We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family owned hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice family owned hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay. Very friendly, family owned business. Economic hotel, centrally located in La Fortuna. Near shopping, and restaurants. Typical Costa Rican breakfast included in lodging cost; cooked and served by Hector who was very accomodating and friendly. Front desk clerk (Alvaro - I hopefully spelled his name correctly!) was very friendly and helpful. Silvia responded to emails promptly and was very courteous. Hello to all - From the Harveys, Colorado

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethH409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    166
    57
    17
    5
See reviews for
64
191
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nice family owned hotel. Great location. Staff helpful. Nice giftshop and a great free breakfast. There is a nice gringo owned restaurant a couple blocks away called Good Food. Check it out and tell Mike I sent you.
Carol from Atlanta

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingal409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is about as central as you can get in La Fortuna. The room we had was very pokey (although the bathroom was large) however when we saw inside the other rooms they were much bigger so maybe check this when you book - some had fridges. Free breakfast was sufficient but nothing spectacular compared to what we have had at other places. Good omelets. One of the best features is the terrace where you can see views of the volcano although we had cloud covering it for most of the days we were there. Free wifi is quite stable. Hotel is great value.

Room Tip: Some rooms looked much larger than ours and had fridges. Try to check this when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a family owned hotel with great rooms, a/c.
There is a nice sitting area to hang out and asborb the site of the volcano.

In the morning, Hector greets you with a smile and prepares an excellent breakfast!
The front staff is courteous and helpful, always greeting you with a smile.
We spent a week in La Fortuna as we found so many treks and activites to do. This hotel is perfectly located. La Fortuna is noisy in the city, bring earplugs.
There is no pool...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToXcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel in the middle of La Fortuna. Central location in town, close to all bars, shops, and restaurants. The middle of the hotel is a big patio that overlooks the town. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is delicious.

The staff was the best. We were greeted by a young woman who told us her family owns and runs the hotel. When we were ready to leave, the battery in our rental car was dead. We communicated the situation as best we could in half Spanish half English and the gentleman working there got his car and gave us a jump. Super nice!

Next time we are in Arenal/La Fortuna, we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank szarau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We took room 33 which is the highest room with the best view to Arenal mountain, was very nice. The room is also very nice and comfortable. We paid 70$ per night on the green season but you can cheaper in this hotel without this view and a different Room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ODbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is located very centrally, and the staff is very friendly. The terrace is a pretty place to hang out and admire the volcano. There is a lovely coffee bar opposite and a great soda that serves awesome soup among other dishes. The room was light and airy with air-conditioning and a fridge. The breakfast area was clean and breakfast was good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madcitybrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,264 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Property: Hotel Las Colinas
Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing