We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stay at Hotel San Bosco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay at Hotel San Bosco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our group of 10 people had a very comfortable, relaxing 2 night stay at Hotel San Bosco. The rooms were basic, but very clean. We too, loved the cute towel animals left on our beds each day. The front desk staff and breakfast staff were very accommodating and friendly! The buffet style breakfast was served on the outdoor covered patio overlooking the large pool and grounds, and it offered a delicious variety of food and beverage. The grounds of the hotel were nicely manicured and spacious. The pool was the focal point, clean and refreshing! From one end of the pool there was a fantastic view of Arenal Volcano. The hotel is located 2 blocks off the main park square of the small town of La Fortuna, surrounded by shops and restaurants. We recommend Hotel San Bosco highly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building near the pool and facing out to the grounds and front of the hotel are more co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    256
    64
    15
    8
See reviews for
113
210
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I arrived unannounced at the Hotel San Bosco and was able to check in immediately. While the room is quite basic I found it to be clean and most adequate for my needs. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. When I was unable to book transit to my next destination until one day later than I had planned they allowed me to stay an extra night despite being totally booked due to a bicycle race. The view of the volcano was wonderful as was the breakfast. On the day of my departure the staff packed me a sack breakfast to take along since I left to early to enjoy the buffet. I will definitely stay here again when I return to La Fortuna in January 2013.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This place is just ok, it's very basic. The bathroom is small, I just didn't feel too comfortable being here. The walls are thin, you can hear everything going on outside. Like many mentioned before the staff is just ok, they don't go out of their way to help you like other places.
On the plus side the grounds are well kept, there's a very clean pool and spa. The breakfast is pretty good, a lady cooks you fresh eggs, rice and beans of course. The location is great, about two blocks from town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012. We enjoyed our stay, and found the room clean and comfortable. (And loved the cute towel animals!) The AC and Wifi worked very well (they also have a computer for guests to use, which was nice), and we loved having a pool and jacuzzi! Breakfast is buffet style by the pool - rice/beans, eggs, toast, cereal, coffee, and tea. The best thing about the hotel is the prime location - it's in the center of La Fortuna, near many restaurants and shops and with terrific volcano views. We thought it was an excellent value.

One note, similar to a previous reviewer - While I would recommend staying at the San Bosco, I would not recommend booking tours (hikes, rafting, ziplining, etc.) through the hotel. They have relationships with select tour groups, and they only recommend these tours. While the staff was polite, this was pretty frustrating for us, as the ziplining and hiking tours they recommended were quite expensive. Once we realized that they were only recommending certain companies, we ended up just using our guidebook/computer to research options and booked independently, saving over 25% with some great companies. Overall though, we had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schip322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room was really old and it smelled moldy. They had free internet and computers which was nice. The front desk helped out, but it didn't seem like they wanted to. The breakfast was good and the pool area looked really nice and new. Nothing special, the rooms were definitely not that nice although they did have a tv and A/C.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at San Bosco Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments,

Hotel San Bosco, is the pioneer in the hosting industry in the area of Arenal Volcano.

Hotel San Bosco was officially opened in 1986, already, 26 years of providing its clients: quality services at low cost.

We try to Hotel San Bosco be a part of a pleasant stay, while we try to keep all the history involved, in the young age of tourism in La Fortuna.

We welcome your comments and look forward to making adjustments, even to provide a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthEast Asia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at the Hotel San Bosco based on previous trip advisor reviews, and we were really happy that our experience was pleasant. The hotel is located just a little off of one of the main street in Arenal, so it was easily to just go out and walk around the town. The staff at the hotel were super friendly and helpful. They were accommodating in changing money, giving us restaurant/bar suggestions, etc. [We didn't book tours through them, however, as tours can be book for a far cheaper price by using a n independent booker].

The room is ideal if you're just looking for a clean, comfortable place to sleep, which is what we wanted. It's simply furnished (TV, hot water, A/C), but everything was in good working condition. The room was cleaned daily, and we really enjoyed the creative towel animals.

Breakfast was decent - their pinto gallo was the best I had on the whole trip. Breakfast is served next to the pool each morning (which is cleaned every day)...However, I would steer clear of the jams, as there are many flies that surround that area. It was slightly off-putting, and they really should be kept in a different container.

On the final day, we were get get a great view of the volcano, and got some great shots of it from the hotel's observational deck on the 3rd floor.

Overall, we would definitely stay at the Hotel San Bosco again!

Room Tip: We had room 10, which was really close to the lobby and looked onto the parking lot. Initially, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CptWonderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I am staying here for two nights. The hotel is very simple and abscur. Looks to me like ex-communistic object. It is really ugly place to stay. The front desk people are not very friendly too!!!! I spoke to other tourist who are here and they informed me, there are other very nice hotels close by, they cost a bit more, but the quality is so much higher!!!! The problem is, the other hotels are fully booked and we should make the reservation at least few weeks befor arrival. Hotel San Bosco is almost empty, only a few tourist here, no wonder!!!! Well if you come to this city, you might consider some better places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at San Bosco Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your time,

Here at Hotel San Bosco, we appreciate the feedback, because it is the best way to improve.

Hotel San Bosco is a hotel designed to meet a market, who is searching for low prices, rewarding quality in their services.

At La Fortuna Downtown, we are practically the only hotel, that has services such as pool and Jacuzzi, as well as, the opportunity of using the facilities of our premium hotel.

Hence we have the opportunity to obtain the Trip Advisor's Certificate for Excellence, in our services.

We regret that our hotel, has not met your expectations, because it is a hotel that remains filled about 80% occupancy throughout the month.

Even so, we will consider your comments about the service in order to strengthen the quality of our services.

Thank you for your comments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Property: San Bosco Inn
Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing