We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The deck has a very good view and the service at the hotel is very good.
The staff is very kind and helpfull plus the hotel is right in the middle of la fortuna.
There is a cook every morning to give you what you want for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you!

Is nice to know you have enjoy your stay!
Our hotel is a family run bussines centrally located in La Fortuna, the difference of our place and other hotels is the terrace and service, is a plus to have nice views, chairs to read and to take the sun and good tips to enjoy the visit in La Fortuna!
Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 494 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Room was dark with almost no light, AC was noisy. Although it did not leak like the room next to us. Extra charge for AC. Safe in room was 1/2 assembled? or 1/2 disassembled? Didn't eat in the hotel as the restaurant was always closed. Ate across the street at the small cafe. Grocery store next door for supplies/snacks. Shower was average but very dark. TV was installed at such a bad angle that you couldn't watch it since it was not pointing down the LCD was distorted. Not one of our favorite hotels in CR. Bed was average. Location was good. No Pool

Room Tip: Ask for a room with natural light. (some rooms had sliding glass doors and looked like they could ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinecure_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear guest,
Our hotel receives guest and clients from all parts of the world, there are different markets, and of course there are some contracts with travel agencyes than includes only ¨Lodging service¨¨, it means than other services like AC, safety box and breakfast are not included.
All the rates in our website includes these services! Our breakfast area is open just for breakfast and for groups than ask for lunch and dinner services, as you mencioned just accross the street we have 3 very good restaurants and another options just a couple of steps from us, that way the all community receive benefits from tourism!
We already fix the TV and the safety box, very sorry than they did not work wellduring your stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

If like me you did not rent a car this is a great hotel to stay.
If you want a super duper hot springs out in nature hotel by all means go for it! But as a middle budget traveler I was very happy here. I had a patio that looked out on the city ad the volcano. I could walk everywhere I wanted to go. As a solo traveling female I appreciated being on the 3rd floor and the nigh watch always being there to greet me when I came in late from late night hot spring sessions. This whole area is my favorite part of Costa RIca. There is soooo much to explore right around here. I went kayaking, biking, made a new friend whose home I visited, hiked to waterfalls and explored the lake. There are many more things I wished to do but ran out of time.

Room Tip: Higher and facing the volcano would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderfullLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Most hotels in La Fortuna are somewhat outside the city, but Las Colinas is right in the middle of town. Alvaro (at the front desk) was extremely helpful. He had great (and not too touristy) suggestions for activities and restaurants – he suggested Rancho Perla and La Cubana Pizza which were both delicious. He also helped us book a great whitewater rafting tour.

The hotel itself was clean and simple. There is a great deck with couches and rocking chairs, and Las Colinas has some board games and books lying around for guests. The free breakfast buffet was tasty and substantial. There is also a grocery store right next store, if you want to grab snacks or a few beers.

We got a room with a balcony, which probably wasn’t worth it – the balcony faced a brick wall and the public deck was much nicer. Also, the room was a bit noisy (particularly in the mornings) due to the traffic on the street below, but was worth it for us to be right in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sureel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A good hotel for sure in La fortuna. Central location (perfect for us as we did not have a car and relied on public transit mostly), clean rooms, good breakfast, excellent view of the volcano on a clear day, and very helpful and pleasant staff. Great value for the price range we thought. Good all around.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grangelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located close to restaurants, stores, waterfall is located at only five minutes! and this hotel has a great view to the Volcano. The best is the customer attention, this place is owned by a family and they are attending personally.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisBdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We researched hotels and excursions before deciding to book this one. After the reviews we read, the positive seemed to outweigh the negative. The hotel booked our excursions for us, and they DO NOT try to rip you off as some reviewers have posted. We researched excursions on our own and the prices were the same. Prices of excursions change, and when we checked in, they let us know that the book of excursions needed to be updated and prices were different than December so there were no surprises. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations.
We had a room facing the street and did not have a problem with street noise (we live in a neighborhood with college frats). The noise goes away at night. If you are planning on spending a lot of time in your room and think the noise will bother you, you shouldn't be planning a trip to La Fortuna....there is too much to do and see in the area to waste your time in the room.
If you are out at night, or need out at night, the security guard will open the doors for you.
There is a grocery next door and many restaurants within a short walking distance. We took taxis to locations outside of town and were never once cheated by a taxi driver.
The only negative was that coffee is only available during breakfast hours and there is not a coffeemaker in the room.
There is an excellent view of the volcano, and each day, the view is different depending on the cloud cover so be prepared to take pictures of the view every day and several times a day.

Room Tip: The third floor has the best views from the rooms facing the street, but if street noise bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedward31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
866 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
537 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,653 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#7 of 85 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $56 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing