We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The only good thing that I can say about this hotel is that the location was good. The beds are double or twin sized and about as comfortable as sleeping on a floor. Our roof leaked during a rain storm and we had to change rooms. We had a coffee maker but no cups (and there isn't anyone working the front desk from early evening until 6:00 AM) and the shower has no floor barrier so despite best intentions, the bathroom floor gets soaked. For the price paid, I can't help but think that there are better options available. There aren't really any amenities except free computer/internet usage in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    200
    70
    18
    5
See reviews for
48
167
92
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I expected a little more from this hotel based on the reviews I read. I was pretty disappointed but then again, you get what you pay for. I'm a solo female traveler and booked this hotel because of its central location in town. It felt much more like a hostel than a moderately priced hotel. The rooms were very sparse and worn out looking. There's a sign in the room that says they change the sheets and towels daily but my sheets had the same stains the entire time I stayed there and those stains were there when I got there! Breakfast was very basic, but I guess that's what you get for a hotel that includes breakfast in the price. I wished I had splurged a little and spent my 2 nights in La Fortuna at a nicer place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkalai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Right outside your window you can see the volcano. The hotel is on a busy street which can get a lil loud but not to the point where it bothers you. The staff was really helpful. Mercedes really helped me with my transportation issue. Everyone is nice and the breakfast was great. Most definitely will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMIKASHANAY562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I spent four nights at Hotel La Fortuna in June 2013. This was my first trip to Costa Rica, so my travel agent chose this hotel for me, and it was a great choice. I'm a solo budget traveler who likes hotels where I can walk everywhere, and Hotel La Fortuna fit that bill. I had a "volcano view" room on the 4th floor, and I really enjoyed seeing the volcano (when it wasn't covered in clouds). The two front desk staff (a young man and young woman) were both very friendly and spoke great English. When the A/C in my first room wasn't working, they quickly moved me to another room. And that A/C was amazing! (Got down below 70 F!) The bed was firm but not hard; I slept well. Room was non-smoking and had no smell. Lighting was decent (better with the curtains open). There were plenty of electrical outlets. TV had lots of channels. I took advantage of the in-room safe (deposit of $10 for the key). The room was ensuite with plenty of hot water (not the greatest pressure, but fine), but it was just a shower with a curtain (no tub and not much of a water barrier). Breakfast was included and served from 7-9 am; it included coffee, a glass of orange juice, a fruit plate, and a freshly-cooked plate (toast with jam and scrambled eggs). Yum! Check-out time was noon. The wifi in my room was pretty good (worked 4 of the 5 days I was there), but they also have computers for guest use in the lobby. The room key is RFID, and the room has a deadbolt. They stored my luggage from when I checked out until my taxi arrived. The man at the front desk gave me great advice: taxi to the La Fortuna waterfall (since it's up a steep hill), then either walk or taxi back. (I took a taxi there and walked back, which was fun.) There was no verbal pressure to tip, only tip jars and tip envelopes.

This is a budget hotel, though, so there were some minor negatives. The hotel doesn't have a pool or restaurant (but there are plenty of places to eat nearby; I liked Taco's Serrano and La Hormiga). The sliding glass door/window in my room wouldn't close all the way. There was no closet in my room, only a clothing bar (with provided hangers) and a few shelves. It gets light early; the curtains do close, but the room doesn't get completely dark. The stairs are not lit well (so use the elevator). The room wasn't quiet, as it's near a busy street, but the A/C was enough white noise for me.

Overall, I had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChemTeacherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here on our first night in La Fortuna after our ridiculously long bus ride. The staff here is so helpful and friendly and made us feel so at home here.

After enjoying their complimentary breakfast the next day, we made the mistake of leaving this place for a night for an all inclusive resort that was a $12 taxi ride away and $30 more expensive/night. We were so disappointed that we returned to Hotel La Fortuna for the remainder of our stay here. Having restaurants within walking distance was crucial since we didn't have a car and we ended up hanging with a few of the locals to catch a futbol game and a few drinks out while we were there.

El Salto (1.5 km mas or menos) and La Catarata (4 km) are both within walking distance from the hotel, too which make for great day trips.

We had a beautiful view of the volcano on the final day of our stay in La Fortuna as a large majority of the rooms face the volcano.

This place ROCKS. Trust.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquieleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The English speaking staff is very welcoming and friendly, ready to help with any question.
The room was very spacious, clean and simple. It had A/C, hot water all day long and a safe.
The wifi is reasonable, the 3 computers at the lobby - extremely slow.
Breakfast was basic and okay for what I needed to start my day.
The location is nice - it is in the center of La Fortuna (walking distance from anything you might need) but not on the main street, so it is relatively quiet.
If you travel alone and/or want to meet other travelers, I am not sure if this is the best place. This place has a hotel vibe and not hostel - common area is limited and not inviting. For a good hostel I would recommend Arenal Hostel Resort where my friends stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night but we had a nice clean room, cool A/C, great view of Volcan Arenal, walking distance to the bus station, and a yummy filling breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to couples, families, and groups.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VgsGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#33 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#18 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#21 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#28 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Property: Hotel La Fortuna
Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing