We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hot Springs ever!”

Tabacon Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$146.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano and Tabacon Hot Springs Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Tabacon Hot Springs at the base of Arenal Volcano and is a beautiful place. The jungle feel and the warm waters is a great way to spend the day. You can check out their resort by following the following link. We did not spend anytime at the hotel portion, but you should know that the hotel and the Hot Springs are in different locations. They are not far and from what I could see they have a shuttle service that takes you back and forth Check out my full review with pictures on my blog at:

http://bestofcostarica.org/2014/03/26/review-tabacon-hot-springs/

Thank prconsultant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"swim up bar"
in 318 reviews
"hot springs"
in 1,324 reviews
"day pass"
in 197 reviews
"buffet dinner"
in 182 reviews
"main pool"
in 63 reviews
"hotel guests"
in 35 reviews
"locker room"
in 46 reviews
"costa rica"
in 229 reviews
"hot pools"
in 75 reviews
"warm water"
in 55 reviews
"after a long day"
in 48 reviews
"buffet style"
in 36 reviews
"spring pools"
in 36 reviews
"arenal volcano"
in 111 reviews
"hot river"
in 32 reviews
"unique experience"
in 32 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 42 reviews
Filter

2,000 - 2,004 of 4,136 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here two nights from a recommendation from a neighbor.
The Springs and SPa were great, but we never ate here and the hotel room was
average at best.
Our room had a spot (plenty of room)for a lounge chair,to read on, and we asked why there was a bare spot?\
They stated we needed to "upgrade" if we wanted a "lounge chair".
We already were paying over $300.00/a night.
Were surprised by there response.

Would not ever stay there again.

Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Amazing place! Must check out. We went at night, $45 per person. Leave everything in the locker. Totally worth it!!!!

Thank Marija714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Jan 20, 2014 - Spent half day at the hot springs (afternoon). It was a Monday and on/off rainy day which may be why the springs were not crowded. Many times we were in the small/medium pools by ourselves. The pools range in temperature so half the fun is finding one or two that suit you. The landscaping is gorgeous and at time you cannot see the other pools - we did get lost once or twice but then we would find another pool to try. We had lunch at the swim up pool bar and enjoyed a few adult beverages. The price may seem high but then again, where else is there a place like this? Go into the experience with knowledge of costs, then relax and enjoy the hot springs! Will definitely return!

Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Sandy M

We are grateful for your comment and your visit. Our hot spring resort offer more than 20 different pools and cascades where you can find a secluded spot for total relaxation. Soak in the thermal water in a rainy day is one of the most marvelous experiences you can live at Costa Rica, the steam, the different temperatures of the natural pools and the rainforest is part of a memorable visit. We are glad you experienced the different pools and ponds. We have different Day Pass options to enjoy our hot spring resort or also you can stay at the hotel where our guests receive complimentary access to the thermal area. We are happy to know you had a pleasant experience and we look forward to welcome you again soon!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

great way to end a day of adventure in Arenal. so many pools to choose from where you can soak and relax your muscles. only downside was that it was packed and full of tourists. we like to meet the locals and avoid the crowds.

Thank BTFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear BTFleming

We are glad you got the opportunity to experience our hot spring resort at Tabacon. Our hot spring river that emerges naturally from the volcano offers a wellness experience where you are able to relax your muscles and have a wellness experience. Tabacon sits over 872 acres of private rainforest reserve and we limited the quantity of guests per day to avoid crowds, we apologize for any inconvenient you had during your visit. We look forward for your next visit!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacon Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Tabacon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing