We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Tabacon Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Arenal 1968 Park Hiking Tour with Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Went with my partner and best friend. We went at night for the 6-10pm pass and I think as a result we missed out on a lot of what makes this place great. It was quite a drive from the town and for a while we were worried we might have missed it. It was nice but I feel not really worth the price, that being said we were beyond exhausted and likely should have gone when we had more energy so that we could fully enjoy it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jgarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Jgarvie

We appreciate your review, we are glad you decided to visit our completely natural resort to enjoy the hot springs. We offer several Day Pass options where our guests are able to enjoy our natural location in the heart of the rainforest with Full Day Pass options or Night options as you mentioned. We recommend to visit during the day to explore and enjoy the rainforest views, gardens and tropical flowers and then extend your visit until night when the steam and lighting creates a magical ambience. We look forward to your next visit in order to guide you to a peaceful and relaxing experience.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,411
    812
    263
    77
    46
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's expensive, but it's totally worth it”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Several friends told us "you HAVE to visit Tabacon", including one Costa Rican. Admission is $60 per person so we were on the fence, but we decided to do it, and we're glad we did. This place is amazing.

All that water you see in the photos, it's all warm mountain water. That includes the pools and the rivers/waterfalls. The landscaping is out of the movies. There are so many hidden pools and alcoves to explore (make sure to arrive before sunset to really see it all). Plus it's just relaxing to sit under a hot waterfall. It's like a "free" massage.

We ended up visiting two different hot spring resorts on our trip: Tabacon and Los Lagos (the latter because we got free admission after doing a zipline tour). Tabacon is waaaaay nicer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShahafAbileah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear ShahafAbileah

We really appreciate your comments. We are glad you had a marvelous visit at our thermal resort. Tabacon river emerges naturally from the majestic Arenal Volcano and this create a natural and unique ambience for total relaxation. We are extremely happy that you decided to visit Tabacon and we appreciate your preference. We would love to receive you as our guest at the hotel in a near future, please notice that the entrance to the thermal area is included in your room rate, so it is a good deal considering you save $ 60 per person per day.. We look forward for your next visit!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always a favorite - always great ”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful day at Tabacon. Great service at the pool bar, fab good and a beautiful view -- arenal volcano. I ❤️this place.

Helpful?
Thank Awarmstrong12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sooo relaxing”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I bought the evening pass, which included dinner, and it was the perfect way to end our busy day of canyoning and hiking! I thought that the dinner buffet was good. There were a lot of Asian options the night we went (chow mein, sushi, etc), and the miniature desserts were fantastic. We loved the hot springs! I think it's important to understand that the hot springs at Tabacon are natural. I would compare it to a hot creek that runs downhill and forms pools in areas. So yes, there are slippery rocks.. so come prepared! My husband wore water shoes and I wore Tevas and we had no issues. If the natural springs aren't your thing, I believe there are some man-made pools down by the main pool (which is nice and warm as well, and has a fun water slide)... or go to any of the other man-made hot springs in the area. I personally love that the springs at Tabacon are natural! I would recommend coming at night... I would imagine the springs would be TOO hot during the day. It actually rained on us a bit but we hardly even noticed when we were in the springs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank metzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A must do experience in the Arenal area. Beautiful, tranquil setting to soak your cares away. The buffet dinner was very good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacon Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Tabacon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing