We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet location.”
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Apalachicola, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great quiet location.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed one night to experience the zip lines in Arenal. Great location, walkable to town for drinks and dinner. Typical CR breakfast in the morning with unlimited CR coffee. Love the coffee! Hot tub and pool were clean and well maintained. The 2 kids at the front desk tried their best to answer any questions we had about the area. Unfortunately the volcano was covered in fog for our stay. Definitely would stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    279
    67
    15
    8
See reviews for
118
237
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had a great experience with San Bosco. It was my first time travelling alone, and I never felt unsafe. The staff was extraordinarily nice and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, the rooms were clean, and the pool and hot tub were perfect. It also had a fantastic view of the Arenal volcano.

The location was perfect, it was just down the street from the town center. I would highly recommend it, you definitely get more than I had expected for the price.

Pura vida!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scharbeutz, Germany
Level Contributor
148 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

During our recent tour of Costa Rica my wife, two friends and I spent two nights at this hotel. The San Bosco is ideally located within a short 5 minute walk of La Fortunas center. and shopping district and offers a great view of the Arenal volcano provided the volcano is not covered by clouds which often appears to be the case. The rooms with comfortable beds and private shower baths are small and simply decorated. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel also features free internet and a pool. Right across from the hotel is a laundry which washed and dried our clothes within four hours.

While in La Fortuna we did the Hanging Bridges Tour "Puentes Colgantes" but neither saw much wildlife nor many birds. In order to cross the bridges and several steep slopes comfortable walking shoes are a must as the trails are often very hard to walk on.

Our most impressive tour in the La Fortuna area was an afternoon and evening visit of the Tabacon Thermal Baths "Tabacon Hot Springs" including a wonderful dinner buffet which we highly recommend. Since the whole tour including the buffet is expensive anyway make sure that you book an afternoon and evening tour rather than only the evening and buffet tour. By not spending the afternoon in the luscious gardens and the various pools and hot springs you would miss the spectacular scenery and the opportunity to take pictures. Instead after around 5 pm you would probably flee the pools unless you prefer to be eaten alive by the plentiful moskitos waiting for you at the springs or the pool bar by waiting for your US $ 11 cocktail.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans-Juergen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Quesada, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced Nice. Good base for Fortuna area activities without paying for resort. No hot springs onsite but jacuzzi is unusually hot for a hotel and pool is crystal clear and cool. Friendly attentive staff. Breakfast included was typical. Better than most.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Close to downtown and good restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. (however the hotel is located in a neighborhood and is very noisy from barking dogs and traffic) This place is OK if you are not looking for anything fancy and never plan to be in the room. Lighting is horrible and beds lumpy. Ceilings were moldy and furniture/decor was outdated and sparse.There was a fire the night we got there in a maintenance area and we were evacuated and had to stand outside for hours. If you plan on never being in the room and using hotel as a base for outdoor adventures, then stay here. Luckily, they have a nice pool area with a great hot tub that offers escape from the dingy rooms and a way to soothe tired, aching muscles. There is a laundromat across the street that will do your laundry for very cheap.
Breakfast was OK but there are better places in town to eat (Gecko cafe and LAVA LOUNGE)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

San Bosco is one of the better options in La Fortuna if you're trying to save some money for the outdoor activities. The hotel is conveniently located and it's a one block jaunt to get to the main square. The service is outstanding and everyone we spoke to was friendly, helpful and proactive. The breakfast is basic and consists of toast, eggs, beans and some fruit. There is also coffee and juice.

Our room was very basic and consisted of three double beds, a TV, bathroom and a window. Everything here is clean and well cared for, but the property lacks personality and charm. In many ways, it felt like a high end hostel to me.

The pool is well cared for and looks like a nice place to spend some time if it's hot when you're there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4motion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I got a really good price on this hotel and was a bit skeptical about it based on how cheap it was but I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The rooms were clean, the staff was unobtrusive but very friendly and the pool area was nice although we didn't spend much time there other than breakfast (which was very good by the way). The best part about this hotel is its location, it is within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and grocery stores and we felt very safe at all times (even during an 11PM beer run to the local supermarket). The hot spring resorts are about 7-10 minutes away by car and great to spend the day at but I will definitely stay at the San Bosco Inn again the next time I visit Arenal (which I hope is very soon!!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,821 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,437 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
553 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,283 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Property: San Bosco Inn
Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing