We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Deserves the Great reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Deserves the Great reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had high expectations of the Lomas Del Volcan from Tripadvisor and other sites. The reality of our overnight stay certainly met-if not exceeded-these expectations. Lomas del Volcan lies in a perfect location in the greater La Fortuna area. The town with its restaurants and shopping as well as Baldi and Eco Termales Hot Springs are a quick 5 minute drive away.LDV is accessed over a long and partially unpaved road that puts it well away and above the main road-giving it a serene, quiet, eco-lodge feeling. The lodge consists of individual cabins-with cathedral ceilings, rear porch and immense bathrooms-set nicely along the hillside. Our cabin was near the top with an expansive, direct view of Arenal looming above us. They have a very pleasant pool area with a hot tub down near the main office/restaurant. We enjoyed the hot tub but the pool water was COLD. The breakfast(included in the room price) may have been the best of our 10 day visit to Costa Rica It is served in their indoor/outdoor dining room looking out on the flower and hummingbird laded grounds. We felt that Lomas Del Volcan was positively anduniquely memorable as weel as an impressive lodging value.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the cabins in the 500s location range. better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    335
    57
    7
    11
See reviews for
266
665
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel was nice, View from back patio of room was unbelievable. I can not imaging a better one. Was like staying at the base of the Volcano. This hotel is on the green side of the mountain, not the major eruption side. Since the volcano is no longer spewing its lava I find this the better option. The hotel is 1 Km from the main road up the hillside. If you want to go elsewhere for dining or exploring one may want to take a car. A couple of restaurants at the main road but not too much. Hotel food is rather is a bit more expensive than I have experienced in Costa Rica but it is good food and the service is also good. There is a nice trail at the top of the hotel road. Looks like it is used for horse back riding. I was alone and walked it just to the point where it forked off and both paths went into the jungle. Did not want to go that alone. Glad I did not because the next day on a guided tour we ran into an eyelash viper hanging from a tree limb. "very poisonous snake" Great view of the valley from the short hike up the hillside though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kennergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed 3 nights at Lomas del Volcan and highly recommend this beautiful hotel with its friendly and hospitable staff. The views of Arenal Volcano are amazing, the bungalow (high end) was beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, private and included two separate decks for sitting out and just soaking up nature. We appreciated the A/C in the room, especially at night and the hotel's commitment to environmental sustainability. The hotel includes a gorgeous pool with waterfall and the restaurant food and service were excellent. Just a note that you will need to bring your own shampoo/conditioner as these are not supplied.

Room Tip: Bungalows nearest the volcano are the most private and have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Well maintained resort at th foot of Arenal. Sepeate large cabins were spotless, the pool large and inviting, the restaurant very nice. Breakfast buffet was substantial. A beautiful resort!
The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly when possed with typical tourist type questions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOPNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lomas del Volcan consists of a main lodge and a series of well appointed cabins connected by roads and walkways. The main lodge houses registration, dining room, and bar. A very nice pool is located near here. Each cabin has private bath, two king-sized beds, air-conditioning, tv, and telephone. The shower is huge, but there is a chronic problem with running out of hot water in the morning. I would advise showering at night before bed. The grounds and spectacular view of Arenal Volcano are the main selling points beyond the rooms. Many birds call the grounds home. The only negative I experienced was the mile-plus primitive road that you have to navigate in order to reach the lodge.

Room Tip: All of the rooms had views of the volcano from either the front or rear of the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greekmermaid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved our stay at Lomas del Volcan. Your backyard is literally the Arenal volcano! Great service, wonderful food, although the drinks were very pricey compared to other similar places that we stayed. The private bungalow that we had was perfect. Filled with all the necessary amenities. Nice pool and hot tub with amazing views of the volcano. The pool was too cold though! The hotel is located a short drive from the town of La Fortuna ($6 one way in cab) So you are very close to town but feel like you are a world away when you are on the property. Overall wonderful experience and recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing stay near Arenal.
Pura Vida,
Molly & Curt, Denver, CO

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had the opportunity to go to one of the best hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos, great service, a wonderful view, excellent food, well appointed, comfortable, private and relaxing
with beautiful green areas near the Arenal Volcano National Park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#3 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing