they weren’t tied to any particular tour company which was refreshing. We booked taxies locally and transportation to Monteverde through them. We actually ignored their advice and walked to the La Fortuna Waterfall, which took us over an hour (close to midday in the searing heat) but it was doable! Most of all, I left some stuff in La Fortuna (not at the hotel) and they were happy to assist and send a package down to San Jose for me to pick up. I would happily stay here again! The owners were just really nice, genuine, friendly people and couldn’t have wished for a better experience with them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Hello dear friends!
Is more than a year and we remember you as yesterday!
We are so glad than you felt so happy and good in our place!!
La Fortuna is such a beautiful place than we just fell the responsability to give to our guest the best recomendations and ideas to spend the best time and just enjoy!!!
Was a pleasure to have you in our hotel!
Thank you for the lovely review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel! Perfect location and great price. I also had a massage and she was really good. I would stay here again this is definitely the best hotel I have stayed at in Costa Rica!
Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the best view it also had a king bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icecrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review!
It make us feel proud about our job!
Is also nice to know than you enjoy the massage, we offer facial and body treatments, including massages, exfoliations and wraps!
Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Las Colinas had great service and was clean but there were ants in the room. Also, we woke up with new bites every morning...not sure if they were from the ants or bed bugs. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. Great location right in the center of town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Las Colinas is a Certified hotel in Sustainable tourism, that is why we have desinfection programs every 3 months, in fact last one was on October 21.
Costa Rica has tropical wheather, that is why we recomend not to have cookies or food out of the fridge, because the ants will get to this food for sure, there is nothing we can do against them.
We don´t understand what happend into your room/bed, what we can asure you is than we dont have bed bugs, as you said we are a clean hotel, and the cleanliness is into our top 5 goals for every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is the first hotel that we have ever stayed at that had the whole animal towel characters thing going on! We absolutely loved it! Even though we were right in town we did not here any noises of the town at night...which may have been because we were so utterly exhausted from the weekends events. Out on the terrace you have a perfect view of the volcano (if it isn't covered by clouds) and it's a great place to have some lunch or relax and read a book! Breakfast is included which in my book is always a plus! This is a Costa Rican family owned and ran hotel, that were all very kind and helpful! We for sure would stay there again. This place is perfect for those on a budget but don't really want the Hostel atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!
What we tried is always to offer little details than make the difference, like using flowers in the towel decorations, also when the guests are celebrating a anniversary or birthday and we knew about this, we ussually surprise them with a cake or wine bottle...Our terrace is perfect to enjoy this celebrations and good company of family and friends!
Thanks and hoping to have you in our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was a great stay. The reality of a hotel smack in the middle of a city is nice as there are copious things to do--'cheap' places to eat. However, by virtue of being in the city is the lack of parking which was the only downside. The staff ensures that each tenant has a spot but it is kinda funky. Marvelous view of the volcano in the backdrop.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your review!
As you said being in town is great! Is easy to find places to eat, there are also cheap and good options. La Fortuna still being a small town and guests can enjoy the reality of a Costa Rican Town and their people. We have some parking spots in front of our hotel, every day when we have guests with a car, we located a cone for them, and also we have a arragment with a parking lot acros the street, they charge $5 per night, depending the lodging contract we can also includes this charge into the lodging rate!

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The deck has a very good view and the service at the hotel is very good.
The staff is very kind and helpfull plus the hotel is right in the middle of la fortuna.
There is a cook every morning to give you what you want for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you!

Is nice to know you have enjoy your stay!
Our hotel is a family run bussines centrally located in La Fortuna, the difference of our place and other hotels is the terrace and service, is a plus to have nice views, chairs to read and to take the sun and good tips to enjoy the visit in La Fortuna!
Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Property: Hotel Las Colinas
Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing