We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet retreat”
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 23, 2013

One of the excursion companies in town suggested this spot, which is located right in la fortuna. We enjoyed our three day stay here very much. The staff was very helpful, the room nice and clean, and the breakfast was great!

Room Tip: If youbwant a nice, quiet, clean room with a very helpful staff, this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mljones5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 666 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Traveling from the US, we expect a certain level of service and amenities. Hotel San Bosco is GREAT. Staff is knowledgeable and tentative. The facility is clean and well maintained. Breakfast besides the pool is tranquil and tropical.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatelDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are simple but have everything you need. The breakfast was good, with a wonderful view of the volcano. They have a viewing platform as well. The pool, jacuzzi area is nice and clean. The key thing for us was the price, and the service, both excellent. I would stay their again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seeralon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff noticed the size of our party and booked us in the "family suites", which one of the rooms had an extra bed. This worked perfectly for us!

The hotel is one block from the town square and easy access to almost anything in Fortuna. The staff is friendly and accomodating, they even spotted me $2 for a water while until the next day. The rooms aren't huge, but they are clean and our two rooms easily fit our party of 7. The grounds were nicely manacured and the pool/hot tub was great after our days of adventuring.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I recommend it to anyone that is traveling to/through Fortuna and will gladly stay here again if I make my way back to CR.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quota10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Downtown, but at the same time with nice garden. Clean, pool, excellent service, really good breakfast and helpful staff. You can,t find it better! All trips to all the different adventures goes out from Fortuna. Many restaurants

Room Tip: Rooms at second floor with nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tore52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Friendly staff...nice pool...pretty gardens...yummy gallo pinto for breakfast!

San Bosco might not be the closest to the volcano and not every room has a direct view, but this was a very pleasant stay. Just a block from the park, it was an easy walk to sightsee before my hiking trip.

While I did not use the hotel to book tours, they did have a nice selection of options to book once I arrived.

If you are looking for a moderately priced hotel in La Fortuna, San Bosco is it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraKateMelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is located in a nice area, close to "downtown". The staff is very friendly and very helpful in locating sight seeing places, restaurant, etc. The facility is little old but clean. The pool is very nice along with the hot tub.

The hotel is not as good as a 4-star resort but I recommend to anyone looking for a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganPerson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,080 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
165 reviews
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $48 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing