We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Besides our GPS not being able to find the hotel and the building itself not having a sign indicating that it is Hotel La Fortuna, the hotel itself was decent. It was in a good location, the room was clean and had basic amenities. It's nothing special, but my wife and I just used it to sleep there as were out and about during the day exploring the city and the surroundings. There is a continental breakfast included as well as free wi-fi. Overall, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alenisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    200
    70
    18
    5
See reviews for
48
167
92
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were given a room (404) with a great view of the volcano. Rooms are large and clean and have good AC but no safe. Mercedes, the staff person on duty in multiple roles spoke good English and was very helpful in arranging taxi services for us. Breakfast was not buffet style and not very good.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_and_E_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Positives for this hotel include a very friendly and helpful staff, strong internet connection (3rd floor), central location, inexpensive rate.
I might be overly critical in the 2 rating (don't like the word "poor"...), but comparing to some of the hotels we stayed at on the coast, this one is a few notches below. I think the building is just older and some upgrades may be in order, for example the tiles in the bathroom had the look of being dirty, although I'm sure they were clean. The pillows are extremely thin, but in this case the staff was great in providing us with a few extra ones for comfort. Not sure if I'm mechanically challenged, but the AC only seemed to be on or off as no matter what temp I had it set too, the unit stayed on or we turned it off. We were only there 2 nights so didn't bother having it checked, but the result was waking up in the middle of the night when it was too hot or too cold in the room. Finally, there was no safe which we had become accustomed too. We had no issues, nor did we expect to in not having the safe, but if that is something of a concern you may want to know that going in.
I would by no means discourage anyone from staying here as the service is great, just the level of comfort was a little below our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

So the room doesn't have a tub. It's a raised area with a curtain that when not closed perfectly, leaks everywhere. The light in the bathroom is incredibly dim too. Breakfast is eggs, fruit and toast. The staff was pretty helpful, particularly Manrique. He told me where I could get some good food. The rooms are pretty much strippedand the bed is like a rock. Location is key here though. The best spot to stay to be able to walk around the town instead of being resort locked up on the mountain.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deje1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel. It is clean, modern and has extremely friendly staff who are super helpful. We liked the location because it was in the city and close to shopping/dining/groceries. And the town of La Fortuna is nice to walk around in, it is small but cute.

Room Tip: The only issue we had was with the shower that has no boundary, so bathroom would flood if the showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonrisa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, as part of the G Adventures Tour. A/C was extra ($5) per night but we really needed it! Free WiFi. Hotel rooms are nice. Consistent hot water supply. This was one of the better hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uwland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, GA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in downtown La Fortuna, as we didn't have a car to get around. Location is convenient. We were a little worried about unknown hotel, but Hotel Fortune turned out to be a nice hotel and good value. Rooms are not Ritz Carlton but are nice, clean, good air conditioning, clean bathrooms, decent value. Manrique, who worked the front desk, was incredibly friendly and very helpful with advice on where to eat, how to get to Arenal park, etc. - a great asset for hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a volcano view (but note that volcano is often obscured by cloud and, at time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hrothmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#33 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Property: Hotel La Fortuna
Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing