We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Las Colinas
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$215
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$253
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$184
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveler rating
206
205
73
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
205
73
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla fortunaarenal volcanofriendly hotelg adventures tourcentral locationlarge supermarketfirst floora family run hotelno elevatorcosta ricarainforest cafehot waterrestaurants and shopsprivate balconybreakfast was includedlocation is greatsan jose
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 517 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel os really well located. The view on the arenal volcano is incredible and people are nice ;)
Just the breakfast could be improved a bit but still it was very nice !!!
I advise people to do like me. Waking up at 5:15am and watch the sunset was really amazing !

Go there without fear guys !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We flew in from Texas to San Jose, rented a car and drove to Fortunata and just wanted a convenient downtown hotel for the night....this one did the trick! Our 3rd floor room was very small but served our need to just crash. You'd likely want to bring your own face towels (theirs are like sand paper), but bath towels were fine. One other thing. only available electrical outlet was in the bathroom or high up by the a/c unit....none on the bedroom walls for chargers and such!

The staff were super-nice and the very inexpensive room (<$60 on hotels.com) included buffet breakfast. Breakfast was as good as the that in our later, pricier hotels and lots of foreign languages being spoken from around the world. I particularly want to thank the front desk attendant....wish I could remember his name....who let me park right in front and had someone watch my car all night! Don't miss going to the 3rd level to get best pix of the volcano. And make sure to stroll to the park just a block away....beautiful.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you don't want to lug bags up stairs, ask for a lower level room. There is one room on the 3rd floor with windows facing the street (might be noisy in high season) but also the volcano.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2Travel052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed in Las Colinas for my 2 first nights in CR, time to see the volcano and take a look around.
I booked a preferent room with "great view" to the volcano and "balcony" : the view was quite better from the shared patio, and the balcony was just the corridor from the room to the patio ...
Room was clean and quite big for us, but noisy till bar, close to the hotel, closes.

Breakfast is ok but if you are still hungry or want to change, get a breakfast at the soda just in front of the hotel : thats the place to eat in La Fortuna ;)

People working there and reception servicxe were absolutely wonderfull!

Las Colinas is located in the center of La Fortuna (15 minutes far from El Arenal), and you can reach any restaurant, bar, soda, travel/sport agency from this point.
There are some SPAs and resorts outside the city, on the way to the volcano : if you have a higher budget, i would recommend this option, as you could benefit natural hot springs pools and maybe better rooms.

For mid budget travellers, Las Colinas is a good option.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the second floor with view to the shared patio.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaniElFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently completed a 4 night stay at Las Colinas, and we were very pleased with all aspecits of our stay. The room was great--the in-room jacuzzi was perfect after several days of hiking!! The view of the volcano from the shared patio was amazing. The food served for breakfasts was excellent. The location of the hotel, i.e., being in the center of town, was very convenient and enabled us to get a feel for La Fortuna. While all of these things are important, the most important thing was the quality of the people who work at Las Colinas--friendly, knowledgeable and always willing and able to assist us. We would return to the hotel without any hesitation!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I love this hotel because it is located in La Fortuna downtown, it is very nice, it has one of the best views of the Arenal volcano, and the people who work at the hotel are some of the most friendliest and helpful people that I have ever met in Costa Rica. If you want to have a great time in La Fortuna without having to pay too much, stay at this hotel.

What do you want to see when you first wake up in La Fortuna? The volcano, right? Then, you got to stay at this hotel. You will not believe the view of the volcano.

This is the place where I stay with my family and friends every year. I love it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews