We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Spring”

Tabacon Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Arenal 1968 Park Hiking Tour with Hot Springs
More Info
$173.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano Hike and Tabacón Hotsprings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot Spring”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great place, well maintained. Apt for families.All the amenities are clean. Locker are provided for personal storage.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajayky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,443
    821
    265
    77
    46
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ooo Ahhhhhhh...”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Luscious living seems all too simple at Tabacon. Many streams, pools, and falls of clean, natural spring water at varied temperatures make it easy to find the ideal place to relax (even with some privacy). The swim-up bar may be the first thing you see, but you will find that it is the cherry-on-top. The price is well worthwhile; the only challenge is leaving.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Poet_Physicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a relaxing experience, but food could use improvement”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the area. We went one afternoon and ended up staying through the evening. We walked around the facility getting familiar with the different areas. Once you understand the hot pools vs. the cool ones, it's great to go back and forth. They do have an over-18 area, but we didn't see that many kids there and the ones we saw were over in the main pool on the slide (don't miss that). At night, the area is dark and you have to watch your footing, but it's a very romantic setting.

Our passes allowed us to spend a second day there, which we took full advantage of. Personally, I like the daytime experience because you can truly enjoy the beauty of the plants and trees.

I also like that they provide towels that you can easily exchange for fresh ones. Lockers are available for a refundable deposit. Facilities are nice with showers and there is a swimsuit "dryer" in the bathroom.

We did purchase the buffet dinner, which was quite a disappointment considering everything else at Tabacon is top-notch. Tough, tasteless entrees and dessert wasn't much better. The service was inferior - we had to track down the server just to get refills on water and also to get our bill (which was another 15 minute wait).

Make sure you stay well hydrated while you are there. The hot water can dehydrate you quickly -- we learned our lesson the first night.

We had a great time and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LindyLou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Came here at the end of November 2012. I bought all day package $85 w/ lunch included. You have to pay more for 2 meals. They have lower price just for 10 am - 2 pm & you have to leave by 2 pm or 6 pm - 10pm. I was planning to spend about 3 hours at this place but ended up staying almost 7 hours! Make sure you call/make a reservation before coming to this place. No need to bring towel bcs they provide towel, locker, shower. Very beautiful garden, great hot springs. Place got crowded in the evening. I will return to Costa Rica just for this hot springs!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank suntergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spectacular experience of visiting this place”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I had a blast at this place. It's pricey, but is definitely worth the money. I have never been to such a unique hot spring place. You will see beautiful plants, trees in the garden and is able to immerse yourself in the water, in the nature.

I give it a five-star and would strongly recommend anyone loves nature and water to check it out!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Xinyue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacon Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Tabacon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing