We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

stayed here 3 nights in January.
pros:
Great location, walking distance to all the restaurants.
Pool and hottub
breakfast- typical costa rican cuisine plus fresh juices
a/c

cons:
beds are not comfortable (though most are not in costa rica)
a few ants in the bathroom

tip: don't book excursions from the hotel, its way cheaper to book in town at one of the vendor booths, you can also haggle prices to save money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    273
    66
    15
    8
See reviews for
119
226
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very well located and good amenities, rooms are clean and nice staff is great and they made us feel welcomed the only thing was that we wanted to stay an extra night but they couldn't follow up with us and explore the options. Besides that I totally recommend this place if you look for an adventure in Costa Rica.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfredo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Clean, private and serves a nice breakfast. Walking distance to most of the downtown area and fun to just hang around enjoying the pool and hot tub. We all agreed we would love to visit San Bosco again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for several days. The staff is super helpful and friendly. We asked to switch rooms during our stay and they accommodated us almost instantaneously. Breakfast by the pool is a lovely way to start your day, and the hot tubs at night are great for relaxing after long tours. The office staff is wonderful and are super knowledgeable about the tours and are more than willing to take the time to explain and help you plan out your stay. They have great recommendations for restaurants and local bars. The upstairs patio has a great view of the volcano. Its within walking distance to all local shops, restaurants, etc. Rooms are clean, showers are great, & the A/C is wonderful. All in all a fantastic place & value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celizcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights. The location is very good as it is close to the main parts of town and local restaurants. Went to the Lava Lounge for dinner, had excellent food. The rooms were very clean and the property overall was very nice. The only problem was that you could not flush any toilet paper down the toilet because the plumbing was not very good. this caused some problems. As well the breakfast only consisted of some fruit and toast. but an excellent view of the Volcano from this hotel. The front desk staff was also very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel San Bosco offers basic, clean rooms, well-groomed grounds, excellent pool and jacuzzis, very good service with smiles, and very good overall value. It is located in a semi-residential area just a block from the beautiful park and numerous restaurants and souvenir shops of La Fortuna. A great plus is the unimpeded view of the Arenal Volcano.

The reasonable rate includes breakast and WiFi. Coffee is available at all times. The only drawback is the absence of a bar for onsite or poolside beverages. Ironically, the only source of onsite food is an adjacent sushi bar that offers surprisingly fresh sushi.

The location is great if you don't have a car and don't want to take cabs to get around town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We could walk to restaurants and shops, there is a view of the volcano from the roof terrace, very helpful staff, booked our excursions for us. We highly recommend the canyoning/rappelling down the waterfall, highlight of our Costa Rican Trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetwaterfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Property: San Bosco Inn
Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing