We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel with even better staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel with even better staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is everything you would expect from a three star hotel. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the volcano view (costs more) is breathtaking. The roads can be at times a bit noisy it was this price level this is something to overlook: You will be tired from sightseeing and the Hot Springs anyways.

The best thing about this hotel is its staff: All recommendations (hot springs, sightseeing, restaurants and shops near by) were perfectly chosen (by the lady at the front office) to my request with a warm smiling can do attitude. The included breakfast has everything it needs: coffee/tea, fresh juice, fruits, eggs&toast. The stay around the volcano could therefore not have been any better. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rivegauche111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    189
    67
    17
    4
See reviews for
46
160
87
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in town, rooms were very clean and comfortable... if you want to stay in town this is a great place.... Manrique and the rest of the staff was very helpful during our stay here last week...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A wonderful welcome from Mercedes the staff member on duty. Very helpful and knowledgable. Nothing was a bother, great customer service.

The room was really clean and comfortable.

The Hotel has a great location.

Room Tip: Fantastic hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 352default
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Location is perfect for trips of all sorts. The staff provided lots of interesting insider information to beautiful places which where hidden and without crowds of people. Thanks to hight of the building our room had a fantastic view of the vulcano! The breakfast is very rich and strenghtened us for the daytrips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was everything I expected. It was basic but the staff was friendly and ready to assist in any which way possible. Manrique is the best concierge in the world. He assisted me and my gf's with everything we needed . The view was amazing and so was the area. A little quiet but safe. Go to the restaurant La Soda Hormiga cheap and awesome tasting food. Wake up early to have the bes view of the Volcano. I wish the bar would have been open. And do not book anything with Mercedes she lied to my gf's about the excursions offered and we paid extra for something we thought came with a meal and it did not. Book only with the Manrique or the owner she is a sweetheart . Free breakfast is not bad either. For the price you are getting a bargain

Room Tip: Rooms with view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieC3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a standard room without view. The room was a nice size, and the bathroom was spacious and clean. The air conditioner was a welcome break from the Costa Rican heat, but ours was rather loud; I'm a light sleeper so this was a problem for me. Breakfast was more than adequate: eggs with toast and a plate of tropical fruit, plus coffee and tea. You got enough of it that you were full, but the only thing I didn't like was that it was the same breakfast for everyone, everyday; there was no way to customize it. It made breakfast go a little quicker, I guess, but any more than 2 days would've been quite boring! Wonderful location; just two blocks from the bus stop and right near all the restaurants and shops of La Fortuna. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piggywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The only good thing that I can say about this hotel is that the location was good. The beds are double or twin sized and about as comfortable as sleeping on a floor. Our roof leaked during a rain storm and we had to change rooms. We had a coffee maker but no cups (and there isn't anyone working the front desk from early evening until 6:00 AM) and the shower has no floor barrier so despite best intentions, the bathroom floor gets soaked. For the price paid, I can't help but think that there are better options available. There aren't really any amenities except free computer/internet usage in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#33 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#34 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Property: Hotel La Fortuna
Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing