We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful--didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2008

My husband and three daughters (6, 8 and 11) stayed here for three nights, and it was hard to leave! We were the last bungalow so were surrounded by forest, flowers etc. The landscaping here is absolutely gorgeous.
The bungalows were spacious and clean. The back porch had a table and chairs where we could sit, snack and have a glass of wine looking at the volcano--or even better have our coffee out there in the morning when the volcano was clear.
The pool are was gorgeous, and the included breakfast buffet was excellent. Roberto at the front desk was more than helpful and went out of his way to help us figure out how to get to our next stop.
The only drawbacks were the location: it is on the side of the volcano that does not have activity, so you can never see the lava coming down the side like on the other side; and it is at the end of a very long, uphill, very bumpy dirt road so it is an uncomfortable, $5 taxi ride any time you need/want to go into town, or on any type of tour. We thought the restaurant was expensive, probably because they have you trapped there! We tried to get dropped off in town after tours to eat there, before grabbing a taxi back to our slice of heaven!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lomas del Volcan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2008

We arrived early, before check-in, and I was pleasantly surprised to be given a room right away. The view from our back patio was spectacular. I believe that all the cabins have a "volcano view." I thought that the cabins themselves were very nice. My husband commented that they were built "like fences" where you could see light seeping in between the cracks of the boards. The ceilings are high and vaulted. We had two big beds and a huge bathroom with an enormous shower. The back patio was the best feature of the room. We spent many hours sitting at our table, reading or playing cards, or just watching the volcano. Our cabin was at the top of a steep incline so we got our exercise walking up to it!

We had a small problem one night and the staff was quick to help us in the morning when we apprised them of our situation. The breakfast buffett was included (no additional cost) and presented quite a variety of foods. We had several lunches at the hotel. I recommend the typical plate with chicken for an authentic Costa Rican meal. There are howler monkeys on the property which we saw (and heard) everyday we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank allen432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed at Lomas del Volcan for 4 nights in mid-March of 2008. It was the highlight of the trip. It is so very beautiful and peaceful there. The bungalows give you a lot of privacy - the pictures do not do them justice. They are nestled along winding roads and small hills - very quaint. So much lush green and beautiful color.

It is a LONG kilometer off of the main road where so many of the other hotels are. But that just makes it that much more peaceful. We did not rent a car and had no problems with taxis and tour pickups at the hotel. It is a $4 taxi ride into La Fortuna.

AC and hot water were great, as was the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

This was the best hotel that I stayed at in all of Costa Rica. The individual cabins give you a great amount of privacy. The views of the volcano were great (of course I was lucky and there was no cloud cover). The manager - Richardo - was very helpful and made all our arrangements - including our canopy tour, our volcano visit, our trip to Tabacon springs, and our jeep-boat-jeep tour to Monteverde. It's a great place to relax. Note - the hotel is based on the "green" side of the volcano - so no fireworks at night.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NY72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We stayed here March 12-14, and had a fantastic stay. The cabins are clean, air-conditioned, and spacious. The bathrooms were fantastic, especially the giant showers. The food was very good, especially the breakfast buffet which went above and beyond (including cooked-to-order omelets!). The hotel was enjoyed by our family of 2 adults, 3 college-aged students, and a 10 year-old. There were a variety of guests, ranging from retirees to high school students. Although it doesn't face the active side of the volcano, the views of it are breathtaking, including a full view of the volcano from the dining room. The pool was picturesque. Our only disappointment was in the slightly dingy and tepid hot-tub, but other than that, our stay was perfect. We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

You definitely need a car to get in here. The cabins are set about a km off the main road into La Fortuna from Lake Arenal. Your cabins are set on a lush green hillside and of the higher cabins have an unobstructed view of the green side of the Arenal volcano. You can sit out on your porch and watch the horses graze in the meadow. I heard there are several walking trails from the property but we did not venture out there. The pool and hot tub were medium size and beautifully designed with a small waterfall running into the pool. Comfy lounge chairs surround.

The restaurant was reasonally priced, had excellent food and excellent service. The only downside is that several tour groups seem to go through here and the restaurant in the mornings (breakfast buffet included) and evenings might be packed. The tres leche (typical dessert) is to die for if you have a sweet tooth. The cabins were spacious with romantic decor, fridge, and a bathroom with the most amazing rain shower. The scary bit is that the cabins (worse I imagine if you are not on stilts) have a little space between the bottom of the door and the ground where little critters could come in (or not so little spiders in our case:S)

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tigerinthewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

This place is fantastic. Everyone gets their own bungalow with a lovely wood patio and great views of the volcano. The bungalows are spacious and comfortable and afford a great deal of privacy. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Reservations include a large buffet breakfast with fresh fruit and an omelet station.

Don't be alarmed by the hotel's distance from the main road or the rocky path to the reception area. It's not that far and the accommodations are well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank snickahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,934 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,345 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,474 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $80 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing