We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful place..mother nature at her finest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Gwangju, South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place..mother nature at her finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

This was the most beautiful hotel I have ever been too. Our back porch looked out onto the volcano and on a clear morning we saw it! The food, both breakfast and dinner served there were very tasty. The staff was very helpful. They had air conditioning which was a bonus. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone. For the price, you wont find anything better. Just know, when driving there, the dirt road to get there is very rocky, but it is worth the drive!

  • Liked — The location was most amazing! The grounds were colorful and beautiful
  • Disliked — Nada...everything was spectacular
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    364
    62
    7
    16
See reviews for
293
728
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
295 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

My son and I spent 3 days and 2 night here. It was a great place to spend the evening and have breakfast, but we planned so much we did not have time to enjoy the grounds or the pool. We stayed in one of the brand new cabins with an awesome bathroom and A.C. We also had a great view of volcan, but the top was covered every day we were there.
However, I can not wait to take my entire family back.

  • Liked — Great private location close to a lot of outdoor things to do.
  • Disliked — You really do need a car or other transportation to get into town.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Steinbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

A beautiful spot with stunning views of Arenal volcano. You'll hear howler monkies and toucans. Individual cottages are spacious and with ample amenities. Pool area is small--this should not be your focal point. Restaurant and bar are open air with views of the volcano. Hotel located out of Fortuna up a steep road; but less then $5 for a taxi to town.

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings; nature
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank redhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

This hotel is great for beautiful volcano views! When we were there, there were clouds in the evening, but it didn't matter. The pool is clean, as are the cabins. Food (and especially breakfast!) is very good. The only drawback for us was that this is a very touristy place. It was clean, beautiful and good, but we've stayed at more authentic places that did more for us. It just depends what you're looking for!

  • Liked — view of the volcano
  • Disliked — too big and touristy
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damioke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2008

My husband and three daughters (6, 8 and 11) stayed here for three nights, and it was hard to leave! We were the last bungalow so were surrounded by forest, flowers etc. The landscaping here is absolutely gorgeous.
The bungalows were spacious and clean. The back porch had a table and chairs where we could sit, snack and have a glass of wine looking at the volcano--or even better have our coffee out there in the morning when the volcano was clear.
The pool are was gorgeous, and the included breakfast buffet was excellent. Roberto at the front desk was more than helpful and went out of his way to help us figure out how to get to our next stop.
The only drawbacks were the location: it is on the side of the volcano that does not have activity, so you can never see the lava coming down the side like on the other side; and it is at the end of a very long, uphill, very bumpy dirt road so it is an uncomfortable, $5 taxi ride any time you need/want to go into town, or on any type of tour. We thought the restaurant was expensive, probably because they have you trapped there! We tried to get dropped off in town after tours to eat there, before grabbing a taxi back to our slice of heaven!

  • Liked — The sheltered back porch overlooking the volcano
  • Disliked — The location relative to the town
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

We arrived early, before check-in, and I was pleasantly surprised to be given a room right away. The view from our back patio was spectacular. I believe that all the cabins have a "volcano view." I thought that the cabins themselves were very nice. My husband commented that they were built "like fences" where you could see light seeping in between the cracks of the boards. The ceilings are high and vaulted. We had two big beds and a huge bathroom with an enormous shower. The back patio was the best feature of the room. We spent many hours sitting at our table, reading or playing cards, or just watching the volcano. Our cabin was at the top of a steep incline so we got our exercise walking up to it!

We had a small problem one night and the staff was quick to help us in the morning when we apprised them of our situation. The breakfast buffett was included (no additional cost) and presented quite a variety of foods. We had several lunches at the hotel. I recommend the typical plate with chicken for an authentic Costa Rican meal. There are howler monkeys on the property which we saw (and heard) everyday we were there.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank allen432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed at Lomas del Volcan for 4 nights in mid-March of 2008. It was the highlight of the trip. It is so very beautiful and peaceful there. The bungalows give you a lot of privacy - the pictures do not do them justice. They are nestled along winding roads and small hills - very quaint. So much lush green and beautiful color.

It is a LONG kilometer off of the main road where so many of the other hotels are. But that just makes it that much more peaceful. We did not rent a car and had no problems with taxis and tour pickups at the hotel. It is a $4 taxi ride into La Fortuna.

AC and hot water were great, as was the hotel restaurant.

  • Liked — View/ landscaping
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing