We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good deal, excellent budget choice for Arenal/La Fortuna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good deal, excellent budget choice for Arenal/La Fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was my second stay here. My first was two years prior. Then as now, this place is good for students and budget travelers who don't mind, or actually prefer (as I did), to be in the middle of a little town (La Fortuna) with restaurants,bars, a park, and various shops, rather than secluded in an Arenal "resort" where you need taxis to go everywhere. If you are fine with the budget hotel size and comfort level, then you will be fine with this place. The young people who are behind the desk seem to be on top of things and speak English pretty well. They were helpful to us when we needed them, and didn't get in the way when we didn't. The breakfast was basic, tico style, buffet breakfast, which was fine with us well. The cook makes a pretty good omelet to go with your gallo pinto, fruit, bread, coffee and juice from the buffet. The manager/head waiter (?) on duty both mornings we were recently here was very friendly and very welcoming. He seemed actually to enjoy his job, on both days in fact - not an insignificant fact if you have visited enough other hotels throughout this country, as we have.

I would stay here yet again, if and when I return to the Arenal area. By the way, if you want to experience the hot springs of Tabacon (and you don't, you don't know what you are missing) or one of the other places (such as Baldi), book a day pass of some sort directly through their website (www.tabacon.com I think). This hotel tried to sell us a tour package that was not worth it, and was not nearly the value we got that way. Taxis are a fixed rate (at present) of $12 each way to and from Tabacon.

If you wish to see the volcano up close and do a tour, again, just go there yourself and deal with them directly, rather than get caught up in the seeming convenience of a "tour" deal (i.e., hike at Arenal, dinner and four hours at Tabacon springs, all transportation included).

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelandFoodGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    232
    57
    11
    7
See reviews for
99
188
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Stay for 2 nights in 6-2011. Room was comfortable. Pool was refreshing. Very convenient to many shops and restaurants, can walk anywhere in town. Friendly staff. 2 computers with internet for use in the lobby. Hotel does have air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarzenAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My brother and I stayed at the San Bosco for 3 nights and could not have been more pleased. The staff was wonderful, especially Carolina and Daniel, who not only answered every question we had, they also helped us practice our spanish. I might add that we also had some transportation problems (did not book our van far enough in advance) and Daniel did everything he could to help us look for other alternatives. Finally we had to rent a car to continue our trip on to Samara. I don't know why people warn you about the road from La Fortuna to Samara because when I visit my sister in WV the roads to her house are much worse. We're glad we rented the jeep because it really enhanced our time there and the ride was beautiful and interesting.. I would also HIGHLY recommend a GPS. She became our best friend. :-) The breakfast at San Bosco was very good, free coffee was available at the reception area all day, and they also helped us book the cano-negro tour which we would highly recommend. The afternoon we arrived we took a hike with a guide around Arenal which ended at sunset. The guide Mariela(sp?) was very nice and it was a very pleasant hike. We were also lucky since the 3 days we were there, we saw the volcano clearly every day!

We felt that the hot springs (Baldi) and the meal (buffet) were very touristy and expensive also would not recommend either. For me, the hike was fun and interesting but I would have skipped the hot springs and meal if I could do it again. After coming from Monteverde, (the jeep-boat-jeep transport was a fun way to travel) La Fortuna seemed very big and more touristy by comparison but still a nice town. If you go to San Bosco ask about the local "swimming hole" about a mile outside of town. We loved it and met some very interesting people there, both local and travelers. And finally, right around the corner on your way to downtown is a little massage place. $25 for an hour massage. I think it is called Angel hands. After bike riding and hiking etc, it is very welcome and the price is more than reasonable. All in all, we enjoyed our time in La Fortuna thanks to the excellent people at Hotel San Bosco and the convenient location. I did hear some people mention how hard it was to get around if you staying some distance outside of town. Food for thought.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wc_musicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The front desk was very helpful in answering all our questions and booking the tours we requested. The rooms were clean, the only draw back was there was no safe. The hotel was centrally located but off the busy road which made it quit and relaxing. There was 24 hr security which was also a plus. The breakfast was good and the service was excellent. The view of Arenal from our breakfast table was a plus. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavigeboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This was the most "budget" type hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica, and it fit the bill. If you are in La Fortuna just to see the sights and not spend any time in your room, this is the place for you.

Everything is spotlessly clean, and service very friendly and the breakfast is good. You can walk to all kinds of restaurants and sodas, and all the tour companies pick up from the front door. The property is fully fenced and has security at night which is a nice feature.

The pool is nice, but the hot tubs are not very warm- it poured the two days we were there, so a hot hot tub would have been great!

The rooms are clean and very basic. There is a tiled hall that runs down the front of the units so when someone walks by your room, you can hear every word- bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

For the price, and the perfect location right in the center of town, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucydodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

All good comments about this hotel. It's centrally located in La Fortuna, has friendly staff and great breakfasts. The pool and garden area is very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeaky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We spent two nights in La Fortuna and stayed at this hotel, trusting some reviews on TripAdvisor. They were right. The hotel is really clean, well kept, very convenient for activities if you don't travel with a car. The swimming pools (2) and hot tubs (2) are extremely clean, room was spatious and comfortable. The hotel is 2 blocks from the main square (park) but is extremely quiet. We definitively loved the place.
Nice view of the Volcano from the pool area. Breakfast buffet was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spagliardini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Property: San Bosco Inn
Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing