We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Magic Mountain(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villas Vilma(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Pradera del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rey Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arenal Rossi(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vista del Cerro(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fuego Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arenal Jireh(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,716)
Filter reviews
1,716 results
Traveler rating
1,158
454
71
11
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,158
454
71
11
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porcharenal volcanocosta ricaindividual cabinshot tubhuge bathroomfront porchthe cottagesprivate bungalowunobstructed viewamazing viewsomelette stationexotic birdsclose to la fortunahowler monkeysclose to townbeautiful grounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,024 - 1,029 of 1,716 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The views, the pool, and the birds were so spectacular. Our cabin was spacious and luxurious.
Buffet style food is never my favorite, though I could have chosen to eat a la carte.
I wish the windows had had screens. I would have liked to keep the windows open. I felt forced to use a.c., which is odd for a green hotel.
There is a trail abutting the hotel. Hiking this gives fine views and saves you from having to pay to hike on other trails.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 300's, a bit away from the pool and reception. That seemed like a good choice for me.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Gate 1 routed us with average hotels on our trip through Costa Rica, however we never encountered hotels less than 4 stars. We have been with dozens of travel organizations however we were truly impressed with the attention to detail and thought that has gone into Gate 1's organized trips. Hotel Lomas del Volcan was a diamond in the rough. Our "hotel room" was a suite on the periphery of the jungle with a viewing porch surrounded by toucans and monkeys and lots of wildlife everywhere. The hot tub and pool were steps away and breakfast had more choices than we could ever eat. Truly a great experience!

Room Tip: Choose a cabin suite next to the jungle.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed in cabinas 400 and 401 near the pool. Beautiful grounds, lovely landscaping, saw toucans while sitting on back porch. Clean and spacious cabinas, but do be aware that bugs can find their way in at night through the open bathroom windows. We simply kept the bathroom door closed at night and didn't get bugs in the bedroom. Nice hiking trail into the forest at the back of the property. Staff very friendly and helpful. We booked the night walk through them and it was pretty good, though a bit pricey at $50 pp. Food OK. It is at least a half hour walk into downtown Fortuna or a $5 taxi ride. Lomas is on the other side of the volcano from the hanging bridges (which are definitely worth doing) - it was about half an hour's drive and we paid $25 for a taxi for 3. Was a great stay. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A great place to spend a couple days just to relax. Location is great. Arenal is literally right outside your window. Cabinas are private and comfortable. Pool and grounds are beautiful. Lots of birds to watch (especially toucans). Too far to walk to town but a marvelous place to slow down and get away from the hoards of tourists.

Room Tip: Book a room that is closest to the volcano for best viewing.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo4652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here in early march. The hotel is nice. Good landscaping. The previous reviews regarding the property were accurate. However we did have a strange experience with one of the front desk staff. His name was Nelson. I had asked him to call and arrange transportation to the airport through Grayline and he immediately told me he did not know how to contact them as the hotel did not do business with them. We didn't have a preference as to which company to use but we had used them twice already during our trip and had a good experience. I had to look up their number as he made no effort to do so and had to ask him twice to call them. He did call, begrudgingly, and said he could not reach them. He wouldn't even leave a message. I went on a tour and asked him to call them again and perhaps he would have had the transportation arranged by the time we got back. When we got back to the hotel, transport was still not arranged. He also did not leave a note or instructions for the next shift. When we got back, we asked another front desk staff (Jonathan) to help us and he got grayline on the phone within minutes. However, when we asked him who the manager was, he said there was not really a manager on property. I think he was trying to protect his co-worker.

It seems strange that this hotel was the most resort like hotel that we stayed at yet we got better service at other locations of CR in a boutique hotel and/or B&B. Prior to this experience we have had nothing but good things to say about Costa Rica, the people and their hospitality. It's a shame because the property is nice although I do have to mention, there were a ton of bugs in our room at all times and especially at night which prevented us from getting a good night's rest. Perhaps the hotel can do a better job of providing a screen or some other preventive measure. The door did not quite reach the floor so the bugs can easily enter the room. Again, we did not have this problem in Manuel Antonio or Monteverde.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews