We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$292
$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$240
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$200
$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,751)
Filter reviews
1,751 results
Traveler rating
1,183
464
71
11
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,183
464
71
11
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porcharenal volcanocosta ricaindividual cabinshot tubhuge bathroomfront porchthe cottagesprivate bungalowunobstructed viewamazing viewsomelette stationexotic birdsclose to la fortunahowler monkeysbeautiful groundsclose to town
Filter
Updating list...
1,031 - 1,036 of 1,751 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We found the location just outside of town very convenient and quiet. Food was excellent on site, we never went elsewhere for dinner. My wife is a food snob, that should say it all. Beds were great. Pool very relaxing with a great view of the volcano. Cabins a bit close together, but was not busy when we stayed, so not too important. Stayed three nights and loved it. Good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brodyman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and was pleased to have made the choice online. The photos are accurate but feel the rooms (at least the #501-515) were even nicer than expected. The back porch has glass on each side to eliminaate sound from other units and perhaps winds Jan - March, I was there in April, warm temps and mostly sunny skies. Reception desk was always helpful and staff in restaurant were extremely kind. Traveling alone makes you more aware of how a hotel is working... and I was quite pleased. I walked into Fortuna (took 40 minutes) and found that a car wasn't that essential with the extensive shuttle service for all tour options. For about $6 you can take a taxi one way, if needed. Breakfast was served buffet style with omletes made to order!

Room Tip: I would suggest you avoid the 'garden view or pool view' rooms as they are quite low without great visibility. The rooms that end in 503,506,509 and 515 are at the end of each row and more private. I stayed in 515 .. the more elevated and felt it was worth the walk up hill but if you are not as active, make a note that there is a slope to get to the rooms.that are listed in the 500's.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

this really is a find. Individual huts set in a natural environment at the base of the volcano. The rooms were beautiful and spacious with private decks off the back.
Service was excellent (Jonathan at front desk). Food was pretty good.
We walked the 2 km circle hike above the hotel grounds at 6 in the morning (toucans, spider monkeys, parakeets!!!) We saw more birds on this little walk than most of the parks we visited.
Some people may not like the remoteness (about 2 miles from La Fortuna) but the remoteness is exactly what we loved about it.
Complaints by others about the cold pool water? heck - it was a welcome relief from the hot humid weather
This hotel was one of the highlites of our trip

Room Tip: we were in room 308 - ask for any room near top of property (quieter and more private)
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaydee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was one of the most unexpected and wonderful experiences. The staff was super friendly and helpful at guiding us to our destinations. The cabin (small beautiful house) was clean and cozy. The bathroom was HUGE and very nice. The view from our back porch was like a postcard - the volcano was spectacular. We could hear the monkeys and other sounds of nature. There was a very nice pool and hot tub. Also, hiking trails on the property. The room had a TV for relaxing in the evening and a refrigerator for your beverages. We can't say enough and would highly recommend it and return again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floyd t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Lomas Del Volcan for two nights, as part of a Costa Rica tour. The hotel facilities, room, food and location is very very good. It was close to the town and the Baldi Hot Springs Spa, well worth a vist to enjoy the warm and cold baths.

Room Tip: All appear to be identical and well equipped, and fairly new.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryrdBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews