We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth!!”

Tabacon Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Arenal 1968 Park Hiking Tour with Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had only 2 hrs to spend hear and wish i had 6. The grounds are sooo beautiful and the hot springs feel so good - lean up against a waterfall and you feel like you are getting a nice massage :) A MUST see when you visit La Fortuna!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear TexasSunrise

Thank you for your review, we are blessed with a completely natural property and we are glad you had the opportunity to discover the natural beauty. We look forward to your next visit!

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,349
    800
    259
    76
    46
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A Simply Magical Experience! Do Not Miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is our third visit to the Tabacon Hot Springs and no one visiting Costa Rica should miss this place!
Definitely the best and most beautiful of all the hot springs in this country!
The description "magical" is an understatement.
Tropical bliss to the extreme!
Facility is impeccably maintained and the landscaping design needs to be seen to believe it!
The spa is one of the most unique places of its kind in the world and highly recommended.
Stay at the beautiful Tabacon Hotel next door and you have unlimited access to the springs.
Check out the room/spa combo specials of the hotel!
For day trippers, get there early and stay the entire day!
We are hooked for good and you will be too...!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Troopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Travel - Troopers

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant time you enjoyed during your stay with us. Tabacon is meant to be an experience to be cherished and remembered, that is why we focus our efforts to exceed all our guest expectations. As you mentioned all our hotel guest have free access to our natural hot springs resort, so you can experience the relaxing hot springs all day long. Additionally, for adventurous people La Fortuna de San Carlos is a beautiful town with lots of attractions, our concierge is always at your service to arrange outdoors tours offering private transportation and prefer service during the tours. The spa is amazing where all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows in the middle of the forest. We appreciate for your preference and look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabaneta, Colombia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I went to Tabacon for a week-end staying 1 night at the hotel. The hotel was really quiet and well maintained. The breakfast was very diversified with everything looking good making it hard to decide what to eat. Next to the kitchen for breakfast was a great pool with thermal water. The Hot Springs are incredible. Every pools are surrounded by vegetation giving it a special look. The bar area is really nice with many beds for relaxing. All of this next to the beautiful Arenal Volcano. I definitely recomend Tabacon. Staying 1 night give you 2 days access to the hot springs which makes it a great deal.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ti-Guil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Ti-Guil,
Your comments are very much appreciated. Furthermore, our service is aimed to always be the best, guaranteeing the highest quality of service to all customers, who are our reason to be and to always enhance their experience. We are glad to know you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and the unique natural thermal mineral springs. As you mentioned, our hotel guest received free access to the hot springs during their stay as an add value. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot Pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

There's a bar at the hot springs and the food was good. I'm not sure what I was expecting but I wasn't very impressed with the hot springs. It just seemed like a pool where the water was a little hotter than normal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Lisa H

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were not impressed with our hot springs. Tabacon offers more than 20 different natural pools, waterfalls and ponds with different ambiences, so our guests are able to decide if they stay in a tranquil pool or enjoy a natural massage in our main waterfall, what makes Tabacon unique is the perfect combination of volume, temperature and mineral content (low sulfur content to prevent strong odors) that is present in our thermal spring river. Hot springs are considered a natural expression of Earth's inherent energy. Geologically, Tabacon Resort's thermal natural springs are 97% rain-based and 3% magma-based. Rainwater enters the earth through fissures on the surface and is then heated by magma found in the earth's core. Once heated, the waters rise to surface, taking with them minerals found in the earth's rocky stratus so this provides a healing and relaxing experience to our guest. In case you would like to share any additional feedback please contact us at customerservice@tabacon.com, since our aim is to offer a memorable experience your comments will be very much appreciated.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived at Tabacon Hot Springs in the late afternoon. We had booked the springs plus buffet dinner through our tour agency so were not aware of the total price we were paying. We did enjoy walking around the lush pathways and popping into the different pools. The water was hot enough and the waterfalls were nice to view. The largest waterfall has a bench which you can climb under. Yes, there were many people enjoying the springs but you could find pool areas where there were only one or two people when we were there. Some areas even had curtained beds where you could nap. Around 6:00 pm we changed and went to our buffet dinner. We thought the selection was large and quite good. That night they had a Mediterranean selection which we usually enjoy. However, we purchased two very small glasses of nothing special wine for $22. When I checked the price for this attraction, I realized how overpriced it really was. We are not spa/hot springs enthusiasts but felt that this was the big tourist attraction for the area so we're glad we did it. However, it is getting to be an old attraction.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Ida M
Your comments are very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed our property, our aim is to provide world-class service to our beloved guests, and our staff is always happy to serve you. Tabacon is bless with a beautiful natural setting where the rainforest and the natural hot springs and lush gardens offer the perfect complement for a unique experience. For Day Pass visitors we offer several special deals where prize depends on the services include and this varies depending on guest preferences.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacon Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Tabacon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing