We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice basic hotel in downtown Fortunato” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice basic hotel in downtown Fortunato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We flew in from Texas to San Jose, rented a car and drove to Fortunata and just wanted a convenient downtown hotel for the night....this one did the trick! Our 3rd floor room was very small but served our need to just crash. You'd likely want to bring your own face towels (theirs are like sand paper), but bath towels were fine. One other thing. only available electrical outlet was in the bathroom or high up by the a/c unit....none on the bedroom walls for chargers and such!

The staff were super-nice and the very inexpensive room (<$60 on hotels.com) included buffet breakfast. Breakfast was as good as the that in our later, pricier hotels and lots of foreign languages being spoken from around the world. I particularly want to thank the front desk attendant....wish I could remember his name....who let me park right in front and had someone watch my car all night! Don't miss going to the 3rd level to get best pix of the volcano. And make sure to stroll to the park just a block away....beautiful.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you don't want to lug bags up stairs, ask for a lower level room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    166
    57
    17
    5
See reviews for
64
191
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed in Las Colinas for my 2 first nights in CR, time to see the volcano and take a look around.
I booked a preferent room with "great view" to the volcano and "balcony" : the view was quite better from the shared patio, and the balcony was just the corridor from the room to the patio ...
Room was clean and quite big for us, but noisy till bar, close to the hotel, closes.

Breakfast is ok but if you are still hungry or want to change, get a breakfast at the soda just in front of the hotel : thats the place to eat in La Fortuna ;)

People working there and reception servicxe were absolutely wonderfull!

Las Colinas is located in the center of La Fortuna (15 minutes far from El Arenal), and you can reach any restaurant, bar, soda, travel/sport agency from this point.
There are some SPAs and resorts outside the city, on the way to the volcano : if you have a higher budget, i would recommend this option, as you could benefit natural hot springs pools and maybe better rooms.

For mid budget travellers, Las Colinas is a good option.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the second floor with view to the shared patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaniElFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently completed a 4 night stay at Las Colinas, and we were very pleased with all aspecits of our stay. The room was great--the in-room jacuzzi was perfect after several days of hiking!! The view of the volcano from the shared patio was amazing. The food served for breakfasts was excellent. The location of the hotel, i.e., being in the center of town, was very convenient and enabled us to get a feel for La Fortuna. While all of these things are important, the most important thing was the quality of the people who work at Las Colinas--friendly, knowledgeable and always willing and able to assist us. We would return to the hotel without any hesitation!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I love this hotel because it is located in La Fortuna downtown, it is very nice, it has one of the best views of the Arenal volcano, and the people who work at the hotel are some of the most friendliest and helpful people that I have ever met in Costa Rica. If you want to have a great time in La Fortuna without having to pay too much, stay at this hotel.

What do you want to see when you first wake up in La Fortuna? The volcano, right? Then, you got to stay at this hotel. You will not believe the view of the volcano.

This is the place where I stay with my family and friends every year. I love it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

If I ever come back to La Fortuna I would definitely book this hotel again. It looks like nothing from the outside but once inside it's so cute and has a beautiful upstairs terrace with lots of seating areas, greenery, and what looks like a mini produce garden bordering the sides. It's especially picturesque when you walk out in the morning and see the grounds decorated with the purple flowers that have fallen from the trees. Our room was small but we did need an extra bed so I think that was the reason it was so cramped. There's free WiFi, free breakfast, and the staff was very generous with the use of their phone at the front desk. After buying a phone card my boyfriend and his brother had a full conversation with their parents using the phone which was awesome because the mom was so worried and hadn't heard from us since we had left.

The only negative thing was that there was some kind of body odor emanating from somewhere. I found out where and why the following morning when I woke up with my face on the actual mattress breathing it all in! Gross!!! There is no mattress pad, just a fitted sheet over the mattress so everyone else's b.o. was just soaked in that mattress. My fitted sheet wasn't very fitted at all and we realized any movement cause it to loosen from the mattress easily. The humidity of the area also ensured that the odor stayed put. Blech.

Otherwise, it's a lovely place and I would definitely come back. The super nice staff also makes it worthy of return visits!

Room Tip: Our corner room with sliding door entry was unique and felt almost like a private room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miship00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were only in La Fortuna for a couple nights, but Las Colinas was a very nice hotel with a few caveats.
Because Las Colinas is centrally located in La Fortuna, one of the most visited places in Costa Rica, you're going to have to deal with some noise, both in the day and at night. During the day there was the ubiquitous advertising for the discotheque from vans driving veeeerrrrryyy slowly blaring in incomprehensible Spanish. At night, there was noise from the sodas across the street, liquor store next door, and grocery store on the other side. However, all of this seemed to die down around 9:30-10:00 or so. After that there was the occasional car alarm.
As well, Las Colinas is located in a semi-open air mall, so there is a bit of foot traffic during the day as well.

Other than that, though, Las Colinas must be highly commended on it's sustainability. They have done just about everything they can in order to make their hotel carbon-neutral.It is quite impressive. Everything from their lightbulbs to their receipts are sustainable.
Also, the view from Las Colinas is incomparable. It directly faces the volcano. While during the day we found the volcano to be mostly shrouded, early in the morning, around 6:30, it was very clear and picture worthy from the main balconies.
Las Colinas is well situated to many conveniences and it is a lovely, well-kept hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street. Try and get a room as far away from the street as possible, if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

We want to thank you for you review, is nice to know than our sustainable efforts are visible and it make us feel very proud, thank you for notice them!
Very sorry for the ¨ talking car¨, is a kind of advertising than is very popular in all Costa Rica, the name is ¨perifoneo¨ , is ussually uses to advertise a local event.
Thank you very much , we wish a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Got off the jeep/boat/jeep from Monteverde with no hotel in La Fortuna.

Taking our chances and looked at some hostels that were just not right for this trip with a 13 year old daughter.

Found Las Colinas and good prices with amenities that made both of us happy. She liked tv w/hbo and her own bed, I liked outdoor balcony w/views to drink coffee in afternoon.

Very helpful staff for tours, local info, etc. Also a fast food restaurant next door that made us a meal to go that was good! Empanadas de pollo.

Would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a balcony and use to dry your swimsuits/towels from swimming in a hot spring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjlemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review!

Las Colinas is a great option for families, couples, friends and solo traveleres!
Is nice to know than another family enjoy their stay with us, breakfast is very important for us, that is why we tried to offer all choices from fruits, eggs, tipical "Gallo Pinto", french toasts, pankekes, omellets betteen others!!!
Feel free to get directly to our hotel and see the rooms, we are sure you will decide to stay!!!
(Better to make reservation on holidays from dec 15 to jan 15)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,273 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Property: Hotel Las Colinas
Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing