We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at Cerro Chato Eco Lodge for two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. If you're looking for a more tourist-oriented, social backpacker scene, it's maybe not the place for you, but if you're looking for a more relaxing, natural, and scenic experience, Cerro Chato is an excellent option. The cabins are cute and good value, and the property is really well-maintained. It also has some cool animal residents - we woke up to the sound of parrots overhead, and found frogs and leaf-cutter ants on the property at night. The property is located just a couple of kilometers from the waterfall, and is a forty-minute walk or five-dollar, three-minute taxi ride into La Fortuna town. It's absolutely ideal if you have your own car.

Also, the owner Miguel is awesome - great personality, very funny and friendly, and very helpful. Overall, an excellent place - I'd stay there again in a second.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 219 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Miguel is amazing! He and his family have created an oasis for travellers coming to La Fortuna. The breakfast here was Delicious! Perfect introduction into typical tico food. The cabins were cute and loved having a dip in the pool. Easy to walk to Cerro Chato or the Waterfall, close to the supermarket and restaurants and even can walk into town in about 45 minutes or less. We met many great people while staying here and Miguel was great at providing shuttles and arranging activities. Come here for a relaxed stay outside of the hustle and bustle of La Fortuna

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kootenaytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I had a great stay at Cerro Chato Eco Lodge. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised. No disappointments.

1. The owners are extremely helpful and answer all of your questions about which tours to take, where to go and what to see. They are genuine and kind people. You won't get a generic version of customer service here.

2. The breakfast was delicious. Rice, beans, eggs, cut fruit, fresh squeezed fruit juice and yummy coffee. Such a consistent meal which was perfect for a long day of hiking and activities.

3. The rooms are quaint and match the environment. Not a lot of frills, but a beautiful and simple experience. Open fresh air, little casita.

4. Location was perfect walking distance from all the attractions. Short, cheap cab into town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephineibea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Cerro Chato Eco Lodge fit our needs well. It is located within walking distance to nearby restaurants and a grocery store and is a 40 minute walk to the La Fortuna Waterfall and Cerro Chato Hike so we didn't need to pay for a ride.

Unfortunately we were up too early to eat breakfast (it is served between 7-8) but other guests at the Lodge highly recommended it. Miguel was also very friendly and funny.

Our room was clean but spartan and we found the bed uncomfortable. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room so this was fine for us but I wouldn't recommend it for someone who likes to relax indoors. Overall this was a good spot for facilitating our scheduled activities around Arenal and a solid choice for a more budget-friendly option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HallieJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was truly overwhelmed by the hospitality at Cerro Chato. It was my first time visiting Costa Rica. Being a young female traveling with another young female can be a bit intimidating. But Miguel was so helpful in providing information on places to see, providing us with transportation and helping us feel very comfortable. He made himself very available whenever we had questions. His wife made the most delicious Costa Rican breakfast, with fresh eggs from their chickens on site. The rooms are a comfortable size for two people and very clean. The property was extremely maintained…you could tell that they have a lot of pride in their place. The Fortuna Falls are about a mile walk from the lodge….highly recommend checking it out! I highly recommend Cerro Chato to anyone who is looking for a nice little getaway to Fortuna at a very reasonable price. Thanks Miguel!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed for one night after a long and stressful road trip in torrential rain, made three times longer by rad closures (be prepared for this in Costa Rica!), so maybe that coloured my experience before I even entered the room.
However, I found the bed very uncomfortable, with an awful mattress and tatty bed linen. Slept poorly as a result. Friendly Owner did give a small discount when I complained, which saved it from a terrible rating.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jonnyboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Cerro Chato Lodge two nights in October 2012. As it was still off-season, we were the only guests in the lodge. Carmen and Miguel, the owners, were very friendly and helped us with a lot of information about the surrounding national parks and reserves. The cabina we had was rather small, but clean. We also enjoyed the rich breakfast and the fruits and juices served with it. The lodge is situated in a very quiet area, but not too far from La Fortuna that offers lots of shops, bars and Restaurants, and is a good base for visiting the surrounding reserves such as Parque Nacional Volcán Arenal, El Silencio, Arenal Hanging Bridges and many other attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
839 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Selina La Fortuna
Selina La Fortuna
#9 of 77 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabinas la Catarata
Cabinas la Catarata
#4 of 77 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#6 of 77 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Address: Road to Rio Fortuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-75, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $38 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Chato Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica (2.5 kms. from La Fortuna, on the road to Catarata Rio's Fortuna and only 15minutes by car from Tabacon's Hot Springs) with a spectacular view of the southeast side of the volcano, we have the advantage of being at a slightly higher altitude than La Fortuna, thus cooler. Also, we are off the main road enough to avoid the sound of grinding gears that are audible from almost all other hotels. The rooms are very spacious (32m2) with 1 double and 1 single bed, a large private bath with hot water, screened windows, ceiling fans, verandas with table and chairs, and landscaped grounds abundant with tropical flowers and birds. Full breakfast, available lunches, horse rental, laundry, internet service and secure parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing