We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Basic similar to a youth hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bridgewater MA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Basic similar to a youth hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked this hotel because I was on a budget. It was very inexpensive. That being said you get what you pay for. La Fortuna did not have anything to peak my interest no nightlife whatsoever so I would have rather spent $50.00 dollars on the resort hotel I spent my first night in. It did have the internet and they were able to accquire a hairdryer and the staff was nice. The breakfast was ok actually there were flies everywhere and the room was similar to that of a monastery. This hotel on the food chain would make a Super 8 seem like the Ritz. It is basic and only suited for the traveler that doesn't require any ammenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katlat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    245
    60
    13
    7
See reviews for
105
199
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst passing through La Fortuna and it was nice and comfy with clean rooms and hot showers. We cycled around Lake Arenal and visited the Ecothermales Spa for dinner. All very nice. Breakfast at the hotel wasn't great. Pools and hottubs are a nice edition. Overall a nice place but not luxurious.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

good point: location. hotel san bosco is a short walk from all the restaurants, stores, etc., and at the same time, it doesn't get noisy.
everything else was just ok, or less. the room was VERY small and there was no closet space at all, not even a little cabinet (even that wouldn't fit in the room...). it was also poorly iluminated and a little claustrophobic.
the breakfast is below average. plus they serve margerine instead of butter, which is kinda depressing in terms of a regular breakfast (never seen that, even in lower budget places...).
anyways, if you can't spend more on hotel rates (like I coundn't), it's worth staying at, since you'll probably be gone most of the day. but be prepared...

Room Tip: probably the upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmmtrippingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at San Bosco Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback!

We try to see each of them as an opportunity to excel.

Hotel San Bosco, is a hotel located in the center of La Fortuna, and our proposal is to provide the customer with a clean and safe lodging, with most basic services, and in turn, privacy.

It is clear that to be located in the center of La Fortuna, part of our proposal is to provide an option, economically.

With your feedback, we will strive to provide better service every day.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were here for 3 nights in december 2012 and were a bit disappointed. Good points are this hotel is situated in downtown La Fortuna with everything within walking distance, and it has a pool and jacuzzi. Rooms are small and walls are thin though. Breakfast was ok at best.
The weather was really bad when we were there (cloudy/rainy all day), so we didn't get a change to check the vulcano from our hotel. Might be a better experience when the weather is better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenkyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Starting with the booking by email, my experience with the hotel was great. Diana was very helpful in arranging for us to have rooms for all of our family. The rooms were clean, and we enjoyed comparing the towel animals each day. Breakfast was good and fresh, which got us into our sightseeing days. Good location just off the main street so it wasnt too noisy. Beautiful sunset view of Arenal, especially from the small porch on the top level of the hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights when we first arrived to Costa Rica. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was included and it was a buffet typical style. The food was good and the pool was clean as well. The best thing about this hotel is the location, right in the middle of town. If you want the typical resort style lodging this isn't for you. You'd be happier up the volcano but if you want to be in the middle of it all hotel San bosco is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for a week while visiting my wife's family. We enjoyed our stay and was very satisfied with the heplfulness of the staff. Specially Natalia and Allan from the front desk and Salvadora from the breakfast buffet. Thee room we stayed in is very clean and confortable. My wife loved the cute towel animal arrangements. The location is excellent, it's near the center of La Fortuna and a lot of the shops and eateries are within walking distance. The property is very clean and grounds are well kept, the view of the volcano is a sight to see every morning. The pool and the jacuzzi is excellent for chilling out. Wi-fi in our room is adequate enough. Breakfast buffet is filling - rice and beans, eggs and fruits, could use a little bit of variety. We were given a trip to their affiliated garden hotel , The Volcano Lodge and the property is a garden paradise. We were able to use the amenities for free. Overall we are very satisfied with our stay at this hotel. Definitely will stay here again and highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#3 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#21 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Property: San Bosco Inn
Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing