We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Arenal”
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Arenal”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I got a really good price on this hotel and was a bit skeptical about it based on how cheap it was but I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The rooms were clean, the staff was unobtrusive but very friendly and the pool area was nice although we didn't spend much time there other than breakfast (which was very good by the way). The best part about this hotel is its location, it is within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and grocery stores and we felt very safe at all times (even during an 11PM beer run to the local supermarket). The hot spring resorts are about 7-10 minutes away by car and great to spend the day at but I will definitely stay at the San Bosco Inn again the next time I visit Arenal (which I hope is very soon!!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    276
    66
    15
    8
See reviews for
117
232
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The location of this place is great, one street away from the main road with shops and restaurants. The staff was wonderful! The breakfast was great. The room was comfortable and even thou it had two smaller beds- it worked perfectly for us during the weekend nights out. Having the pool and hot tub was great! After the breakfast we'd sit at the table upstairs and enjoy the view of the Arenal volcano. Lovely place!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marija714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this conveniently located hotel in LaFortuna and were very pleased with the location and cleanliness of the hotel. The room was basic, but absolutely spotless and the grounds were well maintained. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and willing to work to book tours and answer questions. The pool and hot tub were appealing and you could see the volcano sitting in the pool chairs. The hotel is wonderfully located and you can easily walk all over La Fortuna. Overall, a good bang for your buck!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlo678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We booked this hotel because of its central location. It is on a quiet road and only one block from the centre with access to many restaurants and shops. The rooms are simple but very clean with air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast of eggs, fruit, rice ,toast fruit juice and coffee is a very good quality and gives a good start to the day in a lovely setting. The pool is an additional bonus and is sparklingly clean. Wonderful after a long walk up a volcano. The young staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Well placed with clean rooms, a lovely pool and Jacuzzi, The laundry opposite was a life saver after the humidity of Tortuguero and we were able to get our smelly clothes washed and dried in 2 hours! They also cleaned our filthy muddy boots after a particularly gruelling hike. The breakfast was adequate but not brilliant, the staff helpful and friendly. Wifi by the reception with coffee available close by, Nice atmosphere and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Centrally located within easy walking distance of the town (bank, restaurants, bars and shops).

Bedrooms clean and comfortable. Adequate if not startling self service breakfast with fruit scrambled eggs, rice / beans etc.

It felt like a safe area anyway but the gated area at night added to this feeling of security. A pool with jacuzzi was an added and unexpected bonus for this range of hotel. Good views of the volcano in the distance.

A launderette is conveniently sited on the opposite side of the road so a good opportunity to refresh your clothes if like me you are touring around. Happy to recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 days at Hotel San Bosco. Not sure of the price as it was included in a package deal. The room was very clean. Not very big, but we were only in the room to sleep so no worries there. The pool and hot tub were very nice, and we found the breakfast quite good. The location was fantastic....we walked around quite a bit in our 2 days and saw a lot of La Fortuna! The staff were very helpful and polite. We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morevacations39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Property: San Bosco Inn
Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing