We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$115
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$240
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$266
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$169
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$99
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$109
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$108
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$563
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
115
70
24
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
70
24
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla fortunahelpful ownersrooms are basic but cleanhot springsthese cabinsevery morningthoroughly enjoyed our staymiguelwaterfallnaturewildlife
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 225 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2007

It was the first accomodation in Costa Rica we stayed in and we couldn't have been happier. The owners were friendly, helpful and informative. The view of Arenal Volcano was fantastic, as were the gardens surrounding the cabinas. You can organise a variety of trips through the owners. The breakfasts were amazing, and at only $2 pp, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beaverface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

We stayed here in April during a 21-day trip around Costa Rica. Hands down, this was the highlight of our accomodations. The cabinas are very clean, hot water showers, and spacious. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the hosts are fantastic - friendly, helpful, knowledgable about the area, etc. The breakfast which you can add-on for $2 is recommended.
This lodge is located outside of La Fortuna (about 10 minute drive) and is perfect for those who would like a quieter, more relaxing place to stay. There is a great view of the volcano as well!
Highly recommended and fantastic value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Baja500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We found Cerro Chato a really dissapointing place and would recommend to stay in one of the places in town. If you do stay there make sure you take your valuables with you as our camera got stolen out of the hotelroom. Worst thing are the owners who accused us of not taking good care of our stuff and were not very simpatico at all... !!

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank travelfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

I loved this little place. It is pretty far away from the town of La Fortuna but the town wasn't a big draw to the area for us. We wanted some quiet time and hiking. The "eco" part of their advertisement was a draw and I respect the level of community involvement the owner is active with.

The owner is very cool and gave us all kinds of great conversation. The breakfast was intimate and fun (it is cooked and delivered at the time you select the day before). We ate lunch at a nearby lodge that had a great lunch. Nearby we hiked a stream without a trail and had a good time. We also hiked to the waterfall parking lot one day and went up through the pastures to a forest to head up to a dormant volcano. I saw some sweet wildlife on that trip. One night the owner drove us to the hot springs and picked us up in town when we were done with drinks.

It was relaxing. Our room was clean, huge, had a comfy hammock outside, and the shower was hot. We recommend this place to friends looking for some relaxing mountain time near Arenal that don't want to go to big resorts.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sissyfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

I chose Cerro Chato Lodge based on review I found on the internet as well as the very reasonable pricing and proximity to Arenal Volcano. To be honest, I didn't expect much, but I was thrilled with Cerro Chato.

I had booked a private shuttle to take us from the airport to the lodge (a several hour bus ride through the hills). Imagine my surprise when Miguel, the owner himself, actually picked us up at the airport! Our Spanish lessons began right away and Miguel informed us of how to use the formal tense, the use of "vos", and when to say "pura vida con gallo pinto"! We stopped for a typical breakfast on the way to the lodge.

Now, let me describe the lodge. It is an absolutely idyllic location with a full view of the Arenal Volcano and beautifully landscaped grounds. The "restaurant" is a little open air covered area, and we enjoyed the delicious homemade breakfasts that Carmen made every morning. The best gallo pinto in Costa Rica, fresh fruits, plantains,
and eggs. The coffee is dark and rich! A perfect start to perfect mornings. The rooms are colorful and clean and have a nice shower with hot water and plenty of water pressure. The air is cool enough up in the hills that AC is not necessary and the ceiling fan is plenty to stay comfortable. Miguel built the whole thing himself, and
does all his own work on the property. He has a lot of reason to be proud of his accomplishments.

You can hike to the stunning La Fortuna waterfall from the lodge in just about an hour. The scenery is lovely, toucans, scarlet tanagers,
and many other birds can be seen right there in the lodge and roads.
You can also walk into La Fortuna for lunches or dinners (about 2 km), and La Fortuna has a cute little square with another awesome Volcanic view in the background. It is also within 20 minutes or so of all the attractions in the area (which there are many).

Miguel arranged all of our tours for us from Hanging Bridges to Horseback Riding to Volcano National Park to the Hot Springs. He hooked us up with snacks and waters and entrance fees, so all we had to do was show up and get in his van. He waited for us for hours while we dilly-dallied in the parks. He also gave us free rides into town from time to time. He and his wife bent over backwards for us in every way and made us feel like family.

There is no doubt that I would return to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge for my next trip to the area. Miguel and Carmen were awesome and the location is beautiful and well situated and muy tranquilo.

Thank you Miguel and Carmen for a wonderful experience!

Pura Vida con Gallo Pinto!

-Darcy, Lynn, and Jules

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank darcitananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews