We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 4.5 days at Lomas Del Volcan and enjoyed our stay in cabin 503. The property is tucked away from the road at the foot of the Arenal Volcano. The grounds are gorgeous: lush, green, and well maintained. Lots of wildlife on the property, mainly birds and pizotes (coatis). The cabins are large, clean, and includes a safe, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen television and air conditioning unit. The bathroom is also large and the walk-in shower was huge. Breakfast was fantastic; pinto gallo, fried plantains, omelette station, pancakes, fruit, toast, sausage, cereal, juice, and yummy coffee con leche! We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Hints: Cab rides into town can be arranged at the front desk (average $6 to $8). If you're used to shampoo and conditioner, bring your own--hotel is pretty basic when it comes to toiletries. Hair dryers are available at the front desk. Tours can be booked through the hotel. There are no ATMs on grounds. The property is about 30 minutes walking distance into town. If you're adventurous, walking into town during the day is fine. At night is another story: pitch dark, windy roads--don't do it. The hotel doesn't have a gift shop, so if you need sunscreen, mosquito repellant, rain ponchos etc...you'll have to go into town.

Suggestions for hotel: Give the guests an option of having some type of breakfast/meal available for those who have tours scheduled before normal breakfast service. Perhaps have the bar opened past 10:00 on the weekends (Friday and Saturday). Mimosas would have been a fantastic addition to the wonderful breakfast!

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliGirl92114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi.
Thank you so much for this feedback.
We are glad you have come to experience our lodge and you had some good impression during your stay.
As everywhere our hotel has schedules for everything, including for the breakfast time and the bar. We normally have the option for breakfast to bring , but with a previous order the night prior. This is for those people going on an early tour or in case they have to leave early for the next destination.
About the breakfast selections we serve a wide buffet which has differente options for all the demanding tastes: eggs, egg omelets with options of ham, processed cheese, onion, red bell pepper, also, toasts, fruits of the season, rice and beans, sausage, fresh cheese, panckaes, maple syrup, marmelades, yogurt, natural juices homemade, cofee, milk, cereals, minced vegetables, etc. So we think this is a very complete breakfast and about the "mimosas", they are not part of the traditional breakfast that we offer at our restaurant. Most of the time we can satisfy special requests with an extra charge and we are so sure we can prepare mimosas for you the next time you visit us. So, the next time please let us know that you are coming and this way we will get ready for attending you as you deserve.

Warm regards from all the staff of Lomas del Volcán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location is prime for views of the volcano and the grounds are immaculate. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well appointed. Unlike other reviewers, I did not find the staff especially friendly or helpful, particularly the front desk staff. I stayed at four other places in CR and this staff was the least friendly of the group. I did notice it was the same front desk staff always on service, so I could imagine that working as much as they did it would be difficult to be continually super-friendly to guests. I also liked that it was a cab ride to town, feeling tucked away was nice. As for the cabs, it is good to ask when coming or going their rates before getting into the cab, we found that different taxis tried to charge us anywhere from $5 to $15 for the same ride to/from town. It seemed as though $6 was the average, and a completely fair price.

Room Tip: all the views are nice. They have spaced the cabins so that they all have excellent views of the vol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rugbytraveller002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear people.

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay here with us but we regret that part concerning the service received from our staff of the front desk wasn´t good at all. Could you please indicate us what exactly was what happend you and who was the clerk or if the entire staff of the front desk seemed to be unhelpfull? It is very important for us to know what happend in order to make the corrections for the future. We do not wish this kind of things or disappointments happens to our guests.
Please, send us an email to info@lomasdelvolcan and you tell us more detail about that issue.

Warm regards and we wait for you e-mail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is in a superb location to enjoy the volcano mountain views and the rain forests, Grounds are well laid out with spectacular plants, gardens and natural settings. In the morning, you can hear the howler monkeys, sounds of the cicadas , singing of birds etc..you can just spend the day relaxing, hiking and traveling around the property. Many idyllic spots to enjoy coffee, lunch etc..this place is right at the foot of the mountain with no obstructions to the view of the mountain. A tropical nature lover's paradise. I took a special rainforest/ night frog watch tour from this place (only 10 minutes away); that was truly memorable. Nature lover will truly enjoy staying in this place.

Room Tip: all rooms and cabins are in good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagath77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Jagath77.


We are glad you have enjoyed your stay here in with us. For us it´s been a pleasure to have you here in our lodge, and we hope this be the first time you come to share with us of many more. Remember we will be here waiting for a nature lover like you are! Our arms are wide open in case you wish to come back.

Warm regards from all the staff of Lomas del Volcán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Lomas del Volcan is wonderful! the wooden cabins were lovely. my favorite part was the HUGE shower which is VERY nice for a couple on a honeymoon! the back porch was a wonderful place to watch toucans, coatis and wild turkeys while catching glimpses of Arenal through the clouds.

breakfast at the main building was fantastic every morning, and we mainly self-catered or went to sodas in town for dinner.

The best thing about this hotel, aside from the great location, was the staff. Everyone was SO go-out-of-their-way-friendly! I've never been treated so well in my life!!! Roberto at the front desk, especially, was a life-saver and just an all-around great guy to know. He helped us figure out what to do and how to do it and was so friendly.

Bottom line: beautiful views, great location (the view of Arenal from your room is better than you will have from the mirador of most area hikes) and incredible service make this pretty much the best place ever!

Room Tip: rooms toward the jungle will probably have some reptilian visitors (we just saw geckos but we heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDMG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Cory.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding Lomas del Volcán.
We appreciate very deeply you have taken some minutes to say about your stay at Lomas del Volcán.
We hope to have you back very soon and we hope we serve you with the same familiar treat which makes the big difference between our lodge and many others.

Kind regards and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We arranged a trip to Costa Rica with The Holiday place and though we did not know in advance where we would stay this was our hotel for 2 days. The wooden cabin was spacious and well equipped with a fridge, tv and large bathroom. 2 verandas meant we could sit outside and enjoy watching the birds and insects whilst enjoying a beer.
The pool are was good though in November the water was a little chilly but bearable given the ambient temperature. As it rains often here the rain came but we expected that may happen and it was warm so no problem. The hotel restaurant had a wonderful view of the gardens too, the breakfast was good and the evening meal was fine. One day we ate in La Fortuna but as the hotel is situated a mile+ away from the town up a track we had to get a hotel but not too pricey.
La Fortuna is aimed at tourists so though the buildings were not particularly special we had a wander round and enjoyed the gardens and went into a few shops.
Staff at the hotel gave us good ideas about things to do and we went on a night walk to see frogs and wildlife which we really enjoyed.
The hotel is just under the volcano but the cloud was low and sight of the mountain was limited but we could see the cloud forest and took a walk around the volcano with a guide which was great too. This was included as part of our trip/ tour.
Would recommend the hotel but do bear in mind the distance from the town.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the restaurant so if it rains you don't have far to dash!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nabbthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hi.

Thank you very much for your impression here on this web site. We hope your stay has been as pleasant as we can read here and we wish you a safe trip back to home.
For those people to come, we tell them that our location is at 4,5 Km distance from the town of La Fortuna. We consider we have a privileged location, due this we are far apart from the main road towards to Arenal Volcano national park, a very crowded road and very noisy at night. Our lodge sits at the foot hill of Arenal and we own a wide reservation of rain forest where people can spend hours and hours walking.
We will be expecting you you to be back at Lomas someday, here we´ll be with open arms waiting for you people.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A great value, considering the hotel's proximity to La Fortuna's town center and numerous tours/activities.

You get your own cabana (spectacular handcrafted architecture), overlooking Arenal Volcano and a very well maintained garden. The breakfast buffets are alright, but complimentary. For lunch and dinner, I'd suggest the town of La Fortuna (a good mix of local and "local" cuisine), as the hotel's (delicious) menu can rack up the bill pretty quickly. The staff, servers, and bartenders were all super helpful and courteous; even directing us to areas in town for a bit of nightlife perusal.

A few miles down the road, you can sign up for river kayaking, horseback riding, and zip lining tours of the area. You can pick up a list of tours from the front desk. Prices range from $40-$200. Definitely worth the cost of admission.

We came during the end of rainy season, so there was a bit of drizzle throughout the day, but that even felt sweet, as we swam in the hotel's beautiful outdoor pool on the first night. There is air conditioning, but we hardly needed to use it, as the doors at the front and back of our room, were plenty sufficient with the cross breeze they let in.

Only bummer? No fitness center. But still, the things to do will not leave you wanting.

Just...go. There are too many fond memories to make, to not.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SetForFailure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear people.

Thank you very much for this valious comment. We really appreciate you took a couple minutes of your time to place a feedback on this web site. Regarding the prices of our restaurant, we consider our prices are much lower compare to many places in the town of La Fortuna, specially due the high quality and size of our dishes. We do not say we are the cheapest one in the area but if you go to eat to a "soda", of course the prices are lower but dishes are more local food than international shape. And yes, we do not have a fitness center here in our property, we guess most of the hotels in La Fortuna do not have fitness center, specially mountain lodges like we are but we offer you a wide property where you can have a good walk in the morning or with the sunset...

Warm regards and hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here two nights in November 2013. The lodge was lovely with two patios, one with stunning views to the garden and the volcano. They promote eco-tourism with notes in the bathroom saying "only use necessary water" but to our surprise it took about 5 minutes to get some warm water. This should be improved. The quality of the food in the restaurant is excellent but the portions are really too big, embarrasing even. Just a starter is plenty for 1 person!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenfolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Fenfolio.

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay here with us.
Yes, we promote ecotourism very much and y every rooms we have put little advertisements regarding water and energy saving. We wondered if you reported that problem with the hot water to our staff, due when something like this happen we try to fix it as soon as possible. Please, indicate us what was the room you were staying because we woul like to go and check the water heater and this way to continue with our policy of ecological hotel.
About the meals at our restaurant we will check with our chef the size of the portions and the way the kitchen staff is presenting the different dishes and in case we have to make a correction you can be sure we will do it.

One more time, thank you and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,139 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,945 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,944 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $91 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing