We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rafting "adventure" may not reflect quality of company” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Rafting "adventure" may not reflect quality of company”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our hotel desk clerk probably over-sold description of this "adventure" in rafting. After a short ride to the river from La Fortuna, we waited around until the rafts were unloaded then inflated. We were given a short "how-to" then pushed off. The guide sat in the back, telling us when, how (hard/easy) and where (right/left) to row Since the water was really low, we did a lot of slow drifting. I wasn't like Huckleberry Finn on the Mississippi, but it was relaxing. So for the first 30 minutes or so, I rather enjoyed this "non-adventure." The real adventure began when we hit a branch and ripped the side of the raft. We started to take on water immediately. Luckily the raft has separate air chambers, so we weren't going to do the Titanic thing. But we were asked if we could swim (along side possible reptiles) and to throw our oars as close to shore as possible.
Our guide jumped in the river, pulled us to shore with no one hurt. BUT cameras, leather carrying cases, etc. were damaged. Our guide did well, except for destroying the raft, that is. We waited until another raft came by, unloaded several people into their raft and continued on.
Luckily, there wasn't much more of the river we could navigate, so that part of the tour was over.
We were given soft drinks, fruit while the crew deflated and loaded the rafts onto the van. We then took a short ride to a outdoor, casual restaurant where we had a nice, informal dinner. So: no mention about any refund for damaged goods or inconvenience. Bottom line: raft/river time about 1 - 1 1/2 hours, some birds along the way (also a sloth), not much to see. Fun part- stories I'll get to embellish about almost drowning in croc infested waters. Worth $45-$50? You be the judge

Helpful?
3 Thank LeeB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    244
    59
    13
    7
See reviews for
104
197
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed there from March 4 till March 8.When I reserved my room by phone the male concierge wich I cant remember his name recomended me that because I was going with my girlfriend that I booked the double room and NOT the single one(78 USD instead the 58 USD).
Upon my arrival I discovered that he gave me a single one for more price .After I complaint he said that Nothing he cant do cause I misunderstand him even that WE had spoke in Spanish wich is my first language like him.The girl next to him was more sincere and told me that they were so full that nothing they can do.
I understood that NOT discount was available even that I arrived late on the 4th .Almost at 1000pm because the 6 hours drive from San Jose due to heavy rain.
Upset and stuck(all the good hotels in town were full) I decided it to take it.
Next day however thay accept their mistake and gave me a bigger room.
Breakfast is exelent and the housekeeping crew and breakfast people were exelent and nice.
Being most of my life in the States I tip everybody every day and U can see the diference.Hotel was full of Europeans and Argentinians wich they DONT tip at all.
Rude French people and Russians arrive second day..
On Tuesday morning I try to use the Jacuzzi before 1000 am and I was denied even that a previous employee started for me.They explained me that because Breakfast is served till 1000 am even that Nobody was having breakfast.Finally they allowed me to use the Jacuzzy.
Jacuzzy is wonderfull.Very Hot and nice the way I loved it .Nothing else I couldnt DO due to the heavy rain.
I enter the town with bad luck.I arrived on Monday 4th at 1000pm and I left town thursday 7th 800am..NON STOP RAINING.Pouring some times.Going out with taxis to lunch and dinner.Couldnt even see the Arenal Vocano.Nothing to do but swimming in the pool and be inside Jacuzzi.
Be carefull.Upon my arrival I was told by locals that was raining like that since previous Friday and When I calling on the phone from the states into all hotels in LA FORTUNA ,all employees were telling me that Weather was wonderfull and dry.
They lie about the Weather so Guest dont cancel the reservations before they arrived.
This Weather was weird because March is mostly dry in LA FORTUNA.I guess Weather all over changed now.
Bottom line is Weather in LA FORTUNA is impredictible..
Because the rain power went out Wed night for a couple hours.Imagine the hight humidity and NO air conditioning....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metalcuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Well placed in town - walk to everything - friendly staff and clean, but not luxurious rooms that are a bit older but appear to be kept up. Good breakfast, property is in view of town square and the volcano. We enjoyed the hot tub in the cool evenings.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was a bit noisy due to breakfast preparation; maybe a second floor room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiANDJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel San Bosco is just a short block from the main town square in La Fortuna. Literally a two minute walk to the heart of the city. Once on the grounds the noise of the the traffic fades completely. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful grounds. Clean rooms. The beds were too soft for my taste. The viewing deck has a great view of the Arenal volcano.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vliesik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is very close to town (one block off main square), making restaurant selection easy, and it's fun to sit in the town square and watch residents and travelers spending the evening, yet that one block makes the hotel quiet and serene. Our room was modest but adequate, clean, the pool was spotless and there is a viewing deck of the volcano. Tour shops are close and hotel pick-up for tours is simple. Breakfast was also good, and we liked having free wi-fi. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Good value for the money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wegwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Located centrally in town off the main traffic route. It's a two story walk up hotel with no elevator. Service was excellent and having coffee/tea available 24/7 was a nice touch. Breakfast & WiFi included. Pool was clean and not highly chlorinated. Lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Being a tourist town, English is widely spoken. Don't expect a lot for this price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jobstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a great experience at Hotel San Bosco. It was clean, inexpensive, and had quite an amazing view of the Arenal Volcano. Breakfast by the pool was basic, but was good and filling. The hot tub was nice to kick back in after all the hiking and exploring we had already done. Liked that it was off the main strip, but within walking distance to everything in town. Booked a kayaking tour on Lake Arenal with Jacamar Naturalist Tours. Can't say enough good things about the tour company and our guide, Edwin. The front desk arranged a taxi for us when we decided to splurge on our last night and do the touristy Baldi Hot Springs. Glad we experienced it, it was a nice relaxing way to spend our last night in the area.

Room Tip: They all seemed similar.. second floor has a better view of the volcano and a little hang out area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Property: San Bosco Inn
Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing