We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for this modern looking hotel”
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Can't say anything negative about this hotel, however if you spoke to some of the people I was traveling with, they may say different. The lobby was spacious, there is also a few desktop computers to use, and the restaurant had great breakfasts.

The room was good size with a TV and fan, the A/C was an additional charge, but I felt I didn't need it. I had a window that looked out of the back of the hotel that had modest views and it was peaceful at night to get some sleep. The shower in the bathroom is the only thing that gets a negative comment, as there was only a threshold stopping the water from going out to the rest of the bathroom floor, and the shower area wasn't properly graded. Every shower I had, the bathroom floor was soaked.

This hotel is close to everything that you need, as it is only a couple of blocks to get the park, shopping, or the pubs. La Fortuna was my favorite town during the time I spent in Costa Rica, just wish I could have spent more time as there are so many adventurous activities to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor as there can be street noise. Great views of the volcano from rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digitalroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 523 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles (except for free wi-fi which worked well and a safe in the room), but it was clean, comfortable and nicely located in the center of town. Very easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Very affordable cab ride to the waterfall and hot springs. We had a great view of the volcano from our second floor room facing the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor as there can be street noise. Great views of the volcano from rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YouGoGirl_115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the most conveniently located hotel in La Fortuna. There are plenty of beautiful hotels and resorts around La Fortuna, but this hotel is located in the middle of the town. The location allows you more eating, drinking and shopping options...especially if you don't have a car. There are many sodas to choose from in town. My favorite was Soda Viquez which is only a block from the hotel.
My friends and I walked to the MegaSuper for grocery shopping. It's approx. 2 blocks away near the bus stop/station.
Breakfast is simple but served in a nice open-air dining/lobby area.
Higher level rooms have a great view of the volcano.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is one of the more modern hotels I stayed at in Costa Rica. Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel and not just in the lobby. Rooms were large, bathrooms were huge and the view of the volcano is unreal! I had nothing to complain about during my stay here. It is in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Although not fancy it was way better than I expected for the price. Rooms were spacious and a good value for your money. Bathroom was spacious and clean with plenty of hot water. my room had a tiny balcony and perfect view of Arenal volcano. Breakfasts were good and substantial. Lobby is nice and front desk staff was excellent and very helpful with tour info and planning. I am recommending my kids stay there next month on their vacation.

Room Tip: I requested room with view of volcano but they all seemed nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darcitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Although this hotel is in the middle of town, the view is lovely if you want to see the volcano. Overall is good
And clean. For the price is actually very good, not romantic or adventurous, just convenient for one night. Service is nice and friendly.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during Christmas. The hotel in in the cetre of La Fortuna within walking distance to lots of restaurants. Our triple room was clean but vey basic without a wardrobe. The AC was vey strong and made a lot of noise. The staff was very firendly and helpful, breakfast was adequate. The price was great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $41 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing