We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Las Colinas
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$152
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$862
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$200
$157
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveler rating
206
205
73
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
205
73
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla fortunacentral locationarenal volcanofriendly hotellarge supermarketfirst floorcosta ricarainforest cafehot waterrestaurants and shopsprivate balconylocation is greatbreakfast was includedsan josebeautiful viewjunior suiteclean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 517 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently completed a 4 night stay at Las Colinas, and we were very pleased with all aspecits of our stay. The room was great--the in-room jacuzzi was perfect after several days of hiking!! The view of the volcano from the shared patio was amazing. The food served for breakfasts was excellent. The location of the hotel, i.e., being in the center of town, was very convenient and enabled us to get a feel for La Fortuna. While all of these things are important, the most important thing was the quality of the people who work at Las Colinas--friendly, knowledgeable and always willing and able to assist us. We would return to the hotel without any hesitation!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I love this hotel because it is located in La Fortuna downtown, it is very nice, it has one of the best views of the Arenal volcano, and the people who work at the hotel are some of the most friendliest and helpful people that I have ever met in Costa Rica. If you want to have a great time in La Fortuna without having to pay too much, stay at this hotel.

What do you want to see when you first wake up in La Fortuna? The volcano, right? Then, you got to stay at this hotel. You will not believe the view of the volcano.

This is the place where I stay with my family and friends every year. I love it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

If I ever come back to La Fortuna I would definitely book this hotel again. It looks like nothing from the outside but once inside it's so cute and has a beautiful upstairs terrace with lots of seating areas, greenery, and what looks like a mini produce garden bordering the sides. It's especially picturesque when you walk out in the morning and see the grounds decorated with the purple flowers that have fallen from the trees. Our room was small but we did need an extra bed so I think that was the reason it was so cramped. There's free WiFi, free breakfast, and the staff was very generous with the use of their phone at the front desk. After buying a phone card my boyfriend and his brother had a full conversation with their parents using the phone which was awesome because the mom was so worried and hadn't heard from us since we had left.

The only negative thing was that there was some kind of body odor emanating from somewhere. I found out where and why the following morning when I woke up with my face on the actual mattress breathing it all in! Gross!!! There is no mattress pad, just a fitted sheet over the mattress so everyone else's b.o. was just soaked in that mattress. My fitted sheet wasn't very fitted at all and we realized any movement cause it to loosen from the mattress easily. The humidity of the area also ensured that the odor stayed put. Blech.

Otherwise, it's a lovely place and I would definitely come back. The super nice staff also makes it worthy of return visits!

Room Tip: Our corner room with sliding door entry was unique and felt almost like a private room with balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miship00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were only in La Fortuna for a couple nights, but Las Colinas was a very nice hotel with a few caveats.
Because Las Colinas is centrally located in La Fortuna, one of the most visited places in Costa Rica, you're going to have to deal with some noise, both in the day and at night. During the day there was the ubiquitous advertising for the discotheque from vans driving veeeerrrrryyy slowly blaring in incomprehensible Spanish. At night, there was noise from the sodas across the street, liquor store next door, and grocery store on the other side. However, all of this seemed to die down around 9:30-10:00 or so. After that there was the occasional car alarm.
As well, Las Colinas is located in a semi-open air mall, so there is a bit of foot traffic during the day as well.

Other than that, though, Las Colinas must be highly commended on it's sustainability. They have done just about everything they can in order to make their hotel carbon-neutral.It is quite impressive. Everything from their lightbulbs to their receipts are sustainable.
Also, the view from Las Colinas is incomparable. It directly faces the volcano. While during the day we found the volcano to be mostly shrouded, early in the morning, around 6:30, it was very clear and picture worthy from the main balconies.
Las Colinas is well situated to many conveniences and it is a lovely, well-kept hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street. Try and get a room as far away from the street as possible, if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

We want to thank you for you review, is nice to know than our sustainable efforts are visible and it make us feel very proud, thank you for notice them!
Very sorry for the ¨ talking car¨, is a kind of advertising than is very popular in all Costa Rica, the name is ¨perifoneo¨ , is ussually uses to advertise a local event.
Thank you very much , we wish a happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Got off the jeep/boat/jeep from Monteverde with no hotel in La Fortuna.

Taking our chances and looked at some hostels that were just not right for this trip with a 13 year old daughter.

Found Las Colinas and good prices with amenities that made both of us happy. She liked tv w/hbo and her own bed, I liked outdoor balcony w/views to drink coffee in afternoon.

Very helpful staff for tours, local info, etc. Also a fast food restaurant next door that made us a meal to go that was good! Empanadas de pollo.

Would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a balcony and use to dry your swimsuits/towels from swimming in a hot spring!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjlemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you very much for your review!

Las Colinas is a great option for families, couples, friends and solo traveleres!
Is nice to know than another family enjoy their stay with us, breakfast is very important for us, that is why we tried to offer all choices from fruits, eggs, tipical "Gallo Pinto", french toasts, pankekes, omellets betteen others!!!
Feel free to get directly to our hotel and see the rooms, we are sure you will decide to stay!!!
(Better to make reservation on holidays from dec 15 to jan 15)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews