We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional and clean enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Functional and clean enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

My friends and I stayed one night. For the price we paid, it was fine. It's in a natural setting, and it's very quiet. It was fine for a place to sleep one night, have breakfast in the morning and move on. I wouldn't want to stay here multiple nights. The rooms are small and there are no amenities. We had 2 adjacent rooms. One was buggy, the other was not. The breakfast was filling, the owner was very helpful and his wife pleasantly served breakfast. It was in the midst of a lovely area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedwig1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    69
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
129
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

The rooms here are decent and breakfast is included (which is amazing -- 4 stars for the breakfast), but the owner was rude and I would not go back to this place for that reason.

To make a long story short, the owner was very rude to us upon our arrival to the lodge despite the fact that the private taxi he hired failed to pick us up at the airport and we had to make other arrangements.

In addition, when we arrived (exhausted) at the lodge, the owner proceeded to argue with us about a miscommunication about a tour we booked through him. My friend wanted to do some outdoor activity/tour, but I did not, but the owner had already booked for 2 people. He proceeded to angrily tell us that we were making him lose money because he had to put a deposit down for both of us. He then told me that I would have to help him "lie" to the tour guides in the morning by telling them I was sick or in an accident and couldn't go on the tour. My friend and I were so shocked at his attitude because we had JUST arrived after a 3 hour drive, delayed flight, and failure on his part regarding the taxi that was suppose to pick us up.

The owner was civil to us for our remaining time that we were there, but despite the decent lodging and good breakfast, I would not stay there again. There are a few other lodges in the near vicinity that looked just as good as this one. I would recommend staying elsewhere to avoid the moody owner of this one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 551Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in similar cabinas in different places in 2 1/2 weeks in Costa Rica. Whereas we were happy with all other accommodations, this one we couldn't wait to move on from. Our cabina was very small and smelly. Asked about the smell, the owner offered a spray can against it. As the ceiling fan also didn't work, we were moved to another cabina. In 2 nights we killed 3 cockroaches, one we found in our bed. The bed was just bad.
Maybe more disappointing than all this was that the hosts here were the least helpful and least friendly Costa Rican hosts we met. We had the sense the hosts were unhappy doing what they did and we never felt welcome here whereas this is something Costa Ricans are generally so good at.
There are a few other lodges on the same road close by which look nicer and more professional. My fiance stayed at one of them before I arrived and loved it. Unfortunately it was full when we got there and we decided, to our regret, to try this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndRecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed at this disgrace of a hotel about a week ago with my two friends. We are all pretty well traveled girls and are all pretty smart when it comes to traveling outside of the United states. It was our second night in Costa Rica and we checked into Cerro Chato. We were met by a lady, Im assuming was the wife of the owner and she showed us the cabin and went back to the office. We went for a swim in the pool and then purchased some vouchers to go to dinner and the hot springs from Miguel (the lodge owner). We left the cabins, locked our doors, came back 2 hours later to a wide open door and an empty room. There was no sign of forced entry, so someone either picked the lock or unlocked it. We went to the police that night and later Miguel showed up with our neighbors (who also got robbed) he was very unapologetic showed no sympathy. First he asked if we locked our doors as if to blame us for what had happened. OF COURSE WE LOCKED OUR DOORS! then without any eye contact or emotion muttered "sorry". SORRY?! thats it??? So after spending 2 hours with the police we find another place to stay for the night. In the morning we returned to Cerro Chato in hopes of getting some sort of reimbursement or at least some sympathy from the guy and he tells us we didn't lock our things in the safe and its our fault. we were not informed of any safe but Miguel insisted there were fliers in the rooms indicating some existence of a safe. We ask to see these "fliers" and he says "sorry Im all booked right now" and refused to show us any flier. I have a question Miguel, how is it possible that ALL of your rooms are booked when we had booked a cabin for 3 DAYS and this was the very next day first thing in the morning. When we questioned him he started to yell that he didnt like our attitude and to leave his property. So not only do I think that this is the WORST place I have ever booked (we didnt even stay there out of fear for our safety) I am positive that this fool Miguel had something to do with all of our stuff going missing in a matter of 2 hours between 7pm and 9pm. Anyone who is reading this would be wise not to stay at this place Miguel calls a business.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

My friends and i checked in here the night of august 10th. Shortly after we went out to dinner. Upon returning, we realised that our room had been broken into and that absolutely everything had been stolen, including my underwear and socks! We had locked the door so i have no idea how they got in. And while leaving, i noticed another room had been robbed as well, it turns out they had everything taken including their passports. Later at the police station, the owner came and all he had to say was "im sorry". We came back the next day to try and discuss what our options were(the police told us to). The owner said that we should have had trip insurance and that he isnt paying for anything or reimbursing any costs. Then he got angry and kicked us off his property. Im telling anyone looking to go here that im sure break-ins are uncommon but his handling of the situation was beyond unacceptable. Find a safer and more professional place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurel1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We happened upon Cerro Chato Lodge after driving through La Fortuna and wanting to be a little off the beaten path. This lovely property has a pool, cabins, hammocks and a stunning view of the Arenal Volcano. We came without a reservation and got a room for two nights for a family of three. ($57 with breakfast, $45 without) The front desk has beer and soda for sale, and a strip of sodas, restaurants and a grocery store is about 1km away. We noticed that everybody walked, so we did too. We had a lovely, peaceful time there in our simple room. Mostly we sat on the porch, lounged in the hammock and then went to see the sights. Breakfast was delicious, by the way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovedcostarica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed here for four nights with a friend of mine. A nice place on the road to the waterfall, about 3 km out of town. It was easy to get a taxi to and from town, but I like to walk so I enjoyed the walks in and out of town. Miguel, the owner, was very professional, helpful and friendly and was able to give great recommendations on activities and was able to book the activities and travel (although this is very common in Costa Rica). While the pool was small and there wasn't a "pool scene" (i.e. no lounge chairs, bar or girls in bikinis, etc.), it was still nice to have and was a good place to cool off in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#7 of 70 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Property: Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Address: Road to Rio Fortuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-75, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Chato Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica (2.5 kms. from La Fortuna, on the road to Catarata Rio's Fortuna and only 15minutes by car from Tabacon's Hot Springs) with a spectacular view of the southeast side of the volcano, we have the advantage of being at a slightly higher altitude than La Fortuna, thus cooler. Also, we are off the main road enough to avoid the sound of grinding gears that are audible from almost all other hotels. The rooms are very spacious (32m2) with 1 double and 1 single bed, a large private bath with hot water, screened windows, ceiling fans, verandas with table and chairs, and landscaped grounds abundant with tropical flowers and birds. Full breakfast, available lunches, horse rental, laundry, internet service and secure parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing