We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lomas Del Volcan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lomas Del Volcan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Was on a tour that stopped at this hotel in Fortuna, Costa Rica. Beautiful views and grounds. The bar is fun and the food in the restaurant excellent. My favorite thing is the bungalow. Individual units with front porch and rear outside sitting area. Huge bathrooms.

Room Tip: Get one on the same side of the driveway as the restaurant/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonewolf228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    322
    53
    6
    10
See reviews for
244
616
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights over new year 2012. This hotel is comprised of 50+ cabins set on a large property adjacent to Volcan Arenal. The cabins are quite private as they are set a good distance apart. They are well appointed and have a huge shower (honestly you could turn it into another bedroom!). We didn't have any problems with our booking and our check in and check out process were flawless. The hotel is a fair way out of town down the end of a very long driveway (road) so if you haven't got your own car then you will need to catch taxis everywhere. Taxis are plentiful and not too expensive. The buffet breakfast is OK without being great and the buffet dinner is in the same category. We were a bit disappointed that they didn't plan anything special for new years eve, especially as they are out of town a bit. The staff were very friendly and helpful. WiFi is available in the dining room and reception area and sometimes in the cabins (the closer to reception the better). We had a cabin that was up a fairly short but very steep hill and getting to and from the reception area gave us our exercise. On the plus side was that we had an uninterupted (and if no clouds) stunning view of the volcano from our back verandah.
Tour buses stop at this hotel so you need to time your breakfast and dinner times to avoid the crowds when the bus is in.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but I would have my own car next time.

Room Tip: The cabins numbered from 50 onwards are up a fairly short but steep hill and are the furthest from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GummyShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Cabins are clean, spacious, well appointed. Food is very good. Hotel grounds are beautiful and view of volcano perfect (when sky is clear!). Travellers should be aware that it is an uphill climb from reception/dining/pool to most of the cabins. There are cabins for handicapped but these travellers should let hotel know beforehand. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view, BUT it is an uphill climb on foot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_H309293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here two nights with my brother and sister-in-law at the start of a Costa Rica trip. Like them, I had mixed experiences. The lodge and grounds are beautiful with a nice trail, and very conducive to wildlife. We had numbers of both species of toucans next to the road across from my brother's cabin. I spent one night in a standard room, which is much cheaper, but spent the second night in a cabana, which was worth the extra cost. he staff were very friendly, even as they explained that they had made a mistake with my reservation, and bumped me from the cabana to the single room.The breakfast buffet was outstanding, and part of the overnight cost. We made the mistake of eating in the dining room our first night, and paid way too much for food that was not very good. So unless they improve, I'd suggest eating at another lodge or in Fortuna. The lodge is well situated to use as a base for exploring the Fortuna area, and were it not for the dining room experience, would give this lodge a 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Cabanas are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The individual cabins are well appointed and spacious, each having an unobstructed view of the volcano (except of course when the view is more or less obstructed by cloud cover--which was most of the time we were there) but when the clouds cleared the view was spectacular. The bird watching from the cabin and from the restaurant was lovely and was enhanced by the simple expedient of spreading a few bread crumbs on the back lawn of the restaurant each morning. The buffet was high class albeit not world class. Our stop in La Fortuna was for two days and was part of a Caravan tour, it was an excellent value for a modestly priced tour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ormond42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoope, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Service, accommodations, food and views were all awesome. The birding is fantastic here. We saw three toucan species in one tree. It's a good walk to the village. We walked down and got a cab back up for $6 (US). Our breakfast table was right next to the gardens with a view of the volcano. We watched Passerin's Tanagers, Blue Gray Tanagers and Great Kiskadees while we sipped great Costa Rican coffee and ate from a full Costa Rican breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Lomas del Volcan. The buffet breakfast was typical Costa Rican fare and very tasty. We had lunch in the bar and it was very good. Rooms are very big and tasteful, bathrooms are huge. All very clean and well maintained, with super views of the volcano. Lovely pool, again, with great views of the volcano. We found this hotel to be well located for getting in and out of la Fortuna (5 min taxi ride) which meant we could head into town in the evening for meals at local restaurants. Other hotels in Arenal seemed to be further out. More remote, yes, but less opportunity for variety when it comes to food etc. Lomas del Volcan was the perfect balance for us and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in 401 and had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlybap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,264 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing