We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's cool, but expensive.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tabacon Hot Springs

Tabacon Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano Hiking Tour with Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's cool, but expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went to the hotsprings, had dinner, and hung out. As a family with two kids, we just didn't feel that it was worth the $$$.

However, natural hotsprings are something unique and worth checking out somewhere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mukulkundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear mukulkundu

Your comments are very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed our property with your family. Tabacon has been blessed with a beautiful natural setting where the rainforest and the natural hot springs and lush gardens offer the perfect complement for a unique experience. For Day Pass visitors we offer several special deals where price depends on the services include and this varies depending on guest preferences. We hope to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,306
    786
    254
    76
    45
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!... and nice and HOT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The pictures say it all.. It's a series of MANY ponds with flowing water and it's as hot as a heated spa! The ground is sometimes paved over like a pool but mostly it's au natural with stones underfoot. I didn't mind but you have to walk carefully.
For relaxation and romance, it's top notch.
Dinner was a buffet and it was very good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Jen T

We are thankful for your comments. We are glad to hear that you experienced a memorable day at Tabacon. Our thermal springs emerge naturally from the majestic Arenal Volcano forming cascades and pools through the property and they're in a completely natural setting that's why wearing water shoes is strongly recommended. Every single night we have an international theme buffet at Ave del Paraiso Restaurant, we are glad you enjoyed the multiple choices. We hope to receive you at Tabacon as our guests in a near future!

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nighttime visit is worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Thought day pass price was way too expensive so I came in the evening and paid 45 usd. I wouldn't want to stay in the water or lounging for more than 4 hours (6pm-10pm), so it seemed like a good deal to me... And it was!!!

I came in with high expectations and I was initially disappointed. The place seemed like a bunch of pools of different sizes and that's it. But then I got into one of the waterfalls and let the water heal me and work out each one of my muscles... Oooooh it was amazing!! And the water temperature is hot enough you don't feel cold even if it's a bit chilly outside, yet not so hot you have to get out every 10-15 minutes!!

Landscape is beautiful too!

Highly recommended!!

Helpful?
1 Thank MexFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear MexFoodie

Thank you for sharing your comments! We are glad you spent a marvelous time at our resort. Tabacon offers more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades all of them with different temperature and a high mineral content, so you can find total relaxation and also as you mentioned it is a wellness experience. We are happy you got the opportunity to relax in our completely natural setting, enjoying a hot springs massage. We look forward for your next visit!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just returned from a week in Costa Rica. Our visit to Tabacon was one of the main highlights. The pools are so beautiful and you can choose the degree of heat… the higher ones being the warmest. We went in the evening and the ambiance was fantastic. I definitely recommend making this part of your trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lalaelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear lalaelaine

We are thankful for your comments and happy to know that you decided to visit Tabacon during your Costa Rican vacation. We are glad to hear that you experienced a memorable day at our natural hot springs, exploring the different pools and waterfalls, enjoying the steam and the magical ambience of our resort. We really look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxed visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel facilities and spa were absolutely incredible!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice relaxing spa visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear oljix

We really appreciate your comments. Thank you for your preference and for choosing Tabacon to spent a relaxing time at the base of Arenal Volcano. We are glad that you were able to explore our hot springs pools, ponds and cascades surrounded by nature. We look forward for your next visit!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacon Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Tabacon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing