We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well rounded hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well rounded hotel”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Let me first start by saying that La Fortunata is an extremely small city. In fact it's so small that there are no street names. The locals have the city mapped with buildings by colors. We drove into the city to find a hotel the same day. We were very glad to see the trip advisor signs in the concierge area confirming that this would be a legitimate hotel.

The hotel property itself is gigantic. It sits at the base of the volcano. The rooms are all bungalows which provide a lot of privacy. The bathrooms and bedrooms or absolutely immaculately clean. In addition, they are extremely spacious and have both front and back porches which are very cozy. There is Wi-Fi in every bungalow which has actually pretty good reception.

The hotel itself is centrally located in town. It has short trails that go behind the property that are fun to walk, breakfast inclusive (which by the way is a full service breakfast), pool, jacuzzi and media area. In my opinion this would be a great place for large groups and families and even a destination wedding.

I'd like to add that the people working at the front desk are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone that I know is visiting La Fortuna.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank neversayneverFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi.
Thank you so much for recommending us to others. Your comment is very clear and precise, and we are very happy that you found us using the advice of this website. The same way you found us now you are helping a lot of people to take a decision. We will not change and we´ll keep the same standars of quality and service and this way satisfy more people coming.

Thanks dear friends and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    383
    64
    7
    16
See reviews for
320
789
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel is in a peaceful out of town location with great views of the volcano, but not too far out of town (by car). Our cabins were very spacious and comfortable. Restaurant has a limited choice buffet, but the quality was good. There are good restaurants a short drive away too. Staff were friendly and efficient and the pool area is pleasant.

Room Tip: The cabin units all look to be well situated. There are a few cheaper rooms that are much smaller a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinaexpat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi.
Thank you so much. We deeply appreciate the time you have taken to place this review.
We hope to have your visit again despite we know that your home is away from our resort. There is ever a second chance for everything in the life and we wish that this second chance be another trip to our mountain lodge.

Warm regards and our best wishes for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was my favorite hotel during our 1 month trip through Costa Rica. We stayed 5 nights and I wish it would have been longer. The view of the volcano is INCREDIBLE. We stayed in cabana 507 and there was nothing in between us and Arenal. Just a beautiful deck to enjoy some beverages, a book or a good game while you watched the clouds float over the summit.

By far the best continental breakfast which was essentially a large buffet complete with omelet bar and both Costa Rican breakfast favorites and American/European favorites. Rooms had two beds with large bathroom that had very HOT water for showering and you can drink the tap water. Rooms also had televisons, which wasn't used much, air conditioner and refridgerator which was great for those beverages while watching the volcano.

Location was also excellent. Only a $6 cab ride to La Fortuna. I wouldn't waste time walking. Bikes would be difficult here as there is nothing but hills. Staff was very friendly. Restaurant was OK, I preferred restaurants in town. Pool was beautiful and had great views of the volcano along with a hot tub. We just brought our own beverages to the pool to enjoy, but there is bar that will keep a running tab for your stay. I would not hesitate to stay here again. We rented a car for two days which made it easier to vist the further away places.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the 500's with no cabanas between you and the volcano. I think there are layouts on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MinnesotaNicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi.

It is really nice to read a comment like your, only good things to say and that´s the way we like to do things here.
Thank you so much for your visit and we hope your visit the next season.

Warm regards from all your friends of Lomas del Volcán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our family enjoyed a great vacation in Costa Rica while staying at Lomas del Volcan. The staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout our entire trip. From the front desk associates to the staff in the restaurant and bar, everyone was gracious and ever so friendly. Rooms were comfortable & spacious and cleaned to perfection everyday. The grounds and pool were beautiful and well maintained. We would definitely recommend this wonderful hotel for a delightful experience in the Fortuna area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi.

This is the way we like that you feel after after staying in Lomas. In Lomas del Volcán we work very hard everyday to give you the most personalized service and prompt attention to your demands.
We are glad that you have enjoyed with your family and we hope that in a future trip to Costa Rica you come and stay with us.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Went 2 weeks ago and stayed for 2 nights... the rooms are clean and spacious... like little houses and you get a great view of the volcano. The staff was really nice, the breakfast was included and delicious... For the price it was a great deal and close to town (5 minute cab ride)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi LB.

Thank you for your cooperation on this website commenting regarding your stay in Lomas dek Volcan.
For us it is always a great pleasure to attend our guests the best way as possible.
Remember we are here and if you come again do not hesitate in stay with us one more time.

Warm regards from all the staff of Lomas del Volcán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

so butifull. great view from the room of arenal. amazing!
very peacefull. animals all around you.
the staff was very helpfull with everything' allways with a smile!
only good things to say.
near fortuna' but not to near (a short drive from the main road).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Ronen.

It is nice to read comments of people from Israel. That is a little far away from Lomas! We really appreciate that people who live far on the other side of the world, come to our country to see the natural wonders we have in Costa Rica.
We would like to see you back again and we hope that the next time you visit Costa Rica remember that we are here waiting for you.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiowa, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Spent 3 nights at Lomas del Volcan and loved every minute of it. The cabin was spotless and very comfortable. The grounds were beautifully kept and so lush! Everything was just as I expected. We loved that we were not right in town but yet close enough to everything. It was just a short $7 cab ride to town. The breakfast that was included with our stay was fantastic everyday. I can't wait to plan another visit to Lomas del Volcan!!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 205. The cabin was across from the office with just a short walk on the sidewalk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmcvicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi people.

Thank you for taking a time of your daily life to express here your sensation of being at Lomas del Volcán. We will be really happy to to have your visit again.
For your next visit to our facilities please let us know in advance that you are coming, it will be a real pleasure to attend you one more time.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing