We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$230
$150
View Deal
Hotels.com$230
Expedia.com$230
Trip.com$194
CheapTickets$230
Travelocity$230
Orbitz.com$230
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,158)
Filter reviews
2,158 results
Traveler rating
1,473
559
80
17
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,473
559
80
17
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch arenal volcano costa rica deluxe bungalow individual cabins hot tub huge bathroom close to town an amazing view every morning buffet style hotel restaurant included breakfast grounds are beautiful our honeymoon zip lining limos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 2,158 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2017

Our groups stayed at Lomas del Volcan for 3 nights. The “rooms” are all individual cabins with private porches. There are fabulous view of the very nearby Arenal Volcano from all over the property, especially from the bar, restaurant, and pool areas. Our included breakfasts were wonderful gazing across the grounds up at the volcano. And as birdwatcher, it was great strolling the grounds nearby trail with toucans, guans, hummingbirds, and many other birds often around. It is a cheap, short taxi or hotel shuttle ride into La Fortuna, and like with everything else, Joceyln and Roberto at the desk were always eager to help make arrangements and answer questions.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas Del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

Dear funguyPhil.

We feel glad reading your comments here and knowing that your stay in our mountain lodge was as good as you were expecting.
Hopefuly this visit be the first of many more and that your plans for future vacations in Costa Rica include Lomas del Volcan.
Thank you for selecting us as the place to stay in Arenal and please return as soon as possible. It will be a great pleasure to offer you our hospitality again.

Kind regards and see you very soon.

Your friends of Lomas del Volcán Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017

Lomas del Volcan was wonderful - seriously a place where I could see myself staying for weeks.

The good:
- large bungalows and huge bathroom/shower
- plenty of storage
- great views of the volcano. Seriously amazing.
- out of the bustle of downtown but still just a very short drive away
- large, nice pool and hot tub
- good free breakfast

A few tiny things that could be improved:
- Like most places, they request that you not flush toilet paper because of the septic system. It would have been nice to have a covered trash basket in the bathroom to dispose of toilet paper.
- The temperature of the hot tub was not as hot as we would have liked
- The road to the hotel was quite rough and bumpy

Overall this was a great hotel with good service and amazing views. I would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Rooms in the 500 block seem to have the best views. They are up a short, steep hill, which we didn't mind.
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Agua_Eau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas Del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

Dear Agua_Eau.

Thank you so much for this comment and for selecting our mountain lodge for spending your holidays in Costa Rica as well.
We have read your point of view and we will consider your recommendations. Your feedback are very important for our business and be sure what you mention will be analyze seriously.

For now we say bye but since this firs visit we will look towards to your next vacation in our mountain lodge. It will be a honor to offer you our hospitality one more time.

Kind regards and see you soon.

Your friends of Lomas del Volcán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Lomas del Volcan. Our chalet was perfect with lovely views. Staff were helpful and food was very good. Spectacular gardens as well. Enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi.
Sitting in the dining room looking at Arenal Volcano was magical. We managed to see the top of the Volcano for one minute, it is often in cloud.
Also enjoyed going to the Eco Termales hot springs. They only allow 100 people at any one time. Wonderfully relaxing warm waters with high mineral content. We just loved it.

Room tip: The chalets were great and all had good views
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas Del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

Dear Sally S.

Thank you very much for booking our services and for selecting our mountain lodge during your vacations in Costa Rica.
We wish you continue visiting us and in the future when you make plans for vacations we hope we will be on your list.

Kind regards and see you soon.

Your friends of Lomas del volcán Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

We had a great stay at Lomas. It's down a little bit of a bumpy road but it's conveniently located close to downtown as well as the hot springs & outdoor activities. Everyone who works there is super nice and helpful.

The rooms are nice and large and the bathroom is HUGE. Each of the rooms have a nice back patio to relax and see the view of the volcano.

Our room was up a super steep hill though so I'd recommend asking for a room at the bottom of the hill.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas Del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Dear Sarah H.

Thank you for commenting with us about your stay in our mountain lodge and your choice on Lomas del Volcán Hotel.
For our staff was a great pleasure to have your visit and we wish that this first time be the begining of many more.
About the room location, you are right, we have rooms up hill and it is really important for our reservations staff that our future guests inform them if there is physical limitations or special walking features. It will be a great help!

We hope you have enjoyed the rest of your vacations in Costa Rica and we wish you a safe return home.


Your friends of Lomas del Volcán Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

Situated about 3kms west of La Fortuna with a left turn along a long mostly unmade road leading to the Hotel complex. About 12kms from the entrance to the National Park and 19kms from the Hanging Bridges. The complex has superb views of the Arenal Volcano although we only saw the full view on one occasion during our three night stay since clouds hover above.
The complex is made up of stylish individual wooden bungalows with their own main unoverlooked covered terraces at rear with volcano views. Main terraces are furnished with wooden dining chairs and table - maybe would feel more comfortable with easy / relax seats !! Second terrace at front with a wooden bench.
Rooms comprise two comfortable queen beds, three bedside cabinets, shelving and hangers for clothing (not that much storage space), dressing table and chair, fridge / mini bar, slim line TV, effective air conditioning, free room safe.
All areas are well maintained and clean.
Free wifi in room and all over complex - good signal everywhere.
A good sized mostly tiled bathroom with large shower area, WC, bidet and basin plus complimentary toiletries.
The grounds are attractive and immaculate - grounds very good for viewing exotic birds . A nice well maintained swimming pool and a hot whirlpool.
Plenty of parking space.
The restaurant / bar areas are very pleasant and semi al fresco. Happy Hour half price drinks 5 - 7pm. Meals served throughout the day were of good quality and service also good. Breakfast included was quite good, but not up to the evening standard.
Reception in particular and all staff were professional, friendly, helpful and mostly speak good English.
You could not fail to enjoy a stay at Lomas de Volcan and I strongly recommend.

Room tip: All bungalows seemed to be similar with views of grounds and volcano.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas Del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Dear Niel01.

Great description about our mountain lodge and its location as well.
We really wish to thank you for this comment as we do for your visit and choice on Lomas del Volcán. it was a true pleasure to be part of your experience in Costa Rica and your vacations. We hope this memory remains for a lifetime and that this first visit turns into many more.

kindly we ask you to tell others about us and remember that we will be here waiting for you when you decide to return.

Warm greetings and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews