We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel La Fortuna was a decent option for us for our one night stay in La Fortuna. Located in the heart of "downtown," the hotel is within walking distance to many of the better restaurants. We were also grateful for the receptionist who helped us sort out a problem with a rafting company we had booked a service through. Breakfast at the restaurant is included but is pretty marginal.

Room Tip: We also paid a bit extra for a room with a view on the second floor but wouldn't do so again sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    189
    67
    17
    4
See reviews for
46
160
87
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Clean rooms, in town, view of the volcano from some rooms. Staff try to be helpful but not overly friendly. Basic no frills. Rooms were quiet, wifi worked sporadically, walking distance around town. Tourist draw is the volcano.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisajullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel was a nice surprise for a budget option. There is not much in La Fortuna to see but it is not far to the usual destinations. The staff was very friendly. The wireless internet was slow but functional and password protected. The free breakfast was average. The hotel and rooms appeared clean and adequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky1inVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is great if you are on a budget. The location is extraordinary. Many rooms have a view of the Arenal Volcano. It is right in town, in walking distance of many restaurants and shops. The air conditioning worked well. The room was clean though old and pretty bare. The internet is not reliable in the rooms. The hotel staff was really friendly and helpful. Be careful when using the showers. As the sign in the room states, "there are no architectural boundaries" around the shower. If you are not extremely careful, you will flood your bathroom as many of us in our group did on the first night! The included breakfast is not a buffet and is prepared for you as soon as you sit down. You don't get a choice of food, but they bring you a variety and it is hot and good. We only had breakfast one day but were given a large plate of fresh fruit and then scrambled eggs, toast, and jam. I was there on a mission trip, but if I went back and money was tight, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 409 had a volcano view and was on the end of the hall so it was pretty quiet. Also, the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, good location, front desk was nice and friendly. We paid extra for a volcano view which was good but save some money if you can. You can always see the volcano from the lobby. If you are planning to do canyonerring through defasio, book through the hotel because you save some money. Enjoy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nomadsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mystic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel La Fortuna in late Feb/2014. The location was perfect for checking out the downtown area of La Fortuna (shops, restaurants, banks) and just a short taxi ride away from Arenal Volcano park. Our room was basic and clean (bed, small mounted tv, ac unit, cabinet, safe, bathroom). Our room was facing the road and had a small balcany ( with a view of the Volcano). The hotel staff was very helpful for getting tips and recommendations on where to go through out stay ( 3 nights). The morning breakfast was tipical ( coffee, fruit plate and eggs with toast). While eating breakfast you have a great view of the Volcano. If you are looking for a clean budget friendly hotel this is it!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baxtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hotel is right in town, close to laundry, grocery store, many shops and restaurants. We are on the go type travelers and it is a perfect launch pad for that. No pool and the restaurant was closed at the time but we didn't go there to stay at the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, and staff was great, especially Monrique. Booked tours through them and were always pleased.Best of all the rooms wre under 60 bucks a nite.

Room Tip: Heard we shouldn't stay on the street side , it would be noisy. It was not and that is where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#33 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#34 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Property: Hotel La Fortuna
Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing