We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

If I ever come back to La Fortuna I would definitely book this hotel again. It looks like nothing from the outside but once inside it's so cute and has a beautiful upstairs terrace with lots of seating areas, greenery, and what looks like a mini produce garden bordering the sides. It's especially picturesque when you walk out in the morning and see the grounds decorated with the purple flowers that have fallen from the trees. Our room was small but we did need an extra bed so I think that was the reason it was so cramped. There's free WiFi, free breakfast, and the staff was very generous with the use of their phone at the front desk. After buying a phone card my boyfriend and his brother had a full conversation with their parents using the phone which was awesome because the mom was so worried and hadn't heard from us since we had left.

The only negative thing was that there was some kind of body odor emanating from somewhere. I found out where and why the following morning when I woke up with my face on the actual mattress breathing it all in! Gross!!! There is no mattress pad, just a fitted sheet over the mattress so everyone else's b.o. was just soaked in that mattress. My fitted sheet wasn't very fitted at all and we realized any movement cause it to loosen from the mattress easily. The humidity of the area also ensured that the odor stayed put. Blech.

Otherwise, it's a lovely place and I would definitely come back. The super nice staff also makes it worthy of return visits!

Room Tip: Our corner room with sliding door entry was unique and felt almost like a private room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miship00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    169
    57
    18
    5
See reviews for
67
192
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were only in La Fortuna for a couple nights, but Las Colinas was a very nice hotel with a few caveats.
Because Las Colinas is centrally located in La Fortuna, one of the most visited places in Costa Rica, you're going to have to deal with some noise, both in the day and at night. During the day there was the ubiquitous advertising for the discotheque from vans driving veeeerrrrryyy slowly blaring in incomprehensible Spanish. At night, there was noise from the sodas across the street, liquor store next door, and grocery store on the other side. However, all of this seemed to die down around 9:30-10:00 or so. After that there was the occasional car alarm.
As well, Las Colinas is located in a semi-open air mall, so there is a bit of foot traffic during the day as well.

Other than that, though, Las Colinas must be highly commended on it's sustainability. They have done just about everything they can in order to make their hotel carbon-neutral.It is quite impressive. Everything from their lightbulbs to their receipts are sustainable.
Also, the view from Las Colinas is incomparable. It directly faces the volcano. While during the day we found the volcano to be mostly shrouded, early in the morning, around 6:30, it was very clear and picture worthy from the main balconies.
Las Colinas is well situated to many conveniences and it is a lovely, well-kept hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street. Try and get a room as far away from the street as possible, if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

We want to thank you for you review, is nice to know than our sustainable efforts are visible and it make us feel very proud, thank you for notice them!
Very sorry for the ¨ talking car¨, is a kind of advertising than is very popular in all Costa Rica, the name is ¨perifoneo¨ , is ussually uses to advertise a local event.
Thank you very much , we wish a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Got off the jeep/boat/jeep from Monteverde with no hotel in La Fortuna.

Taking our chances and looked at some hostels that were just not right for this trip with a 13 year old daughter.

Found Las Colinas and good prices with amenities that made both of us happy. She liked tv w/hbo and her own bed, I liked outdoor balcony w/views to drink coffee in afternoon.

Very helpful staff for tours, local info, etc. Also a fast food restaurant next door that made us a meal to go that was good! Empanadas de pollo.

Would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a balcony and use to dry your swimsuits/towels from swimming in a hot spring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjlemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review!

Las Colinas is a great option for families, couples, friends and solo traveleres!
Is nice to know than another family enjoy their stay with us, breakfast is very important for us, that is why we tried to offer all choices from fruits, eggs, tipical "Gallo Pinto", french toasts, pankekes, omellets betteen others!!!
Feel free to get directly to our hotel and see the rooms, we are sure you will decide to stay!!!
(Better to make reservation on holidays from dec 15 to jan 15)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Cove, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed 3 days and 2 nights in La Fortuna. Our days were busy with tours and shuttle transfers so we basically only needed a place to stay each night. This was definitely the best choice for us. There were restaurants in front of the hotel we could eat at, and a supermarket around the corner.
The front office staff was amazing. They helped us book our next shuttle transfer to Tortuguero. I used their spa services which was amazing & I totally recommend it, especially after a 5 hour hike to Rio Celeste.
Overall the honeymoon suite was a great stay. Very clean, spacious and convenient. We would definitely stay there again, especially since we were able to see the Arenal Volcano early in the morning. We ate breakfast with a majestic view. Good times!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review!
Is great how do you explain the benefits to stay in our hotel, because we are a hotel located in the middle of La Fortuna, which is a nice little town of Costa Rica, safe, convenient than offers all choices of restaurants, grosery stores, souvenirs, and very close from touristic places, such us La Fortuna waterfall, national parks, hot springs, canopy, etc.
And of course in our hotel, guest can enjoy our terrace area, with beautifull view of the Arenal Volcano, then in the first level of our hotel, there is the spa, and hand made souvenir to help you to enjoy yous stay!
Thank you and will be a pleasure to have you in our hotel next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Las Colinas is a small family-run hotel. Service was extremely friendly and efficient, excellent English was spoken, rooms were very comfortable and everything worked well ( including shower with reliable hot water).An unbeatable view of the volcano from the terrace and from some of the rooms. On a quiet street but the main shopping strip is just at the end of the street. Helpful advice and efficient booking of tours and shuttle bus. Altogether I highly recommend Las Colinas. Across the road is "Restaurant Y Soda Viquez" which I strongly recommend for good, authentic Costa Rican food at a good price and with very welcoming and warm service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!
We are so happy to recieive this great review!!!
We really are happy than our hotel, services and attention were good for you, this reviews help us to keep proud and keep improving our services to be better every day!!!

Thank you ver y much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The main reason this has been given a 5 is because of the staff; they are really excellent!

The room, was nice, nothing wrong with it, a touch impersonal, but it was certainly comfortable. The food the provide is very good; but as said before the staff make it a 5. They were so helpful, in booking activities for us they can't be faulted.

This is not really a b&b it is a hotel that offers breakfast, but our stay was pleasant, and the rooms are clean and a good size. We were fortunate enough to get upgraded, so we did have a good room with a view of the volcano.

If you are looking for a cosy, quaint establishment, this isn't your place, but if you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep and get some down time, Las Colinas is your place. It is also located in the middle of town so this also helps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much!!!
We feel very proud of our job to know than you give us 5 stars in guest service!!!
Thats really great, we are a real flocal and costarican family hotel, where mother, sons and daughter woks together to offer you the best we can give and a little more!!!

Thank you for your review, it really helps!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

we spent 2 nights at Las Colinas. We were out most of the day bit came back to a very comfortable terrace where we enjoyed our Imperial. Yvette was very helpful with tours and directions. Price was well worth it. Breakfast was very good as well.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank agurranimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review!!
We are glad than you have enjoy your stay in our hotel!

For our family is very important to help our guest with tips and directions, La Fortuna is our town so we have all the information to help you to enjoy your time!!
Please, feel free to ask for any information before, during and after your stay with us!
Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,161 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Property: Hotel Las Colinas
Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing