We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most relaxed visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tabacon Hot Springs

Tabacon Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano Hiking Tour with Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxed visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel facilities and spa were absolutely incredible!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice relaxing spa visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear oljix

We really appreciate your comments. Thank you for your preference and for choosing Tabacon to spent a relaxing time at the base of Arenal Volcano. We are glad that you were able to explore our hot springs pools, ponds and cascades surrounded by nature. We look forward for your next visit!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,306
    786
    254
    76
    45
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
“Beautiful setting, but hugely overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I, decided to splurge and stay at the Tabocan while in Costa Rica. The setting is amazing, but for 300+ dollars a night, I wouldn't recommend it. Anything in the mini bar is at least 3 times the price at the store, if you go, buy booze and keep it in the min fridge. The service in the hotels restaurant is not what I expected for a 5 star hotel, that's for sure. Not to sound harsh, but they could definitely use more guidance when it comes to dealing with customers. We had the breakfast buffet and were amazed at how difficult it seemed for the staff to clear/ reset tables, and seat you in a timely manor. The beds are comfy, and the layout is cool. But for 300+ dollars you should be getting free drinks or something.

Helpful?
Thank Sagebrush85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sagebrush85

We very much appreciate your review! Tabacon´s main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guests including the natural beauty of our hot springs and our unique location at the base of Arenal Volcano in your vacation experience. Our hotel guests receive complimentary access to the hot springs during their stay. We apologize if the service at the restaurant did not met your expectations, any additional comments about your experience will be gladly appreciated, feel free to contact me directly to customerservice@tabacon.com if you would like to share additional feedback about your experience, since we take all your comments very seriously.

Best Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our Trafalgar Tour included a few hours (and dinner) here. The water was hot and incredibly relaxing. There were several different pools of varying temperature. They had full locker rooms, so changing was convenient. The buffet dinner had a wide selection, and the food was pretty good (again, with reasonable expectations). The service was just okay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoalieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear GoalieG

We really appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your Trafalgar Tour including your visit to Tabacon. Our award winning natural thermal mineral spring resort is located at the base of Arenal Volcano in the heart of the rainforest in northern region of Costa Rica. Our guests enjoy in-river pools, waterfalls and ponds all of them with different temperature and high mineral content. Every single night at Ave del Paraíso Restaurant we have an international theme buffet with different options blending the most delicious ingredients including local fare. We look forward for your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del mar, ca
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We felt this place was pretty over-rated!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

It's ridiculously over-priced. You might want to go to experience it once....but I wouldn't dream of going back. It's very touristy. No local would ever go there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dsnolan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Nice hot springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The setting of Tabacon Hot Springs is good. After 6pm, you will have a discount for the buffet and hot springs access. Food is good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank petertysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacon Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Tabacon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing