We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, a little 'fake', excellent massage”

Tabacon Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Arenal 1968 Park Hiking Tour with Hot Springs
More Info
$173.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano Hike and Tabacón Hotsprings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, a little 'fake', excellent massage”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a nice evening at Tabacon. The view was beautiful and so were the grounds. It was a little 'fake' feeling, which is unfortunate because the water flows from natural springs. Despite other readers' reviews, we really enjoyed dinner, especially the sushi and salads. We opted for a honey couples massage that was truly incredible. Two masseuses guided us along a private path into the rain forest. We were in a private bungalow and could hear so many animals while we had our massages. After, we washed off and relaxed in a gorgeous shower that was adjacent to the massage area. We were completely alone in this dim/dark area in the middle of the rainforest. Truly romantic and totally recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,482
    841
    268
    78
    46
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spa, an experienced not to be missed!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited Tabaco Thermal Spas after all long day trekking and it was great. It has a number of interesting spas, all fed by a natural thermal river, it was a great feeling, very relaxing and dissolved all our aches. Great venue, worth the price, highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orbit_NR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful natural setting”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were choosing between Tabacon (pricey, but most natural setting on the river), Baldi (most crowded), Ecotermales (cheaper and mostly locals), and just going where the locals go along the river for free (but where clothing apparently develops legs and walks away if you're not paying attention). We settled on Tabacon and were not disappointed. Paid for the full day with dinner. The food could have been better, but it was a buffet, so eat all you want if you find something you like and you're willing to be seen in a bathing suit with a distended belly!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bandito912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear bandito912

We really appreciate your review, we are glad you decided to visit our completely natural resort to enjoy the hot springs and the stunning grounds as well as the facilities. Indeed there are many places with hot springs Tabacon offers the perfect combination of temperature and minerals, we are blessed for having two different sources of the river in our property where thermal and mineral water combines offering a wellness experience. By having these rivers, the water is not chemically treated or heated so it keeps the natural properties. We look forward to receive you again as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Natural Hot Springs”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Amazing layout and natural environment. After the Aventuras Arenal hike on Arenal volcano, we journeyed to Tabacon for the hot springs experience and dinner, and both were satisfactory. First, the hot springs have been engineered to give many natural pools amongst a large river of natural hot springs flowing from the volcano. The grounds are well-tended and contain many lush greens and beautiful blooms. There is a section in the back of the hot springs reserved for adults only (18+) and the area is extremely peaceful and quiet - a nice escape. Dinner was a nice treat as well. A full buffet and various options to choose from. The Tabacon Hot Springs were a great treat for any traveler.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chardy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Chardy858

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we really appreciate it. We are glad to know you had a great time at Tabacon, we loved to hear you took some time to explore the beautiful surroundings and get total relaxation after a day of hiking. Shangri-La Gardens is a secluded area in the upper part of the property where you can live the most relaxing and romantic experience. We are glad you enjoyed your meal at Ave del Paraíso Restaurant, where every single night we have an international theme buffet. We would love to receive you again in the near future.

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

These are beautiful Hot Springs. The grounds have been growing for 50 years and it is tranquil and beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear AlexandriaVienna

We really appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our completely natural thermal mineral spring resort, where our guest are able to discover more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades for a relaxing experience. Our main philosophy is bring nature into Tabacon experience, we have several sustainable and conservation programs, our guest can also participate in our Plant a Tree program. We look forward for your next visit.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacon Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Tabacon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing