We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice: Great service, really clean rooms, so central and rico food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent choice: Great service, really clean rooms, so central and rico food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights in mid June as part of an Intrepid Adventure trip. The hotel staff were so lovely from beginning to end, the rooms were really clean, ours did not have a mirror and was very small but I saw a few friends rooms and theirs were much bigger so if you get a small twin room just ask for a bigger one. I asked for extra hangers and pillows and got them immediately even though the hotel was really busy.

The hotel recycles which was a definite plus for me. There is also free internet with 3 pcs in the lobby.

In addition the food in the restaurant was excellent. I had a delicious filet mignon, fries, pepper sauce and grilled onions for about $12-14 and it was sooooo deliciious. I would have eaten in the restaurant the next night except we were at the Baldi hot springs. I was really disappointed!

For the budget travellers out there there is a great laundrette directly across the street from the hotel and laundry is done in about 2 hours.

Also, shop around for trips to Baldi hot springs, Arenal etc. as the prices really vary even though everyone goes to the same place...

In conclusion, i think this hotel is an absolute winner.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    216
    79
    19
    6
See reviews for
54
184
96
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
harrisburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

This place was much more than expected since we booked through a cheap adventure tour package, but it was very nice. ONe of the taller buildings in town it offers a great view of the volcano which is usually only visable first thing in the morning because of the building clouds this time of year. The service was great- they let us use their phone to call back to the states with a phone card several times since we couldn't get a hold of anyone at first. They were very quick to answer any questions we had, and even though they said they only spoke a little English they did great- better than me in some cases!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leslie_korn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

Hotel La Fortuna has a good location in city with great volcano view rooms, if you choose to get one. There is free internet, for lap tops and with 3 desk top computers available for your use, along with free wifi, even wii.

The rooms are pretty typically of most locally run hotel rooms in Costa Rica. But they are clean, comfortable, with air conditioning. The only annoying part of our room was the shower occasionally overflowed and flooded and that was a little problematic. It was a slightly angled raised flat area with plastic curtain around it which is not the best way to contain water while you showed.

With our package, we got free breakfast every morning, which was very adequate, and fit in perfectly with our planned tours.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedPhoenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel La Fortuna in July for a couple of nights. Initially we were only going to spend one night at the hotel because we were not sure if we would like it, but after we stayed the first night we were so happy we booked two more. :) We were amazed with the hotel location, it's in the middle of downtown where all bars/restaurants are within walkng distance. The rooms are very clean and spacious! The staff is absolutely awesome, especially Manrique (the receptionist). He gave us information on all the activities around, booked us a trip to the volcano, the waterfalls and to Baldi Hot Springs. If you have any questions/concerns just go down and see him! We'll be back to Costa Rica and Hotel La Fortuna any time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zori79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We booked Hotel La Fortuna two days before arriving and we didn't have much time to research the hotel. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised with the front lobby cleanliness and the staff helpfulness. Check-in time was at 2pm but we arrived a little before noon and the front desk was nice enough to hold our luggage so that we can walk around La Fortuna and have lunch. After lunch, we came back to the lobby to wait on the couches, which were clean and comfortable. They had great maps of Costa Rica and various brochures of local tours. They also had a small library of books that guests can freely borrow and return (a rare use of the honor system that seems to be a dying practice). They also had three Internet connected computers but we didn't use them so I'm not sure how good their connection is, though throughout our 2 night stay, a lot of guests used the PCs.

After waiting in the lobby for about 15 minutes looking at the CR maps and brochures, they checked us about an hour early, which was unexpected. The hotel is pretty modern with an elevator and WiFi connections. The room was a decent size. We had a room without the Volcan Arenal view, but we still liked our room a lot because it was really simple and clean. Bathroom was big and also very clean.

What made this hotel stand out for me were really 3 things. One was that the bathroom was built to be accessible for people with disabilities. Although none of us needed that, it was cool to see a hotel in CR that built their rooms with this in mind. Secondly, they had three small garbage bins for recycling paper, plastic, and glass. Having traveled throughout CR for a little over a week now, we didn't see too many places that practiced recycling. Lastly, the service here has been the best that we have experienced in CR. We stayed in hotels ranging from inexpensive $30 per night places to expensive $100 per night hotels, and Hotel La Fortuna was the friendliest and most accommodating of the four other hotels in CR. We didn't request anything special but the front desk employees seemed to enjoy working there and didn't mind answering our questions about the bus schedule and they didn't mind that we used the front desk phone to call for hotel reservations for Tortuguero.

Also, the location is great. It's two short blocks from the bus station and it's close the a bunch of restaurants, tour guides, and laundry service. Overall, this was a great place to stay and we really appreciated the staff friendliness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Our room was simple enough, but the view of the volcano was gorgeous. At $65/night, I thought it was a great deal. Drinks and food at the restaurant downstairs was very reasonable and delicious. The few staff emembers tha tyou saw there, were warm, friendly and accomodating. If you need a hairdryer, jsut ask the front desk. They will also help you book any daytrips you need to, or you can walk a block and meet up with some of the guys on the street who may be able to work out a deal for you. Everything is within walking distance to the super market, restaurants, and shops. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, and the employwees were more than accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

With rooms around $50 /night during Costa Rica's green season, this hotel is a great option when visiting La Fortuna and the surrounding area. Rooms with a view of Arenal Vocano wasn't much more than the starting room and the extra cost is definitely worth it! The price included a continental breakfast (fruit, toast, scrambled eggs) and you can add other items at a low cost. The price also included free wifi access and the use of their public computers with internet access which came in handy to plan things.

The location is near the center of La Fortuna making it easy to explore the town. On a side note, when looking for souvenirs in town it might be best to buy from shops, I found the one street vendor selling things 2 or more times as much as the stores were.

Being so centreal, it also meant that the hotel wasn't the quiest place. You can hear noise from the town from your room and their was a rooster right across the street that liked to crow every morning at 6am. I needed to get up early each morning so I didn't mind at all but you may want to bring ear plugs if you want to sleep in.

The rooms were basic but clean. They came with an AC unit and hairdryer but no phone or alarm clock (the front desk has at least one alarm clock that guests can borrow though). The only real complaint about the room is the pillows weren't of the best quality and a bit lumpy making it no so easy to fall asleep.

The staff were really friendly with special mention of Enrique. When checking in, he made sure to use my name several times and throughout my stay as well which is always a nice touch. The owner Lorraine brought her dog and puppies to the hotel several times and let guests play with them. The staff will help you book activites with tour companies although they tend to push ones that they work with and probably get a commission from. I used two tour companies they help me book and both were great so its not like they're pushing ones that won't give you a good time or are rip offs.

I'd stay here again if visiting La Fortuna.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecotraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Property: Hotel La Fortuna
Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing