We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$146
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$215
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$179
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$294
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
114
70
24
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
70
24
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla fortunaarenal volcanohelpful ownersconvenience storecommon roomhot springsdouble bedceiling fanarrange toursthese cabinstypical costa rican breakfastevery morninga nice place to staycovered porchsmall poolpollominute drive
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 224 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and I wish we would have been able to stay for a third to spread out all of the activities available in the Arenal area. Miguel was extremely helpful and arranged transportation from San Jose and to the East Coast. The traditional style breakfast with coffee was filling and ideal for a long day of hiking and climbing, not too mention it is included in the price of your stay! We decided to walk to the waterfall, it is uphill most of the way (about 1.3 miles away from the lodge) and followed by hundreds of stairs, but it was well worth it! The cabinas are clean and private and relatively close to the main road, about a 10 minute walk. We booked a volcano hike and Baldi Hot Springs-included dinner thru Cerro Chato which was easy and reasonably priced. Overall the location, price, and sevice are well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB3403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The owners are very pleasant. The tico style breakfast with coffee outdoors by the pool is complementary and excellent. We had been searching online for a place that was relatively isolated and quiet because we wanted a jungle experience. This place is lush and green with a variety of tropical birds and a view of Arenal Volcano a short distance from our little cabana. If you're are looking for a place that is isolated, however, this is not the place for you. It is located on a quiet lane way outside a very busy tourist area. Also, we were awakened at 5:45 a.m. to the sound of two men installing a tin roof on a home next door which, lasted well into the morning. Other than that, this place is very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Cerro Chato Eco Lodge, and it was an amazingly fortunate find. The location is perfect of you have a car--tucked away from the town of La Fortuna, off the road to the La Fortuna waterfall in a beautifully landscaped set of cabins. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay with the sounds of the rainforest to lull you to sleep and nudge you awake, Cerro Chato is it. The owner, Miguel, is incredibly friendly and helpful, offering suggestions and giving advice on how to best maximize your time. In addition to that, he is eager to talk about Tico culture and his own rich family history in the area, giving the experience a more personal and culturally rich touch. The rooms are neat and clean, and the ceiling fan was more than enough to cool the rooms at night. Miguel's wife makes a typical breakfast every morning with rice, beans, eggs, toast, fruit, and coffee--definitely the best breakfasts of our entire trip, and the most substantial! There is a supermarket on the corner, and plenty of sodas (local restaurants) to chose from on the way into town. I would recommend Cerro Chato Eco Lodge to anyone wanting to stay in the Arenal area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rho718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at Cerro Chato Eco Lodge for two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. If you're looking for a more tourist-oriented, social backpacker scene, it's maybe not the place for you, but if you're looking for a more relaxing, natural, and scenic experience, Cerro Chato is an excellent option. The cabins are cute and good value, and the property is really well-maintained. It also has some cool animal residents - we woke up to the sound of parrots overhead, and found frogs and leaf-cutter ants on the property at night. The property is located just a couple of kilometers from the waterfall, and is a forty-minute walk or five-dollar, three-minute taxi ride into La Fortuna town. It's absolutely ideal if you have your own car.

Also, the owner Miguel is awesome - great personality, very funny and friendly, and very helpful. Overall, an excellent place - I'd stay there again in a second.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Miguel is amazing! He and his family have created an oasis for travellers coming to La Fortuna. The breakfast here was Delicious! Perfect introduction into typical tico food. The cabins were cute and loved having a dip in the pool. Easy to walk to Cerro Chato or the Waterfall, close to the supermarket and restaurants and even can walk into town in about 45 minutes or less. We met many great people while staying here and Miguel was great at providing shuttles and arranging activities. Come here for a relaxed stay outside of the hustle and bustle of La Fortuna

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kootenaytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews