We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“costa rica on a budget!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
san jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“costa rica on a budget!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

HOTEL: very cute, clean, and super friendly. Lorena ( gosh, i think that is her name: blond, caucasion, speaks little english but is great...and she usually works the desk front area). I like her, she was super friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Try staying on the 3rd floor or above to get away from the street noise and to enjoy the view of the hotel.
INTERNET: very weak signal upstairs. They do offer two computers in teh lobby to use.

RESTAURANT: free breakfast, very minimal. Be sure to ask for the menu for you american omelette and other stuff.

LOCATION: ont he back side of the volcano. You can only see the side with vegetation and the smoke on a clear day. To see the lava rocks falling down, stay on the otherside of the volcano...perhaps, Tabacon area or the big name resorts. (you want the ashy side of the volcano to enjoy the lava rocks in the evening-trust me, very beautiful to watch)

PRICE: very reasonable...some other locaionts go up to $250...we paid only $50 a night ...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penavinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    200
    70
    18
    5
See reviews for
48
167
92
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

The staff is great, the rooms are clean, the showers are big, rooms have AC and Cable TV. The hotel bar has great food and the staff has a great relationship with adventure companies in town and can help set up tours. This is a great pick!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtneydoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at this property after spending time in Puerto Viejo. Conveniently located in the town's center, all the restaurants are services in town are in walking distance. The rooms were clean and mattress comfortable for all the post hiking and riding the area offers. The staff was most compassionate and went the extra mile to make our stay as fluid as possible. The woodwork in the lobby was a pleasure to view as well. Thanks Lorena!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Multipass5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

This little gem is located right in the center of La Fortuna. It is very convenient. Rooms are very clean but no frill.
Half of our family stayed elsewhere the first night. We got great rate for two people. However, when the rest of the family showed up. The lady in the front desk insisted that we must take a suite and the original double room for three adults and four children. We were forced to pay too much.
Parking is very secure which is extremely important in CR. They have a guard watching our car which is parked right outside of the hotel room.
breakfast came with room. simple but enough. They have powerful air condition, cabled TV. The walk in shower was so strong (everything is handicap friendly); we flooded the bathrooms in seconds.
We have a view of the volcano from the room ( they charge 7-10 dollars extra). Frankly just about every hotel/cabins in Arenal will have a view of the volcano because the terrain is so flat and the volcano is very high. The volcano was in cloud most of the time. Do not despair. The clouds come and go. You can watch the cloud activity from anywhere in Arenal and drive to the lava side (takes about `10-20 minutes depends on where you are) when the sky looks clear.
We drove on the trail to Arenal Oberservation Lodge and stopped by a bridge the second night and saw the famous lava show. Go there about 3-4 pm and stay after sunset ( about 6-7 pm ) to see the lava in daylight and at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameronCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Very clean hotel with overall friendly staff. One front desk person was kind of strange (had this staring problem) but everyone else was nice. There is free internet access during the day and a free continental breakfast of fruit, toast, juice, and coffee. Very good start to your day. Housekeeping service is very good, you get fresh towels daily. Didn't eat the restaurant food but it is literally a block down from Don Rufinos, apparently the best restaurant in La Fortuna. Definitely walk down there and get some casado, a cup of coffee, or their brownie dessert. Hotel La Fortuna is also down the street from Adventure Arenal (I think thats the name) so you can easily book tours. Definitely recommend it! Not the most gorgeous of hotel rooms, and the beds are really hard, but it does the job well enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Made reservation for rooms a couple days in advance to very receptive staff. Great lobby, provided computer for surfing the internet. Rooms were nice and clean, great value for the money. Front desk was very helpful in booking activities in Arenal and had some good deals on tours. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

This hotel is a great mid-range option in La Fortuna town. It's close to restaurants, bars, a supermarket, and the bus station, so it was really convenient for us. The hotel was new, clean, air conditioned, and accessible. We stayed in a volcano view room, which I definitely recommend because the first thing you see when you wake up is Arenal towering above you. The restaurant/bar in the hotel was good too. Not the best food in the area, but definitely a good budget option. The staff was friendly and attentive. They also have a lot of great tour options you can arrange right from the front desk. We did the canopy tour ($45 per person - a good price for Costa Rica) and it was great. I'd definitely recommend this place for people looking to pay around $50 per night in a good area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#33 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Property: Hotel La Fortuna
Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing