We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice pool, clean rooms.”
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Located one street back from the main downtown made it quiet at night, but close to all restaurants, tour offices, and the main bus stop. Pool and hot tub were cleaned daily. We came home each day to find awesome towel art.

Front desk booked us a full day tour through Desafio, fantastic. The free wifi worked well at our room and by the pool. Theres an included breakfast buffet which wasn't very extravagant but did the trick each morning. (Would be nice if it was open until 10 instead of 9, one morning there were no tables at 8:15 so we came back at 8:45 to find a table but buffet was almost empty)

They close the main gate around 10pm, there is a guard that watches the property all night. Always felt safe. I wouldn't think twice about staying here again. Nice place that doesn't break the bank.

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom floor. Room had a double and single bed. Ice machine is behind the main offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veeps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 653 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

A decent hotel 100 metres from the town centre. Small clean swimming pool, breakfast outside next to the pool, shade available. Choice at breakfast a bit limited but overall quality and service was ok. Although several kilometres from the volcano it looks as though you could touch it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour group. The location is ideal - easy walk into the square (town). The room I shared was huge - 2 of us had 4 beds to choose from. A/c, tv, towels provided, good sized bathroom with hot water. Safe is with reception - used and recommend. Hotel has cctv & at night a security gate is put across. Hotel has free WiFi. The pool looked inviting (I didn't use, but others in tour did and enjoyed it). Staff friendly and welcoming. Coffee available all day. The breakfast was fine - rice& beans, eggs, fruit, hot drinks - although out of all the other hotels we stayed at, this was probably not the best b'fast, but it didn't stop me having full plates each morning. ( As I was here as a tour group, I can't say if value for money as I dont' know how much we paid... that said, it was a safe, clean hotel, within easy walk to shops and restaurants, and view of Volcan Arenal. A good safe choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worlddelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Although food and drinks are crazy expensive for central america, the lodging is a great deal. Splurge a little if you're on a budget. This was under $60 for a double bed. The pool and jacuzzi are a great perk. The breakfast was pretty awesome and filling, free coffee all day, and to top it off, there's a 3rd story viewing platform for photos of the volcano that won't show the electrical wires. That's if the clouds ever go away....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights during our tour in the Arenal area. The tour company had booked this hotel. Our experience matches in large part the experience of other commentators in this blog. Our room was large, with two queen beds. The bathroom was fine. The room was very clean and well maintained. It was dark though. We had a view of another wall and there was no sitting area in the room. WiFi is free but restricted to the pool area. Staff was very friendly and helpful with our questions. For example they allowed us to use their phone to call Canada with a calling card. The biggest complaint is the breakfast. Our first morning featured cold scrambled eggs, cold coffee and cold rice and beans. The second morning the food and coffee were hotter. Not sure though what made the difference. Cold breakfast food is not acceptable. Heating the food trays would ensure a more palatable breakfast.

The strongest point for the hotel is its location – minutes from the town centre. Very nice for walkers to have access to stores, restaurants and bars. There are much nicer hotels on the way to the volcano but without a car are inaccessible. So the Bosco is probably the reasonable choice for those without private transportation. Breakfast aside and the very poor view, this hotel is fine – clean, nice and helpful staff and great location

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Two pools and a Jacuzzi makes this place do add to quality of this hotel. Have your breakfast and dive into one of the pools, making literally only 2 steps from the hotel restaurant. Breakfast isn't bad, there's some choice there. The hotel is gated and the main office is in front by the gate. There's WiFi and two computers in the office. Don't plan on washing you garments there since there's no guest laundry, and the nearest laundromat is 2 blocks away. And it's being humid there, it takes a while for things to dry. Rooms are ok, with TVs and an average restroom/shower room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aronuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were all in all disappointed with our visit to La Fortuna. It seems like a big tourist trap.
Also the Hotel San Bosco failed to impress us. The hotel itself is OK, central location and the staff is polite. But rooms are very small. And the breakfast is really not good. Mainly scrambled eggs and "Gallo Pinto" (rice and beans). We saw small birds eating of the serving spoons - does not help appetite...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerok72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,371 reviews
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
837 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $36 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing