We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healing Waters”

Tabacon Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Arenal 1968 Park Hiking Tour with Hot Springs
More Info
$173.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano Hike and Tabacón Hotsprings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Healing Waters”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went for one night on a pass from our other hotel. We had dinner, which was a buffet. Good, but not remarkable. The hot springs were a highlight for us. They are beautiful, romantic, and we felt so relaxed by the end of the night. I'm glad we weren't staying there because it was so busy near the hotel, but we're very glad we were able to visit the hot springs. If we would have had more time we would have gone back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,444
    821
    265
    77
    46
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome hot springs”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The gardens around the hot springs are the most beautiful in all of Costa Rica. The water is flowing hot water right from the Arenal volcano. The bartender at the swim up bar speaks english and serves drinks with a smile. The spa services are great too! The lockeroom was clean and safe. We have visited several times and hope to go back next month.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CathyTheCostaRicaPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome hot springs pools”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a 3 hour night pass to the pool areas and then an all you can eat buffet dinner. The pools are breathtaking. It is unfortunate that the lighting is so poor but otherwise everything else was amazing. It's very romantic. The food was great and the bathrooms were very clean and spacious. We plan to go and visit again and stay at least two evenings. It's a must see!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cccristy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful, romantic and unique”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

we went on a shore excursion on a cruise so didn't get to enjoy all the day but it is outstanding. The gardens and grounds are beautiful. The pools and falls are so relaxing and warm. Great romantic setting. Had the buffet lunch and it was excellent, lots of choices and all delicious. Best coffee I have ever had.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasGunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hot springs, but poorly lit and poorly signed”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hot springs were fabulous when we could figure out how to get into the pools. Our pass allowed a limited amount of time (3 hours) for dinner and the hot springs. We wasted too much time trying to find a less crowded, more private pool. We could see these empty pools, but could not figure out how to get in them. The path was very poorly signed and very dark at night. As best we could tell, only 3-4 pools were actually opened to us. The dinner was a fine buffet - wide variety, definitely all you can eat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacon Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Tabacon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing