We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable in town stay”
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The family at Hotel Las Colinas made my Birthday in Arenal enjoyable. From finding me a Philips to change out my gopro kit, to the tasty breakfast and the smiley/cute front desk girl who surprised me with a birthday cake, I can easily recommended Hotel Las Colinas for your in town stay. The beds are comfortable, the AC and wifi work and so does the hot water. The views from the private balcony and public balcony are decent. I recommended taking picks early in the morning, I found that there were no clouds covering the top of the volcano around then. Also, if you are considering rafting bring your water shoes or you could purchase a decent pair next door for $8. After dinner you'll find about 5 blocks to stroll around and a central park which is safe at night to people watch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeShouldBeGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013
Google Translation

Hola!!
Gracias por tu comentario y esperamos celebrar con vos otro cumpleanos!
Gracias y vuelvan pronto!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 485 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked this hotel because of its central location right off the square in la Fortuna, and if you want to stay in town, it seems like the best option. The location was great, as we could walk to restaurants, have ice cream in the square, and go to the supermarket right next door for wine to enjoy on the rooftop patio. We booked the Junior Honeymoon Suite, which had both an open shower and a Jacuzzi tub, and while it is definitely not a luxury hotel by any means, the room was adequate for what little time we spent in it – we were out adventuring all day! The young man at the front desk was super friendly and accommodating, and had a good restaurant recommendation for our first night (Rancho Perla). Breakfast was included but was sadly disappointing – they ran out of chorizo and rationed the eggs and platanos – but I think this is because there was a large EF tour group staying there. This was unfortunate, because the high school students kept us awake all night running past our room, screaming, etc. The second night, the patrons at the lively soda across the street kept us awake with constant yelling, motorcycle revving, and arm wrestling contests out on the sidewalk. So all in all, a decent budget hotel, good central location, friendly staff, but bring earplugs if you want to sleep!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armerida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Las Colonas has excellent location: though it is in the center of La Fortuna, it has all good sides of the location on the small street which is not very noisy and has nice café around. The staff is very friendly and helped us a lot to find some interesting things around which were not included in our schedule. The great view to the volcano from the terrace on the second floor, with very beautiful flowers all around – this is exactly what you expect to see when you are traveling in the tropical country. And very convenient to have the internet café just next door if you are not carrying the computer with you. The room is clean and good breakfast. We liked this hotel and will recommend it to our friends.h it is in the center of La Fortuna

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did not have a car for our trip, so we wanted to stay in town.

Las Colinas was cheap, conveniently located, and served excellent breakfast. We stayed on the second floor. Our room had high ceilings, large windows facing the terrace, a mini-fridge and a television. Wi-Fi is free. The terrace faces the volcano.

The only minor downside is the location. As its in town, sometimes the street noise can be disruptive, particularly on the weekends. However, it dies down well before midnight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cataclysmblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family (two adults and two sub-teen boys) stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Staff/owners very friendly and willing to help with all matters touristy. English spoken well. Room (18) was basic but quite adequate. Street noise minimum but air conditioner a little loud. Breakfast a very good start to the day. Easy walk to multiple restaurants and taxi stand for trips. A great base for exploration of the area without breaking the bank! A great value. I would go back!

Room Tip: Room facing terrace is the best. There can be gatherings there, but usually not after 9 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Las Colinas is perfectly located in La Fortuna - not on the main street but one to the side with a view of the Volcan Arenal - note the pictures we saw of the volcano from the hotel did not include the 3 telecoms poles that must have been photoshopped out.

The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and the rooms clean. When we arrived our air-conditioning broke down and they had someone out (at the weekend) to fix it straight away.

Breakfast was included and the terrace on the first floor was a nice place to relax. Wifi was available in the room and there was cable TV for those interested.

We stayed 2 nights which was plenty in La Fortuna enough time to take a long walk to the waterfall and if you want a volcano hike,

The only negative about the hotel from our perspective were the sheets on the beds. They did not fit the mattress properly so within a couple of minutes the under sheet was all tangled up leaving you sleeping on the mattress which wasn't particularly pleasant or comfortable.

Opposite the hotel was the Soda Viquez where they serve massive and casados - the best we've had in Costa Rica so far - there really was enough for 2 people!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in that hotel for two days during a trip to visit the Volcán Arenal. The hotel is very cozy and beautifull. The room is very basic but the views from the window are amazing. The location is also great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank iarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
834 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $53 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing