We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect value for money”
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect value for money”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Modern hotel downtown Arenal. Clean, relatively small but sufficient room with airco. Comments from previous customers about the showers have been noted by hotel staff, and now you are warned beforehand to ensure the shower curtain is used properly. We did not have any problems after that. Great staff, very helpful also organising tours. Breakfast ok, nice fruit platter included. Two free internet terminals. Laundry just opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    222
    80
    20
    6
See reviews for
57
188
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Manrique was extremely friendly in offering vacation ideas and setting up my current plans. I could not thank him enough for his hospitality. I had no problems at all with my room (pretty standard room), nothing spectacular from the room makes it a 4 star for me. Volcano view is definitely recommended if possible. The town, while touristy, was safe and enjoyable to venture through. 20 minute drive to Arenal if you're there to see the park and volcano. Off street parking isn't secure, but available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A lot of the hotels (resorts, really) around Arenal are a long way from the town of La Fortuna, where the shops and restaurants are. This hotel is just blocks from the main streets. It's nothing fancy, but it's very clean and safe, with good service. We had a minor hiccup on check-in -- we got in very late and the receptionist forgot to let the night security guard (who spoke less English than I speak Spanish) know we'd be coming. We got it sorted out and had a fine rest of our stay. We had a volcano-view room, which I highly recommend. It also looks out over the town of La Fortuna and a cute little fruits and vegetables stand that had the BEST fresh-picked bananas.

There are four computers in the lobby for guests to use, and a bar with a super-friendly (if not super at mixing) bartender. Breakfast each morning consisted of coffee, a small plate of fresh fruit (banana, pineapple, papaya), two scrambled eggs and some toast.

No one was ever at the restaurant at night, but plenty of people had a drink and caught the night's football (soccer) game at the bar. If you're looking for luxury, stay up at the resorts nearer to Arenal and the hot springs. If you want a more authentic experience in town for a much more reasonable price, you can't beat Hotel La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a volcano-view room. This hotel would lose a lot of its charm if we hadn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SushiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We only stayed one night here but it was a nice hotel with a volcano view. The A/C ran a bit loud, but a comfortable stay nonetheless.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in a Volcano view room and the room was very clean. It is by no means luxurious but it is just what we need on a vacation, clean and comfortable! All the staff are friendly and helpful. There is one afternoon we got back early from a morning excursion and the front desk went through all the options around the area with us because we wanted to do more in the afternoon. She even called the taxi to pick us up!

I also enjoyed the breakfast in the lobby, with an open view to the town and the distant volcano. It is also located in the town of La Fortuna so you can stroll to town easily and chill out there. When we went, there is a happy hour at the hotel bar from 4-7pm. We went, had great drinks and the fried yuca is a must try!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Mercedes at the front desk is an angel. She helped us plan out our entire stay not just in Arenal but in Costa Rica generally. Her mind is a mental rolodex of all the hot spots, discounts, and best reviewed tours. We got a volcano view room, three people (in 2 beds) for an unbelievable $79/night (breakfast included). We loved it so much, we ended up staying an extra night and day! This was all we could have asked for. Thanks Mercedes!
La Fortuna is a block away from all the popular restaurants as well.
Wifi works very well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor with a volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aasem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed there several nights in Dec '11. The staff was very friendly, and the room was clean. They were very helpful in arranging tours around Arenal.

The location is right in La Fortuna, a quiet Costa Rican town. You can walk around to shop for souvenirs, eat, and visit the small cathedral. Even though it rained heavily during my time there, the view of the Arenal Volcano from the room window was impressive. Also, there was a laundry right across the street if you need your clothes cleaned.

There were only two small downsides. I would've liked a safe in the room (to put passport, laptop, etc). Second, Wi-Fi connection in the room was weak, so I had to go to the lobby to surf.

Overall, I was happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Property: Hotel La Fortuna
Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing