We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watched the volcano from a hammock”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Watched the volcano from a hammock”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We happened upon Cerro Chato Lodge after driving through La Fortuna and wanting to be a little off the beaten path. This lovely property has a pool, cabins, hammocks and a stunning view of the Arenal Volcano. We came without a reservation and got a room for two nights for a family of three. ($57 with breakfast, $45 without) The front desk has beer and soda for sale, and a strip of sodas, restaurants and a grocery store is about 1km away. We noticed that everybody walked, so we did too. We had a lovely, peaceful time there in our simple room. Mostly we sat on the porch, lounged in the hammock and then went to see the sights. Breakfast was delicious, by the way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovedcostarica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    69
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
129
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed here for four nights with a friend of mine. A nice place on the road to the waterfall, about 3 km out of town. It was easy to get a taxi to and from town, but I like to walk so I enjoyed the walks in and out of town. Miguel, the owner, was very professional, helpful and friendly and was able to give great recommendations on activities and was able to book the activities and travel (although this is very common in Costa Rica). While the pool was small and there wasn't a "pool scene" (i.e. no lounge chairs, bar or girls in bikinis, etc.), it was still nice to have and was a good place to cool off in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

The rooms were spartan, but clean. Mattress left much to be desired - springs poked in places that should not be poked, lol! The grounds are gorgeous and the view of Arenal volcano across the road is breathtaking. We stayed 3 days but the pool was being cleaned the entire time so we could not use. The website picture shows a hammock on the porch and I was looking forward to that, but there is only one larger room that has hammocks ... all others have plastic lawn chairs on the small porch. Miguel and Carmen were very nice and accommodating. The advertise wireless, but the signal doesn not reach to rooms, so you have to sit outside office to get the signal, but they turn it off every night when they close the office. There is a t.v. in the "common room", but it's really the dining room and isn't open except during dining hours which are strictly enforced. It was cool enough at night with the screen windows and fans, but birds and bugs are EXTREMLEY LOUD at 4 a.m. and because the windows are up high and cannot close, it can be quite deafening to try to sleep. Great price, but definitely not a lush hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetoTravel1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Nice cabin but a little to out of the way for me. I would have chosen to be closer to town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natk1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We arrived at Cerro Chato for our first three nights of our time in Costa Rica. After arriving by bus and calling Miguel upon arrival in La Fortuna, he picked us up for free and brought us to the lodge which is less than a 10 minute drive from town. It is a very peaceful location, just outside of town and no more than a $3 cab ride. The grounds are very well maintained, the rooms are very clean (you get your own cabin), the breakfast that was included with our price was very delicious, and the service was one of the best of the whole time we were in Costa Rica. Miguel, the owner, was at the front desk from 7am-8pm so always accessible (which we found wasn't the case in many other places). For people who want adventure in Arenal or La Fortuna - Miguel can book all your adventures and give you a very honest opinion about your different options and the prices. I spent a lot of time with him just asking about what our options were, what was good, what wasn't, etc. Be nice to him and he'll treat you like a great friend! One day we were out for an entire day on a guided tour but were switching towns the next day so he actually called around in the next town for us to try and make us a reservation somewhere else.
My boyfriend and I, after travelling around Costa Rica, look back at Cerro Chato as really the one place where we got the greatest bang for our buck. I would definitely recommend this for families and couples looking for a nice place to stay outside the hustle and bustle of being in town. We didn't feel at all like we were missing anything by not being in town. One plus is that the hotel is within walking distance (albeit a long walk but nice for those looking to hike) to the waterfalls that you can easily do yourself as opposed to booking a tour to do.
Miguel - thank you for the great service and for waking us up for the Montezuma shuttle that we almost missed!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahAq12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

had the pleasure of staying here last week and had all of my travel inquiries in advance allayed by miguel the owner via e-mail. he was kind enough to pick up my girlfriend & i from the public bus station in la fortuna and helped organize our trip to the hot springs, the nearby waterfall (rain forced us to decide against the cerro chato hike) dinner, and our canopy tour at sky trek. his wife carmen cooked us a wonderful breakfast and even did some laundry for us, which helped us tremendously.

each of the cabins vary in size, but they are charming and cozy, scattered amongst the lush grounds. the pool is beautiful and there's also a cool outdoor shower to rinse off. we also had the pleasure of meeting their children miguelito and carmencita, who are very well-behaved and even led us to our cabin!

location-wise, it's the second closest to the waterfall and/or the hike to cerro chato, so if you're thinking of doing either, it's a great option that's very welcoming and at the same time, friendly on the wallet. being just outside of la fortuna is ideal, as you're away from the hustle and bustle and it seems like it's your own soothing oasis.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofmylmnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

The hotel is owned by Miguel who is very nice and helpfull. The rooms are clean, big and very nice surrounded by a jarden, a swimming pool, a barbecue. The volcano is located in front of the hotel, you can enjoy the view from the room. The waterfall is 40 minute sby foot. La Fortuna center is 5 minutes by car. Cerro Chato is a very good value for money I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieBelgique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
3.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlif...
#2 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
235 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Property: Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Address: Road to Rio Fortuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-75, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Chato Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica (2.5 kms. from La Fortuna, on the road to Catarata Rio's Fortuna and only 15minutes by car from Tabacon's Hot Springs) with a spectacular view of the southeast side of the volcano, we have the advantage of being at a slightly higher altitude than La Fortuna, thus cooler. Also, we are off the main road enough to avoid the sound of grinding gears that are audible from almost all other hotels. The rooms are very spacious (32m2) with 1 double and 1 single bed, a large private bath with hot water, screened windows, ceiling fans, verandas with table and chairs, and landscaped grounds abundant with tropical flowers and birds. Full breakfast, available lunches, horse rental, laundry, internet service and secure parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing