We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Location--Fantastic Views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Location--Fantastic Views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife, 5yr old daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights, arriving via rental car. We LOVED this place, and appreciated that it was still very close to town, but being set back from the road (about 1km), felt like it was a world away. We had a rental car, so found it very easy to get out of the hotel for a quick jaunt to town.

The casitas themselves are beautiful, with the great porches on the front and back of them. Our casita was on the same side of the property as the volcano, and was at the end of the line so had a completely unobstructed view of it. The room inside is also very nice--vaulted ceilings, natural feel with the wood, a fridge!!, *huge* bathrooms with a great shower (hot, lots of water pressure) and, surprise!, a bidet! And the view of Arenal Volcano??? UNSURPASSED. Breathtaking.

Two things we'd ask the hotel to work on--one, the mattresses--ours was uncomfortable (could feel the springs) and two, the chairs on the large porch facing the volcano. At the end of the day, our favorite thing was to sit out there and listen to the sounds of the forest. But the hard, wooden "dining" type chairs weren't comfortable for extended sitting. A minor detail, but important:)

The pool was great. The hot tub, very nice. The grounds of the hotel were *very* well maintained and quite beautiful. The free breakfast buffet was great. Good food, pretty great selection. The waitstaff can make an espresso--they have a machine hiding in the corner that one guy seems to know how to use. But, eat at the onsite restaurant at other meals with caution. The food is generally fair in taste, but is VERY expensive. You can do much, much better in town for both quality and price.

Roberto and Jonnathan at the front desk were very helpful in arranging excursions, coordinating private transport to our next destination, and facilitating the return of our car rental via key drop-off at the front desk. It was great to work with these gentlemen!

We'd definitely stay here again, despite the few areas for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    329
    56
    6
    11
See reviews for
261
639
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel (if you can call it that) is really a resort with a hotel name. This was by far the best all around place that we stayed in CR. It's good that they have a huge sign on the main road otherwise you would miss this place. My wife and I loved that it was off the beaten path so to speak and away from all the touristy stuff in La Fortuna. What a view of Arenal!!! You basically are at the base of it and it looks magnificant. The hotel staff were wonderful and helpful, dinner was excellent, and the grounds were very serene and well maintained. Our bungalow was very nice and the bathroom was gigantic!!! Nice sitting porch out back with a great view. It had such a rustic feel but it was still very charming, private and quiet. The pool and jacuzzi were nice as well. Breakfast was simply delicious...just like our dinner the previous night!! For the price, location, setting, food/drink and views, this place was the best!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Kris.

Really nice read from you here on Trip Advisor.
By this time we know you´re at home now and maybe thinking to come back to Costa Rica and just we can tell you here we will be with open arms waiting for you and your friends.

Warm regards and thank you very much for your good impression about Lomas del Volcán Hotel.

Warm regards from all the staff of Lomas del Volcán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This particular hotel/resort was booked for us thru CRS tours, and it didn't disappoint. Two nights in one of their cabins, with the back porch overlooking the volcano. There was nothing 'standard' about our room. While just the two of us, the room had 2 double beds, clean & modern bathrooms, and a comfortable & relaxing cabin/floor space. We were in the 200 series room, just 3 minutes away from the dining room & pool area. The pool was first class, the best of all that we would see while in Costa Rica. A good way to unwind after a hike or riding horses. The grounds were well kept & very colorful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snurb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Family-friendly, away from the main road, and ideal for the best view of Arenal. We appreciated the comfortable beds and excellent hot showers, a very hearty buffet breakfast (included), a spacious pool and jacuzzi for lounging...what could be better? The front-desk was extremely helpful in planning excursions. The grounds are landscaped beautifully with a wide range of wildlife viewing like toucans, hummingbirds, lizards, and frogs to name a few. A definite highlight of our trip to CR!

Room Tip: Rooms by the garden, #207 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mol, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

During our three week journey through Costa Rica, Lomas Del Volcan was the best hotel we encountered. Service was great, staff very friendly, views on the Arenal amazing and the food nice enough. The bungalow was well-equipped and so much more than an average hotel room. Absolutely a must-go if you plan to visit the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AStienaers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lomas del Volcan was one of the nicest hotels we stayed at during our time in Costa Rica. Even though we didn't get one of the rooms we requested (higher up on the hill), all rooms still have a great view of the volcano. The cabin-style bungalow was unique and fun, very clean, private and comfortable. The grounds were also kept very nice. The included breakfast was delicious, one of the better ones that we had on our trip. As far as activities go, the hotel is in a good location - we were able to be picked up for a rafting tour with Desafio, and we were able to visit hot springs just down the road at Los Lagos for $15. There is a hike that you can do around Lomas del Volcan, but we found that the paths were not maintained and it was quite difficult to trek through.. I would suggest booking a guided tour for Arenal Volcano with Sky Adventures. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Lomas del Volcan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel we've stayed at so far in costs rica. Stunning views, beautifully landscaped, spacious and stylish rooms. Great value at $125 for a double. (Also 2 doubles in every room, have 4 sharing and it's just $41 per person.)

Food was superb too ($70 for 3) with a magnificent view of rainforest-covered mountain.

This really felt like a bit of luxury at an affordable price.

Henry

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing