We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida”
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We had an excellent stay. The staff was warm, friendly, and genuine. The food inside the restaurant at the hotel is excellent. I recommend the Arroz con Pollo! The fresh fruit each morning with coffee is perfect. Manrique or Edgar will take care of all your needs. I look forward to my next trip. The town and adventure around the hotel is great. I hope anyone that goes has as much fun as me!
Domenic

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 523 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2009

The staff was very helpful, but there were some issues. At least two rooms had ant infestations, and another had a leaking air conditioning unit that flooded the room.The view of the volcano was breathtaking, and the food, of which we had limited offerings as part of a large group, was fair. The location was a very convenient walk to town.The staff was accomdating in resolving our problems.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Stayed here with a group of friends to see the Volcano region and was highly impressed by the hotel. This was a real pleasure: clean rooms, spacious and large, and AC. It allowed us to catch up on much needed rest after days of backpacking in Costa Rica. Definitely worth it and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank asivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We spent $60-70 a night on this hotel and, for that money, we got a lot. The hotel was recently renovated and has everything you would want in a hotel, although we could have used a phone in the room. The shower leaked on the rest of the floor, which was a problem but not a huge issue. We also could have used more towels and the continental breakfast is nothing more than two pieces of fruit, toast and coffee, although I guess that technically is a continental breakfast in the area. The hotel is right at the end of the main street of La Fortuna, which is a great little town. The front desk is very helpful and eager. You get a free dinner here if you stay more than 2 nights, which is a very nice perk. The bar is very cheap if you want to hang out there at night. Make sure you ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor with a volcano view if you stay here. It's not the closest hotel in the area to the volcano but you can get a great view nevertheless. If you stay in this area, we recommend getting a coffee and breakfast at the Cafe Rainforest, which is a wonderful little place, get dinner at Don Rufino and head to The Springs for hot springs.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shibumi064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We had a very nice, clean room with a comfortable bed, reliable A/C, and two balconies with a view of the volcano. The washroom was very North American, with ample hot water instead of the electric heaters you find in most budget friendly hotels in Costa Rica. The hotel is conveniently located close to everything, but off the main drag so that it was quiet at night.

The common areas of the hotel are very clean and are all brand new. The food in the open air restaurant is quite good and the bar tender and servers were all friendly and helpful.

I can't emphasize enough how great the service was. We stayed three nights, and by the end, every member of the staff knew us by name. If we were to return to La Fortuna, we'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_2954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

This hotel was clean, and in a good spot for seeing Arenal Volcano. We spent little time there, other than to sleep. The front desk was very helpful and scheduled tours for us easily. We toured the volcano and the hot springs, and later went into La Fortuna to explore the bars and restaurants. It was very close to U.S. standards of hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevans152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Front desk greating was great by Manrique who speaks english. He was very helpful and accomodating. Alonso at the resturant/bar was faboulous and accomodating. We talked about fishing and he brought us fresh Guapote he had caught a couple of days before and prepared it for us. It was great. Only downside to the hotel is no pool to refresh yourself, and no phone in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank we2rreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#29 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $43 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing